We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta love a first class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived as a group of Travel Agents. We were met by Peter Hilary our fabulous and equally charming host and General Manager. The property is remodeled and beautiful. The dinner we were served was spectacular and I cannot imagine it getting better than it is. Brilliant Service, food and accomodations. The location is fabulous. They have a lovely gym and outdoor tennis courts. I have never visited previously but I would stay and play at this resort in a heart beat. The breakfast is complimentary. The lobby an public areas are absolutely beautiful. I am delighted that this resort chose to host us and I would so recommend that you ask your travel agent to send you to beautiful Historic Kingston and spend a few nights at the Jamaica Pegasus....you will not leave disappointed I promise.

Room Tip: I personally liked the rooms above the beautiful pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your flattering and wonderful words. It was a pleasure to host you and your group, and we are delighted that you all had a favorable experience.
Do come and visit again soon, but in the meantime please tell everyone about Jamaica and Kingston.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is clean, relatively modern and the staff is responsive. I was surprised how nice it is as I used to live in Jamaica and had medium expectations. I don't know why anyone would go to Kingston except for business? But this is the best choice there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Your comments are well received and we appreciate your taking the time to pen your views.
We are constantly striving to improve the overall guest experience and it is gratifying to note that in your case we succeeded.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel about an hour before check in time and we were fortunate to be checked in early. I received a lovely room on the seventh floor overlooking the mountains and a nice view of New Kingston. I was able to go on the balcony and enjoy some nice Jamaican breeze. I enjoyed the full complimentary breakfast which guests are entitled to. Breakfast was truly delicious each day and I tasted your national dish thanks to your hotel restaurant, The Blue Window Restaurant. I will certainly be returning to your lovely hotel. I had a splendid time here (room, food, amenities) and I will encourage anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts following your recent visit.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your staying with us again when your travels have you stayng in Kingston again.
Respectfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have stayed there on several occasions. Last visit was just after ownership change and major refurbishing. Nice place. Has huge ballrooms and caters for functions almost daily. Food quality is good as also service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind words.
Ownership and Management are determined to improve the total experience that guests receive at the Jamaica Pegasus and it is pleasing to note that the efforts are being noticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is my third visit to this hotel and I must say it's going down. I am a Jamaican by birth and can remember the days when this hotel was the Jewel of Kingston . That's all gone. The rooms needs some serious renovation and updating. I was there in 2011 and said I would not be back but decide I would stay again. BIG MISTAKE. I only stayed there because I was attending a function in there ballroom and did not want to drive somewhere else after a night of partying

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We have already embarked on a multi-million dollar renovation program and will not stop until the property is completely remodeled. We trust that you will revisit us again in the near future so you canb experience first hand the progress that we have made.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is special but for all the wrong reasons.
I'll try to make an objective list of the issues but I'm bound to miss some:
1. Dirty, old, neglected - 'refurbed' rooms are a lick of paint, new sofa and fixing broken stuff
2. Stuff doesn't work on a regular basis
3. The food is horrendous (although breakfast not bad) - how can anyone mess up a burger??
4. Bathrooms broken, old and leave a sense of poor hygiene
5. The worst value for money hotel on the planet surely
6. Internet only works in 'certain' rooms according to the technical support team
7. The 'Juta' taxis which you are almost forced to use are a full 300% more than the market rate but you shouldn't be surprised because it is all part of the rip-off culture of this place.

These guys actually think they are running a high end establishment, mainly because they are full quite often but that is only because of poor supply in the area. The hotel next door is closed for refurb and Marriot are opening next year...they will lose most of their business once these guys show up, overnight. The hotel would seriously struggle to make three stars in any other country in the world.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is not up to any international standards for accommodations.
The rooms are very old, carpets are in poor shape, the bathroom is from the 40' (the shower head barely provide a trickle of water).
Internet access is really only available in the lobby and the food is below average... And all this services for US$280 a night plus a myriad of taxes to include an energy "surcharge".

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

I am very saddened to read your comments. We are renovating this property as fast as we can and are committed to restoring the Pegasus to its former glory as the leading property in Kingston.
Please reconcider us for your next trip to Jamaica and contact me personally before you come. I will ensure that your stay with us is without blemish.
Peter Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.5 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £207 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jamaica Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives - complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge, in-room welcome amenity and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing