We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless Night”
Review of Indies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Indies Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleepless Night”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was one of the worst hotel experiences Inhave had. I had a room with twin beds. The beds were hard and uncomfortable because the mattresses have seen better days, the pillows were lumpy and flat, the air conditioner was noisy, bright lights shone thru the room all night and having a shower was challenging due to a poor shower head that sprayed water all over the place except my body! I regretted staying here though the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room is way overpriced at $80 per night. A fair price would have been $20.

Room Tip: Don't choose the single rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
14
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were only in Kingston for one night and decided to stay here. The property is a convenient 5 minute walk from the Knutsford Express bus station. The rooms are nothing to brag about, but were kept in good order and were clean. The food at the restaurant wasn't bad, be mindful though if you plan on having a late dinner (which we did), they're posted as closing at 10:00pm but when we went to the bar to order at 9:15pm the chef and waitress were already closing down shop (we were the only ones left in the restaurant, but our order was taken). The staff was friendly. I would definitely go back for a one or two night stay, any longer I'd probably venture elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevetsdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Indies Hotel in New Kingston is located on a quiet little street. It's a small and simple establishment, which is how I like to travel. The room was simple, yet clean and everything worked. The staff was very polite and ready to help with whatever I needed. There's a cute little patio, where you can sit and relax, read, or have some food....there is a restaurant on the premises. For the price and location, I would definitely recommend this hotel...unless you're one of those people who needs a 5-star place with servants beckoning your every call.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GermaicanSpiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The room, bathroom, furniture & décor are from the 60s. The room needs to be gutted. I know times are hard but if you are going to charge $95.00 a night, it needs to be presentable. I wouldn’t sleep! I only stay one night. Management need to do something otherwise it should only be about $20 a night. The pipes in the bathroom, air conditioning don’t work properly. Did I mention that the furniture is really really old! And don’t look up while you’re lying in bed because the ceiling/light fixture are a mess.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We (family with 1 sun, 16 years old) stayed here twice and we felt comfortable in this hotel. It has a really nice patio where you could read or have drinks/food/cocktails. The restaurant offered good cocktails and nice food, although service was - jamaican style - slow. Staff we're friendly, we felt welcome and they gave as great tips about driving with your own car through the blue mountains. Location is good, it's close to new kingston with some eateries at a 5-minute walk. During the day we felt safe outside in the area only the staff recommended us to not leave the hotel in the evening. Rooms on the front side (we slept in both) we're big enough but noisy - especially evening- and nighttime (cars, music & people going out). There's a public swimming pool really nearby although we did not have the time to try it. Parking is free and quite safe. There's a night guard around.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel will probably be less noisy eveningtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piaseczno
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel offers pretty good alue for price around 80 USD per room. There are several spacious rooms with TV and comfortable beds. There is also patio garden where yo can celebrate evening. It is worth to try hotel's cuisine - typical jamaican meals or western meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is an inexpensive local hotel in Kingston proper. If you are into travel, but not a resort type person, this could work for you. They have a restaurant onsite, and the food is good and reasonable. The rooms are small, but clean. There are some pealing paint, due to high humidity, but for the price it is a nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a great place for backpackers and travelers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x666dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indies Hotel

Property: Indies Hotel
Address: 5 Holborn Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Indies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indies Hotel Kingston
Indies Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing