We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Courtleigh Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Courtleigh Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My stay in New Kingston, Jamaica was at the Courtleigh hotel. I stayed there for 3 weeks and must say that the hotel was very clean and the Hotel itself was the best in all services compared to the surrounding Hotels in the area. Rooms are very nice and I would compare them to any 4/5 star Marriott or Hilton.
The staff were very courteous and very friendly to everyone and made everyone feel welcomed!
I must say that the Bell Hop (Oliver) was by far the best and made sure he knew who you were and always greeted you with a smile! Because of Oliver, he made the warmth of the Hotel home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    198
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
39
40
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very basic. Fridge empty, air conditioning sounded like a lawn mower, shower a dribble and iron did not work. Very few redeeming features . Had two large beds which were too large for the room -so much so you had to stand on one bed to pull the curtains . The bar was nice .

Room Tip: To be honest I would avoid it if possible but definitely avoid the two queen bed rooms as hardly any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vyvienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook
Level Contributor
286 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Kingston hotels can only be compared to other Kingston hotels, not to Manhattan or Paris. The Courtleigh is a small hotel in New Kingston, Jamaica that feels like a family you did not know you had. The staff is friendly, attentive and protective.
There is a good restaurant, probably the most reasonable and reliable of the hotel restaurants in town. The menu is varied enough to keep a business traveler who works most nights and therefore eats in the hotel satisfied. It is not wildly adventurous, but it is solidly good and gives decent versions of Jamaican favorites as well as universally desired traveler food.
The hotel is old, so there is always some renovation going on, but that usually is well balanced by the special care staff extends to guests.
The major downside is the noise where there are 'performances' across the street at Emancipation Park bandshell or at the private club [that evidently rents out for parties] across the road. Thus, asking for a room to the back of the hotel is a great idea.
Nice little refrig in room; good updated bathroom with lovely walk-in glassed showers; decent Internet and table for eating as well as desk for working in suites.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel to avoid 'performance noise.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Courtleigh for my last business trip to Jamaica. The hotel is located in a quiet zone, which I really liked. Staff was very friendly and attentive. They serve complementary breakfast, with good choices of cold/hot items (eggs, sausages, cold cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, bread and bagels, cheese, etc). However they only change one or two items each day so if you stay for a long period of time (e.g. 17 days as I did) it becomes really repetitive. The rooms are OK for a business trip, not very modern but served it purpose. Lighting inside the room is awful, the room are very dark. During the night there's no fix, but during the day you only need to open the curtains (huge windows). The shower is a real issue as there's no way to take a shower without flooding the entire bathroom. Beds are comfy and the room is clean. There's not much to do around the area, but again for a Business trip that did not matter. If you are looking a hotel just to spend the nights (sleep) this one if very good. If you are looking more amenities in your hotel, then don't book this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for four nights on a business trip in a one-bedroom suite. The room was nicely furnished and clean. Good speed wireless in the room. Complimentarily breakfast was quite satisfying and of a good standard, as were the other meals in the restaurant. Modern bathroom. The only downside was the A/C which struggled to get the room very cool, especially in the mornings when the sun was coming through the large patio windows. Overall I enjoyed returning to my room at the end of each day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamstansfieldking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelawny Parish, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great hotel for business travel. Front Desk check in was smooth. Complimentary wi-fi access was great. Connection was fast.
Was a bit disappointed with the continental breakfast. Could have had more protein choices.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodi_enchantress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I often choose to skip giving ratings but my recent stay at this hotel warrants a change in my approach. This was more then home away from home. It was evident that the entire staff from entry to exit were committed in making sure my stay at the hotel was memorable. They did a wonderful job. I was impressed with all the services...the meals; the room; the restaurant; the pool bar; the intimate environment; the attempts of the staff to personally welcome you as you came and went and attempts to predict your needs and offer solutions. The Courtleigh holds it s own in the amenities provided, yet it is the caring that for me makes all the difference in determining where I choose to stay. I extended my stay as a result.

Having been already impressed, the experience of the day of checkout remains indelible in my mind - I had misplaced my passport and thought it was lost - the front desk staff, the nurse, the bellman and security personnel were all quick to respond, and with such care so as not to have me panic, and carefully guided me through the process of finding my documents. Caring makes all the difference. I cannot wait to return. Thank you Courtleigh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Property: The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing