We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DonnaHH-Wedding Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DonnaHH-Wedding Guest”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our second time visiting Jamaica and this time we stayed in New Kingston at the Courtleigh Hotel & Suites. The location is AWESOME, next to a well kept park and if you're visiting with children there an amusement park across from the hotel. The hotel itself is showing it's wear-n-tear but apart form that the staff is superb. I must thank two staff members in particular - Oliver the floor attendant and Ms. Kemmishea the housekeeper; both went over and above to ensure we had a great stay. The servers in the dinning room were also friendly, however, if you can purchase your breakfast off the inclusive menu (which is very basic without authantic dishes) go for it, you will not regret paying the extra. My one problem with the hotel was the doors closed very loudly so when other guest are up early, you're up too because of the LOUD closing of the doors. Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    205
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
40
41
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay at The Courtleigh very much and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Let me start with my fond memories of the restaurant, where the food was delicious and served in generous portions. The menu featured a fair sample of Jamaican cuisine such as curried goat and oxtail with beans as well as regular restaurant fare like pork chops and steamed chicken. Amongst the side dishes, I would particularly recommend the sweet potato mash and the rum-glazed plantains. The complimentary breakfast always featured a wide selection of fruit and I was particularly impressed with the inclusion of natural yogurt in their offering (for those of us who love yogurt without the sugar). Of course, I cannot forget to mention that my group was well-cared for by the attentive restaurant staff, particularly Tawana and Sheldon. My spacious room was in great condition and featured an absolutely luxurious four-poster bed which made my business trip feel like a holiday. The hotel also features a small but adequate gym. All in all, I would urge anyone looking for a hotel in Kingston to give The Courtleigh a try. I certainly had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The service in this hotel was truly unbeatable. From the moment we entered, everyone from Shawna-Kay, the receptionist at the front desk, to Tawana, the receptionist at the entrance of Alexander's Restaurant, were exceedingly pleasant and genuinely interested in ensuring our experience remained a happy one. Tawana, in particular, was a welcome guest at our many insightful dinner and breakfast table conversations and graced them with her cheerful personality. The room was also excellent (stayed in a suite), and the bed was so comfortable it was its own anesthetic - as soon as you jumped in, you fell right asleep! The hotel is located in the center of New Kingston (which was beautiful - so many great memories!), and literally everything you needed for your stay was within walking distance. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I chose this hotel on the basis of its previous reviews on this site. No review I read prepared me for the amazing service I received during my stay. I re-read each review...none of them told me to expect that every issue I had would be attended to within seconds of it being brought to the attention of any member of staff. None of them told me that they would be so very pleasant and attentive in their service. I would also have appreciated if I could have been told about the main attendant at Alexander's- the in-house restaurant- Tawana. Her smile seemed to warm the entire island and her professional and detailed attention inspired my colleagues and I to eat at Alexander's each day and night of our stay. I know my ratings may seem exceedingly generous, but I could find no fault with any of the categories. The service was excellent- kudos to Anya and the other front-office attendants who always wore a smile. I slept more comfortably than I ever have in any other hotel. The room was well-laid out and specifically attended to my needs (I stayed in an executive suite with a full desk, PC and multifunction printer/ scannerI) I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times. The staff at the Courtleigh is awesome. As soon as i jump out of the taxi they are greeting me by name. They never forget. Cant beat that. The free breakfast is good. I am not a big breakfast person but they always have fresh fruit. The dinner is ok but I prefer to eat out. There are so many nice places to go in Kingston now. You will get a better meal outside the hotel at a better price. Pool bar at night is great. The pool is nice, the gym is very small. I hate the fragrant soap in the bathroom. Bring all your toiletries. Aside from that the place is clean, safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We got stuck in Jamaica due to a delayed flight. We got the best customer service that made my family feel right at home. This was the best hotel to get stuck at. Kudos to the restaurant staff and front desk!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family trip to Jamaica started with the Courtleigh Hotel. We regularly travel with the kids across North America, and no where have we had better service! From the bellman/front desk, to our server, to even the security guard on duty at the front door (who turned on the fountain so the girls could play while they were waiting), everyone was gracious and attentive and happy to ask what we needed. Our penthouse suite was spacious and well appointed with t.v.s in every room. The view from the balcony was beautiful and we appreciated being able to sit outside and still able to see the kids inside, as the doors are full french doors that open wide. The rooms were quiet; we weren't disturbed with the sounds of the other guests coming and going in the hallways. The dinner menu addressed the needs of the adults, who wanted the more traditional Jamaican fare, and the kids, who wanted pizza. The pool was clean and a good size, with a shallow end. Thank you to all the staff who made our first night in Jamaica so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizziejaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Property: The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing