We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Quite Nice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my first trip to Jamaica, so I am not familiar with accommodations here. This hotel’s website talks about some of the renovations going on. I didn’t see much going on... except a new floor being put down in the lobby. I was invited here by a group of dental professionals who made the hotel arrangements, for which I was very appreciative.

One thing that I really did enjoy was the room! It was clean and modern. Nice furnishings, TV, air conditioning, etc. Last year I spent some time in the Dominican Republic and the hotels we stayed at there were not nearly as nice as this one. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    184
    132
    52
    24
See reviews for
43
38
29
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed in the Pegasus for one week and I did not really enjoyed it. The room was smelly and the internet service was really slow. The food... was just ok. The Titanic-esque room halls look kind of creepy. Some of the concierges and waiters were not so nice.

But in the bright side, the pool and the gym are really good, and the view of all Kingston from the room window. Dinner is served by the pool on tuesdays and the food there is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I love what they have done with the hotel. There is an improvement in the breakfast menu and the rooms are more cozy. The staff is very efficient and the rates are not too bad. The swimming pool is very nice and well kept also. There is 24 hours security on the property. Its a nice hotel for business travelers or for persons that are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Despite ongoing renovations, the hotel is still pretty lousy. I have been here almost every months since June and haven't seen much improvements despite ongoing renovations. The elevators look pretty scary, the rooms more like they have been pained in the 70-es, breakfast subpar and the menu hasn't changed a bit in 10 months (even the fruits, which could be the trademark for Jamaica, taste better bought from the US supermarkets). Occasionally, one has to fight for shampoo and lotion. If you think you can enjoy the business lounge then forget about it - it's open only for an hour during the afternoon and there is almost nothing for breakfast. Oh, and the most frustrating thing - the iron offered in the rooms has an US-type plug and doesn't fit into most sockets (UK). I am sorry to be so negative, but after having payed at least 50x$200, one kinda gets frustrated...:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel has a lot of pros and cons.

Cons: The rooms are all very old, with old furniture, old air conditioning and some smell like mold

Pros: there's a beautiful and huge swimming pool, tennis courts, the location is good (in front of Emancipation Park) and the breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We at the Pegasus appreciate your taking the time to pen your thoughts.
I am sure you noticed that we in the middle of a complete renovation program aimed at elimanating the very issues you commented negatively upon. We have already completed most of our public areas, restaurant and bars but unfortunately the bedrooms will take a little longer. We have already completed three floors, but it is taking about 4 months to renovate just one floor.
We appreciate your positive feedback as well and I have shared your thoughts with the team here in Kingston.
I hope to see you back in Jamaica soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Pegasus for three weeks for work. The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice. The Breakfast buffet was well appointed. The restaurant had a somewhat limited menu but the food was tasty.

The best meal I had was the Tuesday night grill buffet which feature a large buffet centered around the pool area. It fearured various jerk meats.

My only real complaint is the price. While I was given a corporate rate, the standard room rate of 280 seems excessive in comparison to the overall hotel. I have stayed at nicer hotels for less money in many places. I believe they justify the rates by the relative lack of availability for room in the city since the Hilton burned down last year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Really friendly staff, great service and an approachable Manager.
Would definitely recommend this place for business visitors and the Club Floor/ lounge is worth paying the extra if you can.
They have a poolside buffet grill night on Tuesday nights and the food choice is fantastic, well worth going.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.5 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Property: The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jamaica Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives - complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge, in-room welcome amenity and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing