We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel!”
Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Cheap and good place to stay. Just for a night, or longer! Very clean and relax! Everything you would expect from a hostel! Breakfast is simple, but good! Can recommend this place!
The place had no signs at the gate, so it is hard to find on your own, but all taxi drivers seem to know the place. There's a taxi place next door, which is perfect for trips from the hostel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
36
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

As lots of other guests, I booked just for a couple nights but stayed longer and came back. Even though the place lacks some shade & confort in the yard - but work in progress - everybody's around just act friendly, socialize and get together. So you'll have a very good time. The staff is so friendly with Zana Nolife Withoutmusic spreading her joy all over and Scotty very helpful to tell where to go and how. Reggae Hostel is the place to be if you want to party in Kingston !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronikroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I spent seven weeks last summer in Kingston. I planned on staying a few nights at the Reggae Hostel while I looked for an apartment. However, I immediately fell in love with the hostel staff and it's overall vibe that I decided to spend my entire summer there. I had a remarkable summer staying at the centrally-located hostel, where the surroundings were always kept clean, I always felt safe, and I met so many interesting people passing through. I could not recommend this place enough to anyone traveling through Kingston.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottenehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed there for about a week, and enjoyed my stay there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They explained where everything was, and how to get there. They recommended places to go in the evenings as well.

The general atmosphere inside the hostel was very good. People would interact together, planning things and going out together.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

One could respectably remain on the premises and just hang out with all the other travelers. Being the vast minority in Kingston, guests rejuvenate at the hostel bar and patio and swap stories from the field. Or, you could catch up on keeping in touch with loved ones via the free internet kiosks or WiFi. But even the most weary soul will eventually answer the call of Kingston's undeniable energy, and tips from those who've been there a day or more are invaluable.

The staff is friendly* and very helpful in directing you toward your adventure du jour. They have a board posting the different events going on that week, and will do what it takes to help you attend safely. We quickly formed a group of friends and decided on Rae Town (look it up) one night, and the staff arranged a safe, inexpensive ride there and back, picking us up at the hostel.

Nice kitchen, included basic breakfast, off-street parking, close to markets and vendors, safe, social environment- everything you need from a hostel. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is regarding the * above... Upon arrival, we were greeted at the gate by a gentleman on duty with a less than warm welcome, to put it nicely, and one day the cleaning lady was rude to guests. They both were great the rest of the time, so we disregarded it as them having a bad day. Still, guests should always be treated with respect unless they warrant otherwise (which we didn't).

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Kingston.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Ideal base to explore Kingston. Hostel is very secure and in a quiet location. Rooms basic but v clean, great backpacker/ young couple accomodation. Nights out organised to street parties from front desk, though we didn't have time to do this. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimnem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, null, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great service, you feel safe and welcome from the moment you walk in. Is near supermarket, parrks restaurants. They have a really nice bar , and have a personnel always willing to help you. The place is really clean, the beds comfortable. The open areas are just amazing, there's WIFI almost in the hole place. You get to know people from everywhere wich is interesting, the owner make you feel like family and always trying to make you feel as happy as you can be. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: 6th beds room is the one with the best wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blusimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Property: Reggae Hostel
Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing