We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is Overrated/Overpriced”
Review of Indies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indies Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 28 November 2005

Pros: Cable T.V. with over 50 channels, mainly English speaking; ice cold air conditioner; and friendly, helpful staff.

Cons: Small T.V. Screen 19" or maybe smaller; small room with no desk; mold around the toilet; small bathroom; no windows in the room; and small bed (full size).

I stayed at the Indies Hotel November 24th and 25th, 2005. I paid $61.00 nightly which, in my humble opinion, was $41.00 too much because the room is very rudimentary. The hotel is located in New Kingston. It is about one-half of a mile (5-7 minute walk) to the main strip of New Kingston (where many of the restaurants and nightclubs are located). BEWARE walking at night on the street that the hotel is located on (and the surrounding streets) because when the sun goes down, the working girls and their customers come out in full force. They are mainly on the same street that the hotel is located on (Holborn Road) and on the side street leading to the main strip.

Honestly, I travel quite a bit (Jamaica was my 31st country) and I usually stay at low end hotels. With that said, I guess I would stay at the Indies again if it was no more than $20 a night and if I was traveling alone (like I usually do). If money were no object however, and if I visited Kingston again (which I doubt), I would stay at the Hilton.

The hotel is approximately 15 miles from the international airport. I was quoted $25 USD but I bargained with the taxi driver and I was ultimately charged $20.00.

Stayed: November 2005
10  Thank ngbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2004

The Indies Hotel is the best -- great staff, tasty food, a really nice place to stay.

8  Thank AnitaColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brandywine. Maryland
111
Reviewed 7 August 2003

Spent nine wonderful days at the Indies Hotel in Kingston. The staff was wonderful . The food was excelent.The room was clean and well kept by the staff..

I would like to thanks to Ms Beulah DaSilva (manager) and staff for their graceious hospitality...

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

BARBARA HIBBERT

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2002

The entrance is beautiful, the entire set up of the hotel is gorgeous. The people that work there are amazing, giving up whatever they were doing to help you at any time. The hotel is small so it makes you feel like you're more family than guest. The rooms come with everything you need and if you need anything additional, the hotel should be able to accomodate you. The best part about the Indies is definately the atmosphere and the people. The little restaurant is a nice place to sit down and have coffee at in the morning. Security is great there too. The cost of staying there is also a bargain.

29  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: estuvimos en habitaciones de planta baja y fueron traquilas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank murielle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.7 mi away
Shirley Retreat House
Shirley Retreat House
#22 of 25 in Kingston
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#9 of 25 in Kingston
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#4 of 25 in Kingston
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indies Hotel

Address: 5 Holborn Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £62 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Indies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indies Hotel Kingston
Indies Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing