We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heather S First time traveller from Australia”
Review of Neita's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neita's Nest
Ranked #1 of 28 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Heather S First time traveller from Australia”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed for 4 enjoyable days and 5 nights with Michelle at Neita’s Nest in Sept/Oct. As a first time traveler I was particularly nervous about going to Jamaica. Michelle was extremely patient and helpful in responding to the large number of emails I sent prior to my arrival. Although I was primarily visiting Jamaica to do family history research, Michelle ensured that I did not leave without at least sampling the local cuisine at breakfast and usually at dinner as well. Achieving this was no mean feat considering my dietary limitations so well done Michelle! She also proved to be very knowledgeable about local history and went out of her way to make sure that my research time was used profitably. Thank you so much for making my stay so memorable and rewarding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleNeita, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Heather,

Guests come to Jamaica and to Neita's Nest for a myriad of reasons. Your visit was as fulfiling for me as it clearly was for you. Just sharing your research goals, and findings, brought life to the history of my country. It also gave me paricular pride knowing that our archivists, historians and records here in Jamaica could so enrich your your project that your travels from so far could be rewarding.

It was indeed my pleasure to have been an integral part of your first travels from your homeland. And yes, your dietary limitations at first seemed daunting, but thanks too for the challenge of creating a menu plan that delighted.

Best wishes always,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    36
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
63
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stay in a fair amount of bed and breakfasts as I travel, the one thing i like about these places is the welcoming treatment from the people, and the feeling of, sort of visiting a distant family member, plus eating amazing local food (although, here you have the chance of eating more hotel like breakfasts, which we declined) Michelle, the home owner, could not have been nicer! i mean literally could not! it made the experience so welcoming and sweet, and mots of all amazing! it was just so welcoming and definitely worth the time spent there. the cute mocha the dog made it just adorable enough to want to go back just to stay there !!! privacy was also well respected and made it a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleNeita, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Sixto,

We work hard at striking that balance between maintaining our guests' need for privacy while sharing an authentic Jamaican home experience. We even put a Jamaican twist on international fare some of the time to bridge the transition for our guests between their home and ours.

It seems that we struck the right chord for you most of the time, and are truly happy that you took the time to share these notes with us. Coming from a seasoned B&B traveler, this is special.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Surely, it was so much like coming home when Maria and I entered the gates at Neita's Nest. This time ,we brought friends with us, so they could experience what we have on other previous visits. And without soliciting any comments from them, their reactions after we checked out, were much like ours when we first spent time at this lovely Oasis nestled in the cool mountains above Kingston. "We have to come back and spend a longer time" was one such comment, and "my batteries felt recharged from inhaling the cool morning air and hearing the whistling toads in the distance".
We noticed a few upgrades since our last visit, and Michelle is to be congratulated for the improvements to her property.
Naturally, we will continue to recommend Neita's Nest to our friends and relatives.
Maria and Doyle Dally

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleNeita, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Your review puts a knowing smile on my face because these are my sentiments exactly, Doyle and Maria. Your visitis have that family feel, and it is so easy for us to just pick up from where we left off. We enjoy your visits and always look forwad to the next occasion.

Thanks too for bringing your friends to share your homey retreat. Let them know that they are welcome anytime, with or without you.

Till then, cool mountain air and whistling toads await.
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

From my journey up the hills to Neita's Nest, I knew I had made a good choice to end my Jamaican vacation. The view overlooking Kingston was awesome but it did not surpass what I would encounter to start my stay at Neita's Nest.
On arrival, I was met by Michelle Neita and her lovely little friendly dog accessorised with a pretty bow over each ear.
Once shown my room, I met Charmaine, the housekeeper and cook and was taken back to the porch where I was seated for my pre-arranged meal.
I could not sit still. The view was breathtaking, fresh and still. It was like I had moved to paradise. I was in more awe and speechless over the unspoilt nature and majestic beauty of the mountains that presented before me.
With the table set, I was then served a tasty, portion controlled meal prepared by Charmaine. Michelle joined me and she was expecting another guest later. Just as professional as she was in emails when I booked my stay, I found her to be helpful to any needs that I had.
My room was adequate for me with a ceiling fan and no air conditioning. I enjoyed the evening cool air from the mountains and the extra warmth from the bed linen when required. While not modern and dimly lit, the room was clean, had extra lamps for lighting and provided good space for me to use the desk and closet with shelves. The bathroom for my use only was directly across the hallway.
Michelle orientated me to the procedure if security was needed and provided a list for emergency contacts. A decanter of water was put in my room each night and there was also a basket of assorted snacks if I desired them. She also emailed me contacts for tours and the spa packages at my request.
Everyday, Michelle was gracious and ensured that my stay was good. She addressed any little service issues and kept me updated on a regular basis.
The natural habitat was a nature lover's heaven! I lost count of the variety of butterflies I saw and identified flora as seen home. Where I thought was smoke fires in the mountains were explained to be mist/steam. Watching just that was therapeutic and calming.
While I hardly saw birds, I could hear them early mornings with their sounds that were most unusual to me. Nights I quickly adjusted to the dog packs which barked every night for a short period along the busy highway below the cliff near Neita's Nest. I looked over the cliff one day and was so surprised how far away the roadway was - the vehicles looked like toys. Occassionally during the night and mornings, someone drove through at top speeds or with blaring music. None of which disturbed my stay or would prevent me from returning.
My spa treatment was arranged and was professionally done in the treehouse. Talk about forget your troubles. Every kink and crook was taken care off!!!
It would be so remiss of me to not speak of the culinary delights prepared by Charmaine on a daily basis. While I did partake of every meal, I enjoyed the salads and her dressings made from scratch, the roast chicken, jerk fish, callaloo omlette, pumpkin ginger soup and more. She shared details of what she cooked and used herbs and items that grew on the property. Every meal included juices or drinks that she concocted such as sour sop, mixed fruit, pineapple juice, ginger drink. Chairmaine gets my VIP vote as an ambassador for Jamaica. Through her, I learned of cooking methods and tasted new items like coco and dashene. Her ackee and saltfish was excellent.
Neita's Nest was exactly what I needed. Transportation easily came there and there was no problem when I went out. Michelle provided her contact number if she needed to alert security to escort to the top. I also felt secure seeing the Response Team vehicle make regular drives to the premises.
Michelle and Charmaine have a wonderful getaway - I applaud them both for the hospitality, classy service, and welcoming and warm ambience that they have created. Looking for a homey vacation, a place to detox from the hustle and bustle - book Neita's Nest now, you will be rejuvenated, in awe and be refreshed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
You were totally immersed in every moment of your stay with us, Linda! Your recollection of the smallest detail speaks to your sensibility and to your sensitivity, traits which can be depended on for accurate descriptions of your experience, or silence where it is better to say nothing at all.

Unsolicited, you chose to share your experience; you have done so at length, and from the heart. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to so thoughtfully prepare your review, and so soon after your stay.

Best regards,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed with our two young children (10 and 5 years), for over 2 weeks in Jamaica, travelling around the island. Our stay at Neita's Nest Bed & Breakfast for two nights was wonderful. The house has a great view over the hills of Stony Hill and Kingston below. Michelle’s greeted us with a warm welcome every evening as we returned from our travels during the day. We had interesting discussions and loved the typical Jamaican food we got served in the morning for breakfast and in the evening for dinner prepared by her cook Germaine. The rooms are nicely decorated with art and equipped with fans to keep cool. As the house is in Stony Hill which is well elevated above Kingston, there is no direct need for air-conditioning. Upon arrival at the B&B our children had ear infections. Michelle was very helpful in directing us to the children’s clinic on Old Hope Road and arranging for us to be helped there with priority.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 17Sjoukje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Shoukje,

I must first give all the credit to our paediatricians at "Kidz Klinik", and to their front of office team. Just a phone call to say that you were coming with children with ear infections, and they knew it was priority. That you were able to get on with enjoying your vacation in short order, was a BIG PLUS.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your expressions of appreciation for all that we offer. We too enjoyed your visit and your delightful company.

Best regards,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay . The cool temperatures in the hills was rejuvenating . Miss Neita not only picked me up at the airport in the wee hours of the morning but also gave me a tour of downtown Kingston . The food was so delicious too. Mostly I was glad to be away from the noise and bustle of the city . I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone looking to relax while having easy access to Kingston .

Ken from Japan

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Yes, Jamanese, Kingston temperatures offer such diversity; even in the summer, Neita's Nest can be pretty cool!

And you are right, we are tucked away from the hustle and bustle, and that's why we can confidently say that we are "far from the madding crowd", even though our nearest commercial centre is only 5 minutes away.

These are the simple pleasures with which our location is blessed., so we put a little effort in the meals and hospitality to be able to say that at least we had a hand in something (smiles)

So happy you enjoyed our handiwork. We were certainly glad to share home with you.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a great place to stay - wonderful food, great rooms, very welcoming. Beautiful view from the veranda. It was perfect to prepare for and recover from work. I don't know other places in Kingston that are of similar quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Manfred,

Most of our guests are vacationing, but every now and then someone like you comes along with a work agenda, and it is very warming to know that we do meet the needs of the business traveler. Then again, I should not be surprised; this is what my home has always been for me...the relaxing place I want to come home to.

So happy that we fit the bill for you, and I hope that the effort in your work is bearing fruit.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.1 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
4.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
4.1 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.5 mi away
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Irish Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neita's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neita's Nest

Property: Neita's Nest
Address: Bridgemount | Kingston 8, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neita's Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neita's Nest ... A Jamaican Bed and Breakfast service in a private dwelling enjoyed for decades by families and friends as it lends to easy entertaining. The breathtaking view of the sunrise, the show-stopping ascent of the full moon, and the mist-wrapped mountains after rain can all be enjoyed from all three guest bedrooms, as well as from the wide verandah - a perfect breakfast/dinner nook. Our floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall windows make for indoor dining a no-less picturesque experience. Neita's Nest - in Bridgemount, Stony Hill The approach, a winding, uphill challenge and now favoured-path of the fittest exercise buffs, is one of the oldest roads in the parish of St. Andrew. Built by slaves some 300 years ago, it still meanders through the residential area of Bridgemount, long-since named for this little-remembered piece of history. Historic Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the property that once housed The Captain's Quarters for Fort Bridgemount, an 18th century mountain-top British Army post, this 1960's chalet-styled home, now Bed and Breakfast to the world, is perched with a commanding view of the mountains surrounding Kingston's Liguanea Plains. Bird Watcher's Paradise/ Artist's Haven. The cool hills surrounding this upper St. Andrew home nurture a year-round verdant view, with the lush, untamed hillsides providing the perfect hideaway for over twenty species of local and migrant birds. But who's counting? The sheer joy of being awakened to nature's harmony creates the perfect setting of sights and sounds to inspire the creators of les beaux arts, the writers of poignant poetry and the composers of melodious music. Facilities and Amenities. Breakfast, which is included in your room rate, consists of Fresh Tropical Fruit, Juice, Freshly-brewed Authentic Jamaican Coffee, Assorted Teas, a Cooked Meal, Breads & Spreads. Our other facilities included in your room rate are free wireless internet and free covered parking on property. Our living spaces, and each of our 3 bedrooms, are fitted with basic bathroom amenities, and waffle robes are provided for each adult. We offer 1 King-sized or 2-Twin beds in each room, and although they are not en suite, each bedroom has its own bathroom. Additional Services. Do ask about our other services which can be provided on prior request and for an additional price. These include Airport Transfers, City Tours and other Transportation, Cellular Phone Rental, Business Services - including Editing, Personal Laundry, Dry Cleaning, Shoe Shine, Spa Services, Lunches, Dinners, Afternoon Tea and Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Neita's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neita's Nest Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing