We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Zoo?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope Botanical Garden and Zoo

Hope Botanical Garden and Zoo
Ranked #117 of 314 things to do in Jamaica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A children's zoo and beautifully manicured gardens are highlights of this spot.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What Zoo?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The garden was not very exciting, more like a park, nice for a picnic. My husband went inside to the zoo with some family members, but they were disappointed that there were only a few monkeys, snakes, donkeys, some sleeping crocodiles, a lion, far away double fenced off, and way too many birds, with lots of missing descriptions. At $15 per person to enter the zoo, it was not worthy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NovieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Its my piece of heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have been to this lovely place five (5) times and apart from the fact that I really love nature its the warm feeling of relaxation that I get when visiting the Hope botanical garden and zoo. The staff is very helpful and the grounds are well kept. Beautiful Flora and Fauna.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet space in nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The gardens are the largest public green space in the Kingston metro region and has many rare and beautiful species of tropical plants and trees including the Hibiscus elatus (blue mahoe), the national tree of Jamaica. Blue mahoe is a small spreading tree with flowers that open in primrose colour in the morning and change to orange and deep red as the day advances and is absolutely stunning - there are many of these here.

A lovely, quiet green space to walk around or just find a spot for yourself. You will see couples holding hands on the bench seats, families having picnics and groups of friends kicking around a soccer ball.

A great spot to escape the intensity of Kingston.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyD000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a place to visit for all garden lovers. It covers 200 acres and was originally the estate of a 17th century English army officer. There is free admission, and a lovely little tea house/restaurant in the grounds. A pleasant place to pass half a day just wandering around and relaxing. There is also a zoo in the grounds but I did not visit that. A bus from Half Way Tree (only JMD$100) stops at the entrance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Broke into my car!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thats is the worst place where you can go in kingston. we went their and parked our car in front of the tea tree restaurant. after less than a hour in the garden we came back we realised that our car was broken into and all our staff was gone. Parking was for a fee and it is still not safe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank miketexas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hope Botanical Garden and Zoo also viewed

Lacovia, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Hope Botanical Garden and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing