We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough!”
Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here back in the summer of 2012 and it was a wonderful surprise. The hostel is clean and spacious and perfect for those who want to venture off the beaten path in Jamaica and get away from the tourist traps. The staff are friendly, Scotty is especially nice and helpful. Bar is well stocked and drinks were not weak like other bars in Jamaica. Breakfast was basic and the coffee ran out before I could grab a cup. A bit annoying as there is nowhere nearby to grab something so I went hungry until I ventured out to half way tree. Half way tree is a 10 minute walk from the hostel and here you can find everything you need. I loved halfway tree, such a wonderful atmosphere and great people.

There was no pool when I was there which was a shame because I would have spent much longer on the premises if there had been. I used to get bored so I would be out and about constantly.

The only real con I could give was that I was placed in a room with a much older man and being a young female,I found this very uncomfortable. I think more effort should be made to ensure same sex quarters are provided. It was fine, and I did feel safe but like I said, quite uncomfortable.

I am hoping to return to reggae hostel this summer for a very short stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golden_Simma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
36
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on two separate occasions & I've to say this is one of my best hostel experiences. It is a real hostel designed for backpackers & laid back people with a nice & relaxing outdoor area. The hostel is located on a side street with no sign on the door & not all taxi drivers know it, so you have to ask them to go to Burlington ave & then continue till you find a big green gate.
The hostel itself is well maintained, clean & with amazing atmosphere & people. I stayed in a private room with a private bath & it was clean, organized & of good size. The bathroom also was clean & everything worked well. The best thing about this hostel is its outdoor area which was very quiet & relaxing and you'll meet great fellow backpackers there. The staff are very helpful & always provide suggestions & advice & really understands the needs & the true culture of backpacking. The kitchen is a bit small but it has everything you need to prepare your food.
All in all, this hostel was one of the highlights of my trip to Jamaica & I would definitely recommend it to any fellow backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here twice, when we arrived and the night before our departure.
The hostel has everything you need; a bar, kitchen, free breakfast, taxi's nextdoor, internet, etc.

Scotty pours a good drink, none of this european measures crap that i'm used to.

Staff were very friendly and helped thoroughly with directions, calling a taxi and general information.

The area is safe too, which i know alot of people worry about in kingston. We took public transport around kingston and walked freely.

Reggae hostel can't be beaten in kingston, i'm sure of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Excellent hostel that truly understands the backpacker ethic!! All the staff is extremely helpful, knowledgeable about the area and can advise on plans to explore the rest of the island. Safe walking in daytime, close to grocery and a few restaurants. Walking distance to Halfway Tree bus terminal. Owner, "Scotty" occasionally organizes outings to beaches and dub events. New second hostel in Ocho Rios bound to be a great success. Excellent place to meet other travelers! Bar in the back is a great social hub! A must stay in Kingston!

Room Tip: The cheapest dorm has only a fan - sleep close to it or pay a few extra dollars for smaller dorm wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokinggun0759
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When i stay in kingston i never stayed in a hostel. i went to guest house . This is first time i would do a hostel in Kingston and second in Jamaica overall. the place was great. great house and rooms despite being small were ok clean and bed was comfortable.the breakfast was just tea and bread with condensed milk. but ok. U can get around Kingston by foot, and bus. Scotty was cool. most of staff ok. Free use of computer , and phone calls local. They did have a blow up pool to sit in also when iw as there in spring. people i saw in tents outside in a large yard and a bar area to chiil out. they had a cat. great cat. ziggy and was great to not hear a woman yaking at u as i did in hotel i stayed in and also that baggage always a issue in guest house in Kingston. usualy accomodating people to have sex with women. A reasonable price and right near the Stone love headquaters...new.. location...

Room Tip: i didnot stay in a private room. they have one in back near bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokinggun0759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Scotty and Xana really make the hostel a special place. They make every effort to take you around to places where you can experience the real Kingston. Alternatively they will make suggestions to ensure your stay is memorable. Kingston is like all cities, there is good and bad but you will be advised thoughtfully.

Full respect to Scotty and Xana.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsanghera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

To a hostel in Kingston Jamaica... Crazy, you say? I was having similar thoughts myself honestly. But then when I arrived, they all dissipated. Scotty, the owner, welcomed me warmly and made sure I got all settled and comfortable. The room was safe and clean, everyone was so friendly and from all corners of the earth. I woke up the next day to a complimentary breakfast and some of the best coffee I've ever had. The location is ideal, the price can't be beat, and the company was marvelous. Even if you can afford to stay somewhere else, you won't have an experience like this anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyMontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Property: Reggae Hostel
Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing