We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set Out From Home”
Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hill City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Set Out From Home”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

One could respectably remain on the premises and just hang out with all the other travelers. Being the vast minority in Kingston, guests rejuvenate at the hostel bar and patio and swap stories from the field. Or, you could catch up on keeping in touch with loved ones via the free internet kiosks or WiFi. But even the most weary soul will eventually answer the call of Kingston's undeniable energy, and tips from those who've been there a day or more are invaluable.

The staff is friendly* and very helpful in directing you toward your adventure du jour. They have a board posting the different events going on that week, and will do what it takes to help you attend safely. We quickly formed a group of friends and decided on Rae Town (look it up) one night, and the staff arranged a safe, inexpensive ride there and back, picking us up at the hostel.

Nice kitchen, included basic breakfast, off-street parking, close to markets and vendors, safe, social environment- everything you need from a hostel. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is regarding the * above... Upon arrival, we were greeted at the gate by a gentleman on duty with a less than warm welcome, to put it nicely, and one day the cleaning lady was rude to guests. They both were great the rest of the time, so we disregarded it as them having a bad day. Still, guests should always be treated with respect unless they warrant otherwise (which we didn't).

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Kingston.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
35
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Ideal base to explore Kingston. Hostel is very secure and in a quiet location. Rooms basic but v clean, great backpacker/ young couple accomodation. Nights out organised to street parties from front desk, though we didn't have time to do this. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimnem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great service, you feel safe and welcome from the moment you walk in. Is near supermarket, parrks restaurants. They have a really nice bar , and have a personnel always willing to help you. The place is really clean, the beds comfortable. The open areas are just amazing, there's WIFI almost in the hole place. You get to know people from everywhere wich is interesting, the owner make you feel like family and always trying to make you feel as happy as you can be. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: 6th beds room is the one with the best wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blusimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I had a great time, good staff, room was nice and clean and not far from important places like: supermakert, restaurants, bus station and parks. Breakfast was good and also they have a very nice area in the backyard, perfect to have drinks before party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loyamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The reggae hostel is a great place to stay in Kingston. You feel welcome and very safe.
The staff is so friendly and helpful. The beds, rooms and common areas are clean and you can chill out in the hammocks or in the sofas.

Go see Kingston and stay at the Reggae Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Reggae House Hostel is an easy place to spend a few days or a few weeks. It is comfortable, spacious, and located near a main travel hub for taxis and buses throughout the city. Surrounded by a walled-in lot with security gate, the property feels open and relaxed, yet secured and safe. Scottie and Vana are like family, and they keep the guesthouse clean, lighthearted, and comfortable. Simple breakfast is provided, and guests have access to the kitchen. There are also several desktop computers for guests to use, as well as wifi access in common areas. Points of interest are within walking distance or a short cab or bus ride, including Bob Marley Museum, Devon House, Emancipation Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I felt so safe. There was security guard at the night, you dont have to worry about something would happens in the night time. Backyard, was so beautiful! It has the bar, kiddie pool and seats to sitting down and chill. The bed was clean, they would provide the clean sheets. It has the computers and WiFi also. I enjoyed the free breakfast and took a nap on the hammock.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavipeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
1.4 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Property: Reggae Hostel
Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing