We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I went to the Pegasus Hotel from January 25-29, 2013 with my two sons and wife. We had breakfast included in our rate. The breakfast and service was excellent, the food was well done and plentiful. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was buffet style.
I would recommend this hotel and to everyone. Its very central to a lot of other places, cinemas, park, night club etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quakeroatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

During 2012 I had to travel every week from Miami to Kingston for work. I tried 3 other hotels before I ended up trying The Pegasus Hotel and once I visited it I stayed there every weeks for 6 months. I really felt at home. The staff went out of their way every time to help me. The Manager Peter Hilary was extraordinary and really made an effort week after week to make me feel at home. The newly renovated rooms and common areas are great. I really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kingston for whatever reason.

Room Tip: Best rooms at 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at the Pegasus for nearly three weeks and had a very positive experience during our stay.

The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient from the moment we arrived. The food was great, both in the main dining room and on the club floor where the staff were particularly helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The pool was brilliant and big enough to swim laps or just relax.

The hotel is an older building with furniture and fittings reflecting the age but is currently undergoing renovations. While the renovation is obvious this appears to be being managed well and we experienced minimal disruption during our stay.

A very welcome feature was free, reliable internet at good access speeds throughout the premises which should be a feature of all good hotels.

The hotel is in a great central location opposite Emancipation Park with good security with good access to all parts of Kingston and a good choice for those with business in this city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newkindofsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The customer service at the Jamaica Pegasus is truly lacking. Employees are dismissive and unfriendly.

I arrived at the Pegasus at about 4am in the morning with a child. I emailed the Pegasus prior to my arrival on several occasions, in order to ensure that I would have a room upon arrival. I never received a return email from anyone at the Pegasus.

When I arrived at 4am on a Friday, they informed me that they did not have a room available and the only way that I could get a room was to pay for Thursday night. Needless to say, my brother, myself and my 3yo niece had to stay in the lobby area until it was time for check-in.

The staff conducts themselves as if they forgot that they provide a service and are to accommodate their guests. The one good thing I can say about the Pegasus is that the food was pretty decent for a hotel's continental breakfast. However, not even that can make me get over how my family and I were treated during our stay. Point blank, I will not be choosing the Jamaica Pegasus again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luvleewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed at the Jamaica Pegasus several times over many years and the hotel continues to maintain its tradition of excellent service and friendly staff. It is an older hotel but clean throughout and within the hotel it is very safe. The location is good for business travelers is it is in the uptown section of Kingston.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a good place to stay while conducting business in Kingston.

The reception area is large and accommodating, and there are many rooms available for various functions.

As noted in other reviews, the rooms are old and outdated.

The business centre is very old and in need of an upgrade.

The staff is generally friendly although the front desk staff are hit and miss. I experienced very friendly and accommodating service as well as indifferent service from the front desk staff all in the same day. Some work needs to be done in that regard.

The servers in the restaurant are a bit slow and do not seem able to handle the two rooms when they are full. The coffee was a long time coming, which is never a good thing...

The breakfast buffet is good and substantial.

The restaurant serves a variety of local and casual cuisine at above-moderate prices.

The rooms have LAN lines which are fast and reliable.

The rooms facing the pool are fairly noisy from 7-10/11pm on weekends as the hotel usually hosts various poolside events.

The hotel store grossly over-charges for everything. Do not buy your phone cards there.

The pool is large and clean.

The Tuesday night poolside BBQ, is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Pegasus for two nights on business. We had a decent experience on check-in (were traveling with a group) but service went downhill from there. Staff in the dining room were particularly slow and unaccustomed it seemed to serving larger groups. Food was pretty good once delivered, but I'm not sure it is worth the wait.

Hotel management seemed apologetic but unable to deliver on promises to rectify certain inadequacies. Rooms are tired and in desperate need of upgrading. Some smell very musty.

Hotel grounds are nice and once the pool deck area is complete, should be even nicer. Location is central in New Kingston, with as much safety as you can expect in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10ACJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.5 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £196 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jamaica Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives - complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge, in-room welcome amenity and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing