We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good time”
Review of Neita's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neita's Nest
Ranked #1 of 31 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I spent a fantastic time partly to the welcome we reserved Michelle in her beautiful house. The service was great and the breakfast was delicious. I want to thanks Neita Michelle making us discover the country. (ps: thank you for the small sentences in french). I extremly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Souly T, thank YOU for encouraging my French. That's your gift to me.

Thank you too for being open to learning so much about our country, and for wanting to explore. We have so much to share that we just bubble when we have eager guests like you all.

Thank you for all your compliments, and for your generous recommendation.

Warm regards from Jamaica,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Neita's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

What can we say? I enjoyed every minute spent in property. The setting is magnificent. But above all Michelle pays particular attention to all its guests. Special mention for the cuisine of Charmen. A real treat. I highly and sincerely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your strong recommendation, Baky.

At Neita's Nest, we strive to be more than a Bed and Breakfast; we offer a Home Stay; attention to the needs of every member of our "family", whether it is your meal plan, your tours or your quiet time, is what we put first, everytime. That you enjoyed every minute with us is what pleases us most. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Warm regards to you all,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent a couple of days there in June. Perfect location to explore Kingston. Great food, great room and a great and knowledgeable host who really took time out to make the stay memorable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank for the "Excellent" review of your stay at Neita's Nest, Eric.

We are delighted that your short visit with us would make for such a memorable stay. While memories can last a lifetime, please do not let it be a lifetime before you visit again.

Cheers,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent a full week with Michelle in her hilltop B and B waking up to lush, green, mist filled mountains just out our window. The breakfasts, dinners, and ambiance are all exceptionally Jamaican. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished.
What's really special, however, is Michelle's approach to her guests. She took the time to understand our desires and needs and guided us to a great Jamaican stay. She is very knowledgable about all the cultural and scenic events going on in and around Kingston. She helped us arrange a trip up in to the Blue Mountains, visiting a coffee estate, military outpost, and a cloud filled, water-falled national park. She personally took us bird watching early on a Saturday morning, followed by one of Charmain's classic Jamaican breakfasts on the varanda, and then gave us a tour of Kingston. She recommended various sites to see in and around Port Antonio that were fantastic. We can't say enough! What a hostess!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear "runfred",

Everytime I re-read your review I am challenged as to how to respond; this because your visit was like a vacation to me also, in that I could enjoy the process of sharing. From the get-go, you were so open about the purpose of your visit that it became easy to prepare for your stay and to help you to achieve all that you wanted to, and some.

Thank you for your openess of heart and spirit. You all gave us a wonderful vacation right here at home.

Cheers,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Neita's Nest in a fabulous location and we loved the views. Having operable glass windows to maximize the views would be a good touch. No electrical outlet close to the bed was a huge drag. Need to be able to plug-in and charge tech such as cell/laptop, etc.

Didn't like not having A/C and an on suite bathroom. Having to go across the hall to use the restroom is unacceptable. The bed was suppose to be king size but it was 2 mattresses pushed together. the mattresses would get pushed apart leaving a gap that I had to keep climbing out of.

I am not an indoor pet lover and wasn't happy that the owner's pet dog was around. I suggest the operator ask guests whether they appreciate indoor pets, if they don't, keep the dog on the operator's side of the property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We thank you, Greg P, for taking the time to write your detailed and thought-provoking review of your one night stay at Neita's Nest, and are only too sorry to be reading that your brief stay was such an uncomfortable one. We wish that you had felt open to sharing your concerns and discomforts while here, as this would have given us an opportunity to apologise in person, and either fix or explain, which hopefully, would have made for a better experience. Nonetheless, a "Poor" rating keeps it real, and serves to keep us grounded.

For example, we have now amplified the description of our amenities and services on this site clarifying that, while there is a bathroom for each bedroom, these are not en suite. In addition, we do have an effective way of securing our mattresses. The fact that it was not done on this occasion was an oversight on our part, for which we apologise,

We usually ask our guests if they mind the presence of our miniature dog, and although the request is seldon ever made, when requested, we gladly keep our Shitzo Poodle on the family side of our home. Just to assure, however, we do have a valid health certificate for her as is required by our Ministry of Health, and she is groomed and bathed regularly. Further, she is not allowed in the guest bedrooms.

The many photographs of our home on this site show that our floor to ceiling windows are louvered. This is an architectual detail typical of the tropics in which we are located, and is a practical way (along with other design features of our building) of letting in the trade winds and keeping the place cool. As a result, our ceiling fans are usually very effective if and when needed. Glass windows will in fact magnify the heat.

Power strips, which allow for the simultaneous use of your various technologies, are only a request away, and we would have gladly provided.

Just for the record, ours is a bed and breakfast in the European tradition, i.e. a home stay, as opposed to a guest house or hotel. I hope this clarifies your concerns.

With kind regards,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

To the Neita's Nest Family : I am, and at the same time, humbled and inspired by the time spent with you and I wish you all of The Most High's Richest blessings and providence. For the review readers: Now that I have time to reflect on my stay in beautiful Jamaica, I remember during my stay (with everything being catered to) Enjoying The Tree House & Reflecting on life. I Will be Back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aundre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Your return visit sounds like a sure promise, Aundre E, and we would love to hold you to it. Till then, your generousity through your prayerful wishes is a blessing in iself, and your appreciation for all that we do to ensure a satisfying stay for our guests will keep us focused.

It is our prayer for you that your reflections on life while here will enlighten you paths, and that these paths will indeed bring you back for another pause that refreshes.

Warm regarrds from Neita's Nest,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

After twenty-five years we came back for a visit to Jamaica and Kingston where I lived many years. We were very pleased with the fact that we had, via Trip Advisor, booked Neita's Nest in the Stony Hill area of Kingston.
The house is friendly, safely situated in the Bridgemount neighbourhood, with a beautiful view of Orange Grove and part of upper Kingston.
Michelle Neita is a graceful, kind and helpful hostess who makes you feel a welcome guest. We had interesting discussions on present and historical social-cultural issues. On request, she and her helper, Charmaine, even prepared delicious dinners. Charmaine also washed the laundry.
The bathroom is basic, the heater was switched off too soon. Good beds, clean and ample bedrooms.
The main road running some 100m below the house is noisy in the early morning, because of the typical style of driving of the trucks down the hill. An extra "touristic" experience. No big problem.
AANBEVOLEN, highly recommended to new visitors of Jamaica and old visitors as well! A safe place to be while visiting the big city.
Jacquelien and Pieter

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PieterT676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Jacquelien and Pieter,

Thank you for your very kind words and compliments, but most importantly, for taking time from your busy schedule to share your review of your stay at Neita's Nest.

A repeat visit, as with a first time one, comes with many expectations, as well as with room for some disappointment . We are delighted, first of all, that your stay in Jamaica 25 years ago was a positive one, such that you would want to take this mecca from The Netherlands. That your travel research could direct you right back to the community of Bridgemount & Orange Grove was divine intervention. For these and more reasons, we are only too happy that we could offer B&B services in your neighbourhood of choice, and that your visit did not disappoint.

Yes, our conversations took us back to a time when our independent nation was half her age. It was a pleasure to exchange our experiences of then and now.

Your feedback is useful. We will be mindful to keep the water heater on longer while working toward adding more solar equipment and other energy efficencies. And as for the street noises, most will be filtered and subside as the foliage continues to thicken and replace that which was lost in our recent hurricane.

Warm regards from Neita's Nest,
Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.0 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
870 reviews
4.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
241 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
3.3 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neita's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neita's Nest

Address: Bridgemount | Kingston 8, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: £81 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neita's Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neita's Nest ... A Jamaican Bed and Breakfast service in a private dwelling enjoyed for decades by families and friends as it lends to easy entertaining. The breathtaking view of the sunrise, the show-stopping ascent of the full moon, and the mist-wrapped mountains after rain can all be enjoyed from all three guest bedrooms, as well as from the wide verandah - a perfect breakfast nook. Our floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall windows make for indoor dining a no-less picturesque experience. Neita's Nest - in Bridgemount, Stony Hill The approach, a winding, uphill challenge and now favoured-path of the fittest exercise buffs, is one of the oldest roads in the parish of St. Andrew. Built by slaves some 300 years ago, it still meanders through the residential area of Bridgemount, long-since named for this little-remembered piece of history. Historic Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the property that once housed The Captain's Quarters for Fort Bridgemount, an 18th century mountain-top British Army post, this 1960's chalet-styled home, now Bed and Breakfast to the world, is perched with a commanding view of the mountains surrounding Kingston's Liguanea Plains. Bird Watcher's Paradise/ Artist's Haven. The cool hills surrounding this upper St. Andrew home nurture a year-round verdant view, with the lush, untamed hillsides providing the perfect hideaway for over twenty species of local and migrant birds. But who's counting? The sheer joy of being awakened to nature's harmony creates the perfect setting of sights and sounds to inspire the creators of les beaux arts, the writers of poignant poetry and the composers of melodious music. Facilities and Amenities. Breakfast, which is included in your room rate, consists of Fresh Tropical Fruit, Juice, Freshly-brewed Authentic Jamaican Coffee, Assorted Teas, a Cooked Meal, Breads & Spreads. Our other facilities included in your room rate are free wireless internet and free covered parking on property. Our living spaces, and each of our 3 bedrooms, are fitted with basic bathroom amenities, and waffle robes are provided for each adult. We offer 1 King-sized or 2-Twin beds in each room, and although they are not en suite, each bedroom has its own bathroom. Additional Services. Do ask about our other services which can be provided on prior request and for an additional price. These include Airport Transfers, City Tours and other Transportation, Cellular Phone Rental, Spa Services, Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Neita's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neita's Nest Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing