We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, a bit soulless though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, a bit soulless though!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nice hotel, finished to a good standard, just a bit like any other Marriott or Hilton hotel in the world though.

The rooms are nice and the facilities are good, even if the hotel pool is a bit small and randomly located. The staff are really polite and helpful, but with the small opening windows in the room you could be anywhere in the world.

Would recommend for short business stopovers as it is well located, but not the best hotel if you are on holiday and want to feel like you're in Jamaica. Also the coffee shop is hugely overpriced at almost $20(US) for two takeaway lattes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    246
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
170
59
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I went to Kingston on a business trip. The first four days I stayed at another hotel. I switched to the Spanish Court because I was frustrated with previous hotel (another coming review). The staff went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable and taken care of. The restaurant was excellent. The Sky Bar was beautiful with live music at night and an infinity pool. The rooms were not large, but were very well appointed. I was there during the Super Bowl. I was thankful to have a nice big screen TV to watch it on in my room. The breakfast buffet was very good as well. It also had an omelet station. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. By the way, the hotel fills up quickly. If you can, make your reservations in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelli Calepio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

very good hotel.
The staff is efficient and friendly.
The room was clean and quite.
The food is quite good (try the burger) and the menu quite interesting.
The spa is small but good.
The location is convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoFacchinetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent 8 days at this lovely hotel over the holiday season. It was nice being on the floor close to the pool as it was fun hanging out at the pool bar. Friendly and helpful staff and it was close to all the activities that we were attending in Kingston. Restaurant, cafe and room service were consistently good. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Boutique fabulous! Feels like any of the upscale hotels on Collins Ave. First time staying at Spanish Court and loved it. Great terrace bar, great restaurant. Beds and pillows were amazing. Nice touch with
the in-room yoga mat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TjoyceMontclairNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first time at the Spanish Court Hotel and we chose it because of the location. We loved it! The room was comfortable... that bed was amazin... :-) The staff were friendly and always eager to please however the food, especially the breakfast, was the best ever....., so fresh and so tasty including the coffee. Im sure we will be back. Thank you Spanish Court Hotel :-) xx

Room Tip: My elderly mother, sister and I were on the second floor at the front of the hotel and we all had un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This boutique hotel was lovely from start to finish. The staff greets you with champagne and the stay mirrored the warm welcome. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The sky bar was a great place for my group to just relax and unwind by the small but gorgeous elevated infinity pool. We left feeling well rested and well taken care of. The only bad thing that I can say is that the after hours food is not that great, but what do you expect at 1 am in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsutton2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing