We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby old fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shabby old fashioned”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Just a bit shabby and old fashioned. Stupid old safes you have to get a bolt and key for with a penalty if you don't take it back. Safes too small to be useful anyway.
Power sockets all in the wrong side of room for laptops etc.
Internet slow. Very noisy outside.
About the only hotel I have ever been in with no shampoo.
It gets away with it because there isn't a lot that's any good in Kingston.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Namshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    205
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
40
41
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked into the Courtleigh hotel on March 6th for 3 nights and had 3 rooms. Check in was efficient and the front desk staff did a good job of welcoming us to the hotel. Courtleigh has a nice outdoor bar and restaurant area by the swimming pool and we enjoyed our first evening eating outside by the pool. The staff were very accomodating and the rooms were clean and tidy.
Courtleigh hotel is a good spot for the business traveller and the breakfast buffet is included, but if you want some real Jamaican breakfasts you can order from the menu. Food was good and the service was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiskoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I received a friendly welcome, a clean room, a comfortable bed, great food and great service from the staff. If you're ever staying in New Kingston, I recommend you try this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenFlo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trincity
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

One would expect a better view from the higher floors but all the rooms are well appointed. The service was excellent at check in and breakfast each morning. The Concierge service was great ....need to single out Oliver as a standout employee...he went beyond the call of duty to ensure our comfort

Room Tip: One would expect a better view from the higher floors but all the rooms are well appointed. The ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaximay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here while visiting friends and family in the Kingston Metro area. The hotel has updated the rooms in the recent years and the outcome is excellent. All the employees were always happy to assist guests. The location in the New Kingston area is very convenient to transportation restaurants. For those who would rather exercise outside or as an option to the very nice hotel gym, there is a park across the street from the Courtleigh. It opens very early at 5 am and is very popular for locals. In addition, there is the Liguanea Club directly across the street, which is a members only club, but their Terrace Restaurant is open to the public. The food is very reasonably priced and service excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1970_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel in new Kingston offers a friendly welcome and good standard rooms. Nothing has been any trouble to the staff at reception, dining or bars. The bedrooms are very clean and the large bed very comfortable. For a city centre hotel this is one of th best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here during Valentines Weekend (2014) and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was professional. The hotel was nice, quiet and clean. I would recommend to friends. It's in the heart of Downtown, Kingston right by Emancipation park and places to eat. Great location.

Room Tip: The suite is large and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deseray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Property: The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing