We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strawberry Hills”
Review of Strawberry Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strawberry Hill
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2006

It is a very long, windy road up from Kingston - 50 min. We felt ill. Beautiful views, great pool, fantastic food with a delightful chef. Spa facilities were interesting but not really affective. Rooms are individual cottages, they are 'tired'. Bath/showers seemed moldy. Seemed over priced. No safe in my room and my son's room only had a broken safe....I should have guessed something was not right then - my bag of jewelry went missing and has not turned up despite my numerous telephone calls.

Suggestion - if you go, take precautions - don't take valuables. Better to go for lunch or dinner not stay the night.

6  Thank KLBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 350 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Silver Spring, MD
110
Reviewed 6 July 2006

I went to Strawberry Hills in April 2006. I was very disappointed with the resort. The pool did not have enough chairs to accomodate everyone at the resort. Most people claimed the few chairs around the pool by breakfast. It was virtually impossible to sit by the pool unless you did that.

There was no variety on the menu. There are no vegetarian dishes on the dinner menu. As an all inclusive guest you are given the same menu for each meal. Because of the location of the resort, you have no choice but to eat in the restaurant. The waitstaff was not very attentive. It was impossible to get refills on your drinks. This was surprising given that usually there was only about 6 people in the restaurant at one time. The mini bar was never restocked. Housekeeping did not always clean the room until after dinner.

The resort itself was beautiful. The views were stunning. The guides for hiking were very knowledgeable and friendly. My boyfriend and I got engaged at the resort so it will always hold fond memories. Unfortunately, we were to disappointed with the resort to consider going back there.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2005

What a sublime spot this hotel is. Friendly, efficient staff. Views, great rooms, excellent food and great cocktails. Very peaceful too. We really enjoyed ourselves here and felt very pampered. It's pretty expensive though. It was worth it though and was were we finished our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MorePlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2005

First off, I have to point out that I was only a dining guest at Strawberry Hill.
I was vacationing in Jamaica and decided that it would be a great idea to treat a couple of my friends to dinner.
I called ahead to reserve and have to point out that even though we got there later than expected, the staff was very gracious.
The ambiance was wonderful, the view was breathtaking and I was in seventh heaven because my guests were impressed. That was until dinner was served.
The food was horrible. I ordered lamb (well done) and was unable to cut it. Nothing was to my satisfaction. We all ordered different meals, and no one thought theirs was decent. I was sorely embarrassed.
The chef stopped by, and I proceeded to tell him that my lamb was not well done, and he had the nerve to tell me how he personally liked his, which was of no importance to me.
As if we weren't turned off enough, when the bill came, I realized that I had been overcharged by US$40, which I pointed out to the waitress.

The accomodations seem wonderful, and I had planned on trying it out prior to this experience. Now let's just say that this has left a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NativeNYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2005

the best thing about strawberry hill was indeed the aveda spa and the view from the mountain. the villas were very nice (a lot of steps if you stay in timbuktu). i only stayed for 3 nights and the price was significantly higher than my previous jamaican vacation of 5 nights all inclusive in ocho rios. if you are looking for total relaxation....strawberry hill is the spot. not a party spot, the food was good but expensive.

7  Thank Lezette02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2004

3 nights was enough to call Strawberry HIlls resort in jamaica - HEAVEN!! Simply fantastic to say the least. Costly somewhat - but you get what you pay for. The peace and quiet and serenity was superb . The service still needs a little more attention especially in the food area since you MUST have most of your meals here since travelling off the hill is quite the journey indeed. The room was clean, the view to die for- the sunset was Phenominal and the bed was big, nice and I loved the aveda products. This is a place to relax and reflect on life - not a place to party. And make sure you get to the Aveda Spa for your full body massage and then you are even one more step closer to experiencing Heaven - STRAWBERRY HILLS, JAMAICA! Be Happy!

17  Thank Spencertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Westchester,NY
18
Reviewed 29 February 2004

It a amazing trip for us. Peaceful, calming and lovely scenery we could said. The new chef create the most excellent food it was wonderful, and Chef always had something special on the menu. We will come back for the next special valentime day.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.9 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
891 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
4.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
34.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,322 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill

Address: New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £228 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strawberry Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill Hotel, Spa & Gardens, a 26-acre mountain top resort, is located in the heart of one of the world's most famous coffee-producing mountain ranges, Jamaica's Blue Mountains. Listed in the New York Times #1 bestselling book, 1,000 Places To See Before You Die, Strawberry Hill is 3100 feet above sea level and features one of the most awe-inspiring views of the Blue Mountains in one direction as well as the city of Kingston in the other. On a clear day, one can see up to 100 miles from the property's infinity-edge pool, and at night the city far below becomes a twinkling mirror of the night sky. The property's 12 Georgian-style cottages, spa, exotic gardens and restaurant offerings underwent an extensive refurbishment in October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strawberry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Irish Town
Strawberry Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing