We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the 60s / Over priced”
Review of Indies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indies Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“From the 60s / Over priced”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The room, bathroom, furniture & décor are from the 60s. The room needs to be gutted. I know times are hard but if you are going to charge $95.00 a night, it needs to be presentable. I wouldn’t sleep! I only stay one night. Management need to do something otherwise it should only be about $20 a night. The pipes in the bathroom, air conditioning don’t work properly. Did I mention that the furniture is really really old! And don’t look up while you’re lying in bed because the ceiling/light fixture are a mess.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
14
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We (family with 1 sun, 16 years old) stayed here twice and we felt comfortable in this hotel. It has a really nice patio where you could read or have drinks/food/cocktails. The restaurant offered good cocktails and nice food, although service was - jamaican style - slow. Staff we're friendly, we felt welcome and they gave as great tips about driving with your own car through the blue mountains. Location is good, it's close to new kingston with some eateries at a 5-minute walk. During the day we felt safe outside in the area only the staff recommended us to not leave the hotel in the evening. Rooms on the front side (we slept in both) we're big enough but noisy - especially evening- and nighttime (cars, music & people going out). There's a public swimming pool really nearby although we did not have the time to try it. Parking is free and quite safe. There's a night guard around.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel will probably be less noisy eveningtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piaseczno
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel offers pretty good alue for price around 80 USD per room. There are several spacious rooms with TV and comfortable beds. There is also patio garden where yo can celebrate evening. It is worth to try hotel's cuisine - typical jamaican meals or western meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is an inexpensive local hotel in Kingston proper. If you are into travel, but not a resort type person, this could work for you. They have a restaurant onsite, and the food is good and reasonable. The rooms are small, but clean. There are some pealing paint, due to high humidity, but for the price it is a nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a great place for backpackers and travelers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x666dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel not recommended

Food takes long - breakfast was horrible, bathroom door doesn't close, not enough towels and when we asked for more it took a whole day, no fridge, bed hard as rock, floors were dirty, rooms were cramped, you can hear any little noise from outside, WIFI DOES NOT WORK IN THE ROOMS, only outside. Does not include shampoo or toothpaste.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SabrinaToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Vicenza
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed with a friend at this hotel because we had a flight to catch from Kingston and we want to arrive at the airport relaxed and fresh.
Since the first moment the staff did not look very helpful. I have to admit that we arrived at 10am and after 40 minutes they gave us the possibility to check in earlier then normal time.
But probably they did this because they want us to stay in the room number 1 which is actually overlooking the parking/main road and just next to the entrance/exit of the hotel.
Around 5/6pm after a walk to Bob Marley Museum we went back to the hotel and realized that internet was not working. We need to fix some stuff before leaving the day after.
The receptionist told us she was rebooting the router (INTERNET DID NOT WORK UNTIL THE DAY AFTER).
Around 10 pm we went to sleep but was almost impossible to relax and sleep because of the noise of the cars.
The morning after we talked to the same lady and explain that we were not happy with the room/price/service we had.
The answer was that she could not give any discount because of the traffic and that internet was a complimentary service.

I worked all my life in hotels and never accepted this kind of answers. Clients are usually the best important thing for a hotel and without them the business would be 0.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

On the one hand, this is listed as a budget/inexpensive option by Lonely Planet. But the room itself seemed overpriced/expensive for such a simple basic room.

However, the staff were extremely helpful with giving us directions for walking to the Bob Marley Museum and restaurant recommendations, and getting good taxi drivers to take us to Port Royal and to Hellshire Beach. They also have a restaurant onsite and the food was excellent, with lots of vegetarian options. We also enjoyed their rum punch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige
Hotel Prestige
#19 of 25 in Kingston
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indies Hotel

Property: Indies Hotel
Address: 5 Holborn Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Indies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indies Hotel Kingston
Indies Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing