We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - as always - but "let there be light"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great - as always - but "let there be light"!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This excellent hotel continues to build on its success in Kingston, proving that service will always prevail. I would have given a five star rating, but for the fact that I do like there to be some light in my room! The Spanish Court seem to think that some uber-trendy ceiling lights and a few side lights are adequate for guests, but if you need to spend time during the day it can be rather depressing....

With a Marriott Courtyard under construction nearby, I think the Spanish Court needs to look at these sort of issues - or have I just been unfortunate to always find a dark room?

Room Tip: Ask if it is a dark room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    246
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
170
59
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My stay at the Spanish Court was comfortable and is the ideal place to stay if you are in Kingston on a business trip. The hotel is in a safe neighbourhood and the grounds are secure. There is a security guard which is great. The hotel is only a few years old and is modern with contemporary decoration, furniture and is it’s very clean.
I have read the reviews prior to my trip and they were helpful so I had an idea what to expect. I spent 4 nights with my brother and the reception staff were very helpful in finding us a room beside each other as previously requested and getting us a taxi to the airport. They were professional and the service was good but it is not a hotel that I would stay again if I have an option to stay while on vacation. The staff smiles with you and attempts to ensure that you are comfortable but having stayed at other hotels in Kingston as a holiday maker I would choose them rather than Spanish Court.
My overall opinion is that it's a nice hotel and somewhere to stay if you need a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We had no issue with our room. It was quiet even though it overlookig the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I dont usually do reviews but when i do it has to be great-


Spanish court exceeded my expectations!!!

This has to be the best hotel in Kingston. The service was on point, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and room service was great. Breakfast was to die for! Everything was on point and represented Jamaica the way it should be. The environment was perfectly manicured. I only recommend this hotel for anyone to stay and be beyond satisfied. Whenever I stay in Kingston I will consider this hotel first.

The only thing that I would be aware of is the bed, which is so comfortable!!!! I almost missed my flight sleeping in :)

Thanks to the entire staff for making my trip amazing and special thanks to: Moya. Anesha, Joseph, Stephen (Champaign Service), Latoya, Tameka, lee-ann.

See you guys soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhenielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel is located in the center of the business district. Suitable for business or vacation travelers to Kingston, the hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, casino, clubs, convention sites, park, entertainment, bars, small amusement park for children, golf driving range, banks,....
The hotel has a modern flair and can suit the simple guest up to those expecting opulence.

Even for the passer by who wants a bit of music by the elevated roof pool and bar, its an excellent choice. The setting for their restaurant is chic modern and sets the backdrop for business or casual dining.

It is the newest hotel in the area and from the parking area all the way to the rooms, you can tell. Most modern finishes without the sterile, synthetic feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent hotel in new Kingston. Beautiful grounds, with on site pool. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and is served in the main dining room, serving a combination of local foods and American breakfast. It is in close proximity to a grocery store, location is safe. I really love this hotel, always my first choice in Kingston

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When you check in you are offered a glass of Champagne. You stay in a well appointed modern room and the restaurant is one of the best in town. The Snapper was fantastic. They have a really nice poolside bar on the second floor at the front of the hotel over the entrance. The included breakfast was outstanding. You also get free bottled water and internet (which was, as others have noted, unfortunately slow). If you have to stay in Kingston, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed there for the first time for one night and was very impressed. The front desk and bellhop service was attentive and warm. The hotel is small, but tastefully and richly decorated with intimate touches that make you feel as though you are in a home. I particularly like the use of local art on the walls and sculptures in strategic locations. The public areas are exquisite and the colors of the rooms (variations on Jamaica's national colors) are a joy to the senses. The decor seems very thoughtfully selected to give a contemporary, European feel. Complimentary breakfast is substantial enough and there's a nice cozy cafe on the ground floor. Linens are good quality and super clean. The deep tub is excellent for soaking away jet-lagged tiredness and I appreciated the yoga mat which was thoughtfully provided.

The only downside I could find was the fact that my second floor room looked out on to a construction area or some kind of backyard. Thankfully, the curtains are beautiful so I had no problem leaving them drawn. However, I would suggest if you're staying for more than one night you may want to request a room on a higher floor to give you a view.

Room Tip: Ask for floors above second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dequanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing