We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit & Miss”

So-So Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #28 of 199 Restaurants in Kingston
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I just ate at SO SO's about an hour ago while vacationing in Kingston. We heard this was a great place to get local fish and seafood.

The restaurant itself was really nice. There is outdoor and covered seating as well as a very cool pond with a turtle. Service was slow, but nothing unexpected for Jamaica.

For food, we ordered the Curried Lobster and the Coconut Etsoviche Fish. The fish was OUTSTANDING, some of the best I have ever had (warning: it is spicy). The lobster was okay, but not great. It was a little rubbery and not memorable. We also got Bam Sticks and they were delicious. All together, we had 4 beers, 2 entrees, and 4 bottles of water for 65 USD.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My "Go To" Fish Place”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I love this place! it is very central in the heart of new kgn with easy access from all angles. They serve consistently good fish tea, conch soup, great steamed and fried fish, even their curried chicken and curried shrimp are also quite good. their menu has been expanded to serve some meat dishes. The staff is great! They will never turn you away if you go there late.
There is always homemade Sorrel on the drink menu.
They also have very nice outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pencilelbow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great little restaurant in kingston. The service is great and friendly and food good. Fresh fish goes well with ice cold stripe. Only 5 min walk from Knutsford Hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank redsoxIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmore, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“My Valentine's Day”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I went there Valentine's Day and the experience was great. The staff the food was excellent. Great going So-So Seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sexyangel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was my third visit with family and friends. We were a total of nine people and the men especially loved the mannish water. Anything made with coconut is absolutely delicious, such as the coconut escoveitch fish or the coconut lobster.

The cost of the food was quite reasonable and we also had several rounds of drinks.

Be prepared to spend some time here as the spent a good three hours as everything is freshly made.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ereggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed So-So Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to So-So Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing