We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I had a great time, good staff, room was nice and clean and not far from important places like: supermakert, restaurants, bus station and parks. Breakfast was good and also they have a very nice area in the backyard, perfect to have drinks before party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loyamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
36
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The reggae hostel is a great place to stay in Kingston. You feel welcome and very safe.
The staff is so friendly and helpful. The beds, rooms and common areas are clean and you can chill out in the hammocks or in the sofas.

Go see Kingston and stay at the Reggae Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Reggae House Hostel is an easy place to spend a few days or a few weeks. It is comfortable, spacious, and located near a main travel hub for taxis and buses throughout the city. Surrounded by a walled-in lot with security gate, the property feels open and relaxed, yet secured and safe. Scottie and Vana are like family, and they keep the guesthouse clean, lighthearted, and comfortable. Simple breakfast is provided, and guests have access to the kitchen. There are also several desktop computers for guests to use, as well as wifi access in common areas. Points of interest are within walking distance or a short cab or bus ride, including Bob Marley Museum, Devon House, Emancipation Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I felt so safe. There was security guard at the night, you dont have to worry about something would happens in the night time. Backyard, was so beautiful! It has the bar, kiddie pool and seats to sitting down and chill. The bed was clean, they would provide the clean sheets. It has the computers and WiFi also. I enjoyed the free breakfast and took a nap on the hammock.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavipeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

When we arrived in the early morning (8am), there was somebody who opend the door and we could stay there until our room was ready. It was all very clean especially the Bathrooms and dorms. I guess, It is the most famous hostel in Kingston and almost all who arrive in Kingston are staying there. There is a Backyard where with a bar and furniture where you can chill out. The staff was friendly and helpful, calling taxis and things like that. We could recommend the hostel, certainly.

Room Tip: We had a private room. It was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and everyone was so pleasant. It is very clean. The kitchen is small but I will stay there again. There were people from all over the world that were visiting there also. The location is great and very secure. I would recommend this place to people who want to really experience Kingston and Jamaica in general.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank za1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the hostel for two nights. The first one was great. The staff are mostly serious but they were nice enough. The common areas are nice and comfortable, specially the exterior ones. Everything seemed clean, and the bathrooms were well-kept. Be warned - I don't see how the bread and cereal made available is enough for a full-house, it makes one uneasy about having more than a slice of toast. If a big breakfast is important for you I suggest you buy your own foodstuffs. The second night we spent there, there was another guy managing the place and he seemed to have a permanently coarse and rough attitude. I never caught his name but we nicknamed him the "blue guy" because he wore a blue shirt, blue cap and jeans every time we saw him. We left after the second night and called that same day to reserve our three beds for when we came back two days later. They said it was fine. When we came back though - around 9pm and hungry- the "blue guy" greeted us with the news that the house was packed and there was only one bed available. He had nothing to answer as I questioned why they gave our beds away if we had already booked. He just stayed quiet and stared. He told us we could camp out if we didn't find a another place to stay and if we were willing but we were extremely tired from our trip through Cockpit Country and craved beds. We ended up finding a cheaper place, The Durham Hostel, that was just as nice and the people managing it were waaaaay friendlier. It was even better located. Either way over booking is unacceptable! You can't do that to people! I bet - that like us- most people that stay there are first timers that don't know anyone in Jamaica or how to get around. It is your responsibility to keep organized tabs on bookings and to honor them!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasNyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottygeneral, Owner at Reggae Hostel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! We regret that we were unable to accommodate you on your return and thank you for thinking highly enough of us to return in the first place. As I understand it, you called in a reservation and were advised that it was not a confirmed reservation and that a down payment or online booking would guarantee the booking. Without a guaranteed booking we must give preference to those who have made a deposit and guaranteed their booking. You arrived at 9pm on the night and perhaps if you had come earlier with the unconfirmed reservations things would have worked out better. Nevertheless, we regret that you had this experience with us. As for the particular staff member that you didn't find pleasant, I will take personal responsibility because he mainly has a security role for the nights and clearly we need to review the matter and address it urgently. Thanks for the kind words and I do recall on your first stay laughing and talking with you both and providing info..we will try to ensure that in future there is no misunderstanding regarding confirmed and unconfirmed bookings. Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
823 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Property: Reggae Hostel
Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing