We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

When we arrived in the early morning (8am), there was somebody who opend the door and we could stay there until our room was ready. It was all very clean especially the Bathrooms and dorms. I guess, It is the most famous hostel in Kingston and almost all who arrive in Kingston are staying there. There is a Backyard where with a bar and furniture where you can chill out. The staff was friendly and helpful, calling taxis and things like that. We could recommend the hostel, certainly.

Room Tip: We had a private room. It was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
35
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and everyone was so pleasant. It is very clean. The kitchen is small but I will stay there again. There were people from all over the world that were visiting there also. The location is great and very secure. I would recommend this place to people who want to really experience Kingston and Jamaica in general.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank za1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the hostel for two nights. The first one was great. The staff are mostly serious but they were nice enough. The common areas are nice and comfortable, specially the exterior ones. Everything seemed clean, and the bathrooms were well-kept. Be warned - I don't see how the bread and cereal made available is enough for a full-house, it makes one uneasy about having more than a slice of toast. If a big breakfast is important for you I suggest you buy your own foodstuffs. The second night we spent there, there was another guy managing the place and he seemed to have a permanently coarse and rough attitude. I never caught his name but we nicknamed him the "blue guy" because he wore a blue shirt, blue cap and jeans every time we saw him. We left after the second night and called that same day to reserve our three beds for when we came back two days later. They said it was fine. When we came back though - around 9pm and hungry- the "blue guy" greeted us with the news that the house was packed and there was only one bed available. He had nothing to answer as I questioned why they gave our beds away if we had already booked. He just stayed quiet and stared. He told us we could camp out if we didn't find a another place to stay and if we were willing but we were extremely tired from our trip through Cockpit Country and craved beds. We ended up finding a cheaper place, The Durham Hostel, that was just as nice and the people managing it were waaaaay friendlier. It was even better located. Either way over booking is unacceptable! You can't do that to people! I bet - that like us- most people that stay there are first timers that don't know anyone in Jamaica or how to get around. It is your responsibility to keep organized tabs on bookings and to honor them!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasNyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottygeneral, Owner at Reggae Hostel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! We regret that we were unable to accommodate you on your return and thank you for thinking highly enough of us to return in the first place. As I understand it, you called in a reservation and were advised that it was not a confirmed reservation and that a down payment or online booking would guarantee the booking. Without a guaranteed booking we must give preference to those who have made a deposit and guaranteed their booking. You arrived at 9pm on the night and perhaps if you had come earlier with the unconfirmed reservations things would have worked out better. Nevertheless, we regret that you had this experience with us. As for the particular staff member that you didn't find pleasant, I will take personal responsibility because he mainly has a security role for the nights and clearly we need to review the matter and address it urgently. Thanks for the kind words and I do recall on your first stay laughing and talking with you both and providing info..we will try to ensure that in future there is no misunderstanding regarding confirmed and unconfirmed bookings. Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is my second stay at the reggae hostel. Once again I had a great time, I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for helping to make my trip really memorable. I've recommended the hostel to my friends and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supacharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Far too expensive for what it offers.
Staff was ok , pleasant enough , however, I wouldn't say they offer exceptional service - the orientation offered on arrival was not altogether helpful. It was more like ' here's the and here's that' whirlwind tour.
You'd think at that price towels would have been provided.

We had asked for two beds in private room which we got but didn't reckon on they being bunk beds !
Shower rooms - generally needing some updating. One of the shower rooms doesn't have any curtain on the window so no privacy !
Rooms basic - no sinks, no mirrors. Wall mounted noisy fan .
Siting room -the only sofa available and was being used by someone sleeping in the afternoon. .

Smokers gather in an area near to the rooms that has chairs and table provided and the awful smell of cigarettes soon becomes pervasive into the bedroom from the courtyard .

They take ages to let one in as the gate is locked which is no bad thing but only wish they were prompt when the bell's. rung !
I wouldn't say that it was particularly central or that close to amenities and shops. The hostal is in a very quiet ,too quiet residential area and its advisable to take a taxi at night .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NearlyThere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottygeneral, Owner at Reggae Hostel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, however I believe your expectations may be tainted by the fact that you are under the mistaken impression that you booked a private room. What you booked and received was our 2 bed dorm. Dorms don't come with towels while private rooms do. Also all private rooms are airconditioned. We have only been in business for 18 months so we do have things that we need to perfect. You did arrive in an extremely busy period and at a moment perhaps where a more methodical tour of our small hostel was difficult, also many travellers arrive tired and want to get settled quickly. We are keenly aware of this so we try and help our guests get settled and placed in their abode quickly and then allow them an opportunity to see us at the front desk when they are refreshed so that we can be of further assistance. I hope you are aware that we provide free breakfast, wi-fi, computers, free phone calls, 22 hour front desk assistance and a Kitchen for you to use. We also may have failed to make you aware of how central our location really is. One look at the map indicates that we are in the very center of the greater Kingston area. We also have the largest taxi service in Jamaica situated just next door. The area is semi residential yet less than 10 minutes walk to Half Way Tree (the parish capital) which hosts the largest transportation centre in Jamaica and the largest shopping area uptown. It's also,15-20mins walk to Devon House and 35 minutes to Bob Marley Museum.
Hopefully one day you will return so that we have an opportunity to highlight the areas of value that you missed. Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My Jamaican experience was from hostel, hotel, up to all exclusive resort, and to be honest Reggae Hostel was the best choice and deffinitely my first place for the future stay. Hostel is very good located in New Kingston, close to all important places and walking distance from it. Stuff was sooo professional, friendly and more than helpful. I arrived with my friend after 9pm, and the bar they have outside was the only thing we needed after long and hot day we had. Rooms are big enough for all we needed and for all our stuff (and we had a bunch). They gave us clean, nice soft sheets and we had couple fans in the room! And the toast,coffee and smiles in the morning were great surprise! I've already told all my friends about my great experience first in Jamaica and after hostel :) I will come back for sure and hopefully bring more friends. Continue like that, great place and even better people.

p.s. Your culture, food and music is amazing!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 beds and 6 beds rooms and both were great. Only reason why 4 beds room-you have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesnipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

There is nothing bad to say about the raggae hostel! The staff is awesome and nice. They always have good advice, and try to help you out with whatever your problem is. They are from jamaica so they know the area. It is very safe! At one time a taxi driver came on the property and it only took a couple minutes till the security guard got him off the property. The hostel is protected by a big electric gate. And there is always someone there to let you in even when u get back late at night. Scotty, the owner took us out one night and showed us downtown. Excellent personnel there! And free coffee and bread in the morning. Free wireless and 2 computers are also provided. Nice bar with good prices and a chill out area are in the backyard. The hostel is very clean and our room had AC.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0952082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
1.4 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Property: Reggae Hostel
Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing