We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overall great experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. As others have said, the standard rooms are slightly disappointing, though I feel that with just some slight improvements they could come up to snuff quite easily. They need better TV cabinets, brighter bulbs in the lamps, a hotel guide to services and to provide a hair dryer and small bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc., rather than bulk dispensers in the shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I would also have been happier if the rooms were made up earlier in the day. Mine was usually done between 3 and 4 PM. However, for Kingston, I find the overall experience to be great for this price. The included breakfast is superb, the hotel grounds, dining rooms, pool and lobby areas are quiet and refined, the food is high quality and the service is excellent. I rented a car and felt perfectly secure parking in the hotel lot, which is free. Devon house is just down the road and it is easy to get everywhere from the Terra Nova. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will always stay here rather than the chain hotels in New Kingston. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you don't mind the stairs. I could hear heavy-footed guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonanzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    72
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
47
57
16
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was my 3rd visit to this hotels restaurant and it will not be the last!! Its fabulous!! The food is cooked to perfection and the service it first class!! But best of all the prices are very reasonable!
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was there 2 weeks ago coming from a wonderful stay in Barbados and I was highly disappointed. The grounds seemed nice, with kind of a planation atomsphere, however, the room was like being at Motel 6. Not happy with the quality of the room and the bathroom surely could have used some upgrade. The bed was hard and not very comfortable.

The service was good. The staff was very pleasant and they brought fruit and water to my room at no charge. That was very nice and made the stay very nice plus the water they put in the room with chocolate. Nice touch. They do NOT have elevators so if you have heavy bags it was difficult to get them down the stairs. The small bar was very nice with the front room. Kind of cozy.

It was an okay stay and I was ready to go home. Sorry, Terra Nova.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fleurdelys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is truly a wonderful place. The service is second to none, the location is great. Beautiful Victorian furniture. The staff are well trained. It's my home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

For the last five years I have stayed there ranging from 3- 7 days and have enjoyed every stay. The furnishings are getting threadbare and worn in may places but on the whole , clean and looked after. The ambiance is one of understated elegance, the breakfasts are excellent and the surf and turf Wednesday theme night to die for. They use Derek as a taxi driver that I still use to this day. He is reliable, honest and does not over charge .

Room Tip: Downstairs, near the internet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My final night in Jamaica I wanted to make special and booked into the 5 star all suite hotel called the Terra Nova, and it didn't disappoint. My suite entitled the 'Hemingway' named after the writer was bigger and better than I expected. My own office decked with computer, printer and internet, large lounge area, small kitchenette-bar, a huge bed and bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. It was the perfect location to entertain my family on my last night on holiday. I sat in the bar and drank excellent wine whilst listening to the tastefully chosen music the pianist played and when all my guests had arrived was ushered into an oasis of candles and crisp linen table clothes for dinner. The price included a buffet breakfast of traditional Jamaican food that was delicious and set me up nicely for the long journey home.

This is an expensive alternative to my usual holiday trail but with the attention to detail and the expert silver service delivery of the meal I feel it was money well spent even though returning home completely broke.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Excellent service and friendly staff. The food in the restaurant (breakfast and evening meals) is high quality.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.9 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.8 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Nova All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova All Suite Hotel

Property: Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Address: 17 Waterloo Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Nova All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Nova All Suite Hotel rests proudly in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica, welcoming guests with its lush gardens, impeccable service and understated elegance for over 45 years.A symbol of white glove service and the pride of New Kingston, the hotel remains the only boutique hotel in Kingston catering specifically to the discerning business traveler. Since 1959, whether traveling to Kingston on business or pleasure the Terra Nova combines tradition with elegance and style to accommodate the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Terra Nova All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Kingston
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing