We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neita's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neita's Nest
Ranked #1 of 27 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Neita's nest is a hidden nest nearby Kingston, very comfortable and beautiful. Fresh and delicious food is served daily. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a great place if you want to visit Kingston without staying in the city but still very close.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcy792001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Manager at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
First of all, Marcy, I wish to thank you for posting your Neita's Nest photos, and of course for sharing your views on your stay with us.

It is so good of you to emphasise how close we are to the centre of the city, yet yet away from it all. That is precisely what I was looking for when I bought our home, and am now glad to share it with persons from all over the world looking for a similar experience.

In exchange for you taking the extra five minutes to get here, the least we could do was to make sure that we provide a "comfortable" and "beautiful" environment for you with "fresh adn delicious food" served by "friendly and helpful staff". (smiles).

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    35
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
61
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

As Michelle self pointed out in her feedback on our two nights stay, she is very helpful to ensure guests a good Kingston experience.
"From your feedback, your city tour all worked out well (I believe for all of you). More Importantly, I do believe that, although you may have missed out on an experience all which would have provided a deeper knowledge of our city, you did make up for that in other ways: the tour stops were all of your choosing, in most cases, you got to stay for as long as you wanted, and you had a longer than average full-day tour. I am sure you will agree that "the essence of pleasure is (indeed) spontaneity."

We enjoyed our stay and Michelle and the lady who stood her aside in the kitchen. Good food!

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migrantbird55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Migrantbird55 from Amsterdam,

It was a great feeling when our spur of the moment tour of the city fitted in with the interests of your family, with the opening hours of the museums, and made for a wonderful experience for you. Afterall, we did not have a second opportunity (day) to make a good impression. (smiles)

Back home, Charmaine puts a lot of love in the preparation of our meals and is truly delighted when she pleases our guests.

Thanks for expressing your apprecaition so openly.
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I wish I had scheduled more Kingston days on my trip. Michelle was an excellent host and her property is beautiful. It's tucked up in the hills just north of town in a nice neighborhood. It was a little difficult to find (like most good things), but she helped me out. I was delighted when I arrived to see such a nice place. My wife and I got a cozy room with a big bed, and our own bathroom. We had several nice chats in our short time here with Michelle out on her front deck, which looks out onto the city and up into the mountains to the northeast. She has a very friendly little dog named Mocha and a great chef who cooked us up a very tasty breakfast. Kingston was a little daunting compared to everywhere else we visited around the island, but we felt at home here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderd0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Your stay with us was short, but sweet and memorable for us too. We are happy that you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for your strong recommendation.

Kingston is the largest city in the Caribbean, and like any big city, can be daunting. We are however proud of you, being first timers, to have chosen to explore on your own. We hope you found enough to entice you for a return visit, and a longer one next time.

See you then, thunderd0me et al.
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is my 2nd visit to Nieta's Nest. It is my home away from home when I visit Kingston Jamaica.
I visited in November, and the weather was just the correct temperature. Breakfast was very tasty and made to order. Michelle squeezed in again a meeting with the "verandah" group, this group always reminds me of the best in Jamaica and the spirit we possess as humans to foster and encourage relationships.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirg9446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear pirg9446,

That Verandah is one of the most precious experiences of my week. As I always say, every moment on that verandah counts; you never know who you will see next week, and who you won't. And your sensibility for that special spirit fostered there endeared you to the entire group. I am so glad that you enjoy sharing this part of our life here in Kingston.

At Neita's Nest we like to enrich our guests' experiences here in Jamaica with exposure to our friends, family, our special haunts and jaunts A little heads up about your interests and purpose of visit helped us to find that sweet spot for you.

Pirg9446, your openness and spontaneity encourage all the positive relationships you build. Thanks for cgoosing us.

Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed again at Neita's Nest for 23 nights in February to enjoy the yearly Reggae Month!
My stay was again, excellent, had the same room as last year, the room is always in excellent condition and clean!
At breakfast you always get an fresh fruit chuice, fresh fruit salad as starter and an typical Jamaican dish, makes you feel good to start the day in a very good mood !!
Also booked dinners, dishes always where fresh and nicely cooked by Charmaine, tasty and spicy, and always Jamaican cuisine!
Don't need to say that the quality and diversity of the dishes {breakfast and dinner} always where excellent !!
Michelle provides always an first class service, makes you feel home, and always helps with good ideas or tips when needed !
Michelle's B&B is the place to be when you stay in Kingston, a quiet place in the hill where you really can relax and enjoy you vacation !
From now on Michelle, you are stuck with me every February of the year....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasta_Baby_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Rasta_Baby_1962, repeat visitors are special, but when they choose to stay 23 days it says that we are doing something right for them.

I am happy that you appreciated the diversity of the menu plan created for your stay, and that you found each dish to be tasty. And yes, you noticed! Even when we prepare international dishes to honour our mixed cultural heritage, we do like to put a Jamaican twist to it. So, our French Toast is served with jerked sausages, our pasta dishes are spiced with scotch bonnet peppers, our omelettes fold over calloloo and cheese and our Chinese dishes are stir fried with the freshest of local vegetables.

And you are spot on when you recognise that our location gives you easy access to the pulse of the city while providing the perfect place for quiet relaxation.

That said, we are happy that you accepted our recommendation to return in February - Reggae Month when we were sure that you would get your fill of the classics in the reggae genre. But don't worry, "Reggae cyan dun", as we would say in Jamaican Patois. There will be more and different offerings next year, so we look forward to sharing them with you.

More time,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I had a delightful stay at Neita's Nest for two nights in February. Michelle was a wonderful host, and made us to feel like family from the moment she picked us up in New Kingston. We ate dinner 'in' both nights, so in addition to fabulous breakfasts we also had savory dinners among great company. Michelle's helper Charmane is a wonderful cook. Our room was spacious, and the bath perfect. While at the Nest, we spent most of our time on the patio, with temperatures just right and significantly cooler than downtown Kingston. It also turned out to be a great meeting place with Michelle and other guests, as well as a great setting for meals with the panoramic views of the lush hillsides and Kingston below. Michelle also went out of her way to connect us with touring options, taxi rides, and lots of great info about the continuing evolution of this magnificent country. We not only had a wonderful stay, we had the amazing opportunity to connect with a warm and welcoming family, one which we hope to have the great fortune to visit again in the not too distant future. Highly recommended for all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
YoTraveler, so widely travevled are you that a 5-star rating from you is a special treat for us.

More importantly though, we are delighted that you enjoyed our recommendations for tours with Jamaica Cultural Enterprises, our recommended taxi services, and that you took the time to see and experience how our city has evolved over these past decades since your last visit.

We thank you for choosing to dine-in with us, and Charmaine is always pleased to know that her meals are enjoyed.

We too enjoyed our verandah chats with you, as did our other guests. Happy guests make for delightful company, and you were a delight to serve.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I so enjoyed my stay at Neita's Nest, Michelle is such a wonderful host, very knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, warm and welcoming. Its like a home from home. Had a good night sleep, the bedrooms are clean and well appointed. Freshly made Jamaica coffee, with breakfast and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
And you are "The Guest", SK, and a perfect one too. Besides being appreciative of all that we offer, you were so gracious in being equally good company among our other guests. Happy to have you as our guest anytime.

And that coffee, that dark roasted, freshly-brewed Authentic Jamaican Coffee! We are delighted that you love it too.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.0 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.3 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
4.1 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
4.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#5 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neita's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neita's Nest

Property: Neita's Nest
Address: Bridgemount, Stony Hill | Kingston 8, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neita's Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neita's Nest ... A Jamaican Bed and Breakfast service in a private dwelling enjoyed for decades by families and friends as it lends to easy entertaining. The breathtaking view of the sunrise, the show-stopping ascent of the full moon, and the mist-wrapped mountains after rain can all be enjoyed from all three guest bedrooms, as well as from the wide verandah - a perfect breakfast/dinner nook. Our floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall windows make for indoor dining a no-less picturesque experience. Neita's Nest - in Bridgemount, Stony Hill The approach, a winding, uphill challenge and now favoured-path of the fittest exercise buffs, is one of the oldest roads in the parish of St. Andrew. Built by slaves some 300 years ago, it still meanders through the residential area of Bridgemount, long-since named for this little-remembered piece of history. Historic Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the property that once housed The Captain's Quarters for Fort Bridgemount, an 18th century mountain-top British Army post, this 1960's chalet-styled home, now Bed and Breakfast to the world, is perched with a commanding view of the mountains surrounding Kingston's Liguanea Plains. Bird Watcher's Paradise/ Artist's Haven. The cool hills surrounding this upper St. Andrew home nurture a year-round verdant view, with the lush, untamed hillsides providing the perfect hideaway for over twenty species of local and migrant birds. But who's counting? The sheer joy of being awakened to nature's harmony creates the perfect setting of sights and sounds to inspire the creators of les beaux arts, the writers of poignant poetry and the composers of melodious music. Facilities and Amenities. Breakfast, which is included in your room rate, consists of Fresh Tropical Fruit, Juice, Freshly-brewed Authentic Jamaican Coffee, Assorted Teas, a Cooked Meal, Breads & Spreads. Our other facilities included in your room rate are free wireless internet and free covered parking on property. Our living spaces, and each of our 3 bedrooms, are fitted with basic bathroom amenities, and waffle robes are provided for each adult. We offer 1 King-sized or 2-Twin beds in each room, and although they are not en suite, each bedroom has its own bathroom. Additional Services. Do ask about our other services which can be provided on prior request and for an additional price. These include Airport Transfers, City Tours and other Transportation, Cellular Phone Rental, Business Services - including Editing, Personal Laundry, Dry Cleaning, Shoe Shine, Spa Services, Lunches, Dinners, Afternoon Tea and Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Neita's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neita's Nest Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing