We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but could do with update” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knutsford Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service but could do with update”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was my third time at the knutsford. The hotel is conveniently located, near busstops for down down and half-way tree transportation centre. The staff provides excellent service. I was again given a room upgrade. Complaints about a broken air conditioning and hairdryer and balcony doors that did not open we're immediately and efficiently dealt with. While the rooms have been renovated in recent years (new furniture, flat screen tv etc), the public areas are in need of updating. When I left the breakfast And dining area was undergoing constrution work. I sincerely hope that they will install lifts in this and other buildings as the hotel is currently not suitable for wheelchair users. Nevertheless I will be happy to stay again at the kuntsford In the future as its staff make it a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roodkapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    182
    104
    42
    23
See reviews for
74
68
59
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richlandtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Arrived earlier than schedule due to flights. Front desk was very relaxed and accomdating. Being an early rise (4:30 am) I had access to the gym and I was able to practice my Tai Chi outside on the lawn. My ideal start of the day.,
Oxtail Tail at the Melting Pot restaurantt is mandatory for any guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gphenry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is awesome with great customer service and the room I stayed in was magnificent.....Also the restaurant called the melting pot have the best food the jerk chicken was the bomb!!!!!! The room rate was economical satisfy........................................

Room Tip: The rooms over the check-in or reservation section are very lovely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Park
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I've just returned from a family vacation in Jamaica and I was very disappointed with the Knutsford Court Hotel. My grandparents were robbed in their hotel room on the very first night. After eating at the hotel restaurant, my grandparents felt unusually tired and both fell asleep in bed. In the middle of the night, my grandmother woke up and entered the bathroom to find her purse, originally on the bedstand, now upside down in the bathroom sink and missing all of their cash, their camera and cell phone.

The hotel did contact the police but did not comp their hotel stay. Instead, they offered extra nights but my family refused.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank charmedlifetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Barbados
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have just spent 6 nights in the this hotel and found it to be nice and clean. The hotel is a short walk to Half Way Tree and a bus at the end of the road will take you Downtown and places like National Gallery and Institute of Jamaica. Not for the faint hearted but I was with a local guide.

We had a room with 2 double beds which were a bit soft for my liking but comfortable enough. The room was air conditioned and there was a small balcony overlooking the hotel entrance. Everything was very clean and we always returned to a nice room at the end of the day. Continental breakfast was included in the rate and it was adequate. Cereals, Toast, Fruit, Sausages and Scrambled egg. There was also an a la carte meny but I never looked at this. By the pool there is also a bar where you can get snacks and smaller meals; these were alwasy tasty. I never ate in the restaurant at night.

I could see that not having a lift might be a pain for someone with walking difficulties. Also the wi-fi signal in the rooms wasn't very strong and I would have preferred this was better. My room had a fridge but again I would have preferred to have a kettle and tea and coffee. I'm not sure how some of the other suites are kitted out.

The staff were very friendly and always helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel when visiting Kingston.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BajanDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel was nice but without elevators!We had to go up and down from the stairs every time we were at the lobby (which was the only place with wi-fi) and we wanted something that was in the room.The person who carried the luggages told us that the tap water isn't potable (later we found out that it was).The breakfast had only 5 things to eat and after 10 minutes they were all eaten.The brought again food to refill the plates after 15 minutes!Only the yoghurt was nice.I wouldn't stay again there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnysKopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff are great, polite and helpful. The hotel is clean and the food is great. The only problem with this hotel is the food takes a long time to arrive AND there are no lifts. No other faults.

Room Tip: Get a room that is attached to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Property: The Knutsford Court Hotel
Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing