We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find”
Review of Reggae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reggae Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

it was difficult to get there since there are no signs or whatsoever. a little too noisy, but the staff was very nice and has nearby restaurants that can serve good takeout jamaican vegetarian food.
good for the price you pay, quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jotapiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Reggae Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Reggae hostel meets all the expectations that a hostel must have. Well located in the city, clean, nice rooms and dorms, clean and equipped kitchen, and good social atmosphere. Besides all this the people working on it is very friendly and helpful. It helped to make our Kingston experience unique.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jafuster F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Super basic, but decent. if you are looking for a low budget yet relaibale place and if you desire meeting young people from all around than thats your place.
the staff is very nice and hellpful.
location is not so good. no supermarkets in walking distant, walking to any place nearby is 10 minutes. at the day time very hot at night gotta take a taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocogelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly people, always a big smile. Clean hostel, always willing to help you out. On Sunday we had a free BBQ, which was great. The atmosphere is easygoing, a good stay for a good price. You can park your car for free, it's easy to find with your GPS. The kittens were cute too..;)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my first time staying in a hostel and my second time travelling alone. I must say this hostel surpassed my expectations BY FAR! It took a while to find the place in the dark, and there was a bit of mix up with my reservation (not the fault of the hostel) but I was quickly accomodated. I got settled in quickly and Zana showed me around and told me where everything was. The hostel was very homely and comfortable and I immediately felt like I was at home. That night I was a bit cold and the sheet I had wasn't quite enough to keep me warm so I just threw on a sweater. The next morning there was coffee, toast and cereal which was enough to hold me down for a few hours. Half way tree is a very close distance to walk and it was very safe (especially when walking with others). It is not recommended to walk alone at night and don't carry too much money on you. Many restaurants nearby and cabs were always available. The washrooms, kitchen, and common area were very clean. I met a lot of interesting and cool people on my trip. Scotty, Zana, and Ramone made my stay very enjoyable and comfortable and there was a sense of belonging. I did not want to leave!! Lots to do, and if you want to do nothing, (which was what I did) it was very comfortable sit around idle and listen to music. Having WIFI was a major bonus as I was able to keep in touch with my family and friends back home who were worrying about me! All in all, I had an amazing time, met some wonderful people, and definitely plan on going back soon! Thank you Reggae Hostel!

Room Tip: I stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all fine. I particularly liked the private garden view r...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

excellent place to stay in Kingston, great staff making you feel like being part of the family, great place to meet new friends... services, cleaniness etc are on standard hostel level, would come again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Reggae Hostel in Kingston and at the newly opened Ocho Rios location. We had an incredible time. The facilities are very clean, and you have access to wifi, a computer, a bar, kitchen, free coffee, etc. Most importantly, you really get warm 'family" experience. The hostel promotes a friendly and open environment. Scotty, the hostel owner, and the entire staff are always accessible, super helpful and incredibly kind— you always feel well taken care of. A great place to find the insider scoop on traveling through Jamaica and an honest take on what to do/what not to do on your travels. Fully recommended —ANGIE

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angiepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Hostel

Address: 8 Burlington Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range: £13 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reggae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of the Greater Kingston Area, Reggae Hostel offers a comfortable and secure environment with easy access to attractions, beaches, surfing, culture, cuisine, clubs, pubs, parties, recording studios and restaurants. The hostel is conveniently situated only 10 minutes walk from the Half way Tree which is the largest commercial district in Jamaica boasting the most modern transportation center. The property is suitable for young and outgoing travellers who are interested in meeting people and getting an authentic taste of the fantastic culture of kingston, the birthplace of reggae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Reggae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Hostel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing