We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We moved here after spending a night in a B&B without managing to get much sleep because of road noise combined with dogs etc. so we were hoping for a quiet place to rest our heads. We were not disappointed. Sure if we wanted to find things wrong we could have found some, but the only thing that really let it down was the breakfast. Self service buffet was included in the price, it was perfectly adequate but in comparison to the rest of the experience it fell short. The staff were really helpful and ultra polite, clean room, very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymadChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

Recently stayed as part of a business trip for just one night after staying at a few other hotels as part of the trip hence ended up making a mental comparison. Overall its a sprawling property and has the potential to be a top rung hotel. Rooms are clean without being amazing - lacks now commonplace amenities like coffee maker with coffee/condiments, complimentary water bottles, bath tub. Staff courteous but lack the warmth and smile I experienced in other hotels in Jamaica. Restaurant lacks variety on the menu card. Overall for the price charged, there are better hotels around, but they have the right location and huge real estate - an effort to renovate, replan and relaunch may not be such a bad idea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indrajitc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

On a touring holiday, we were recommended this hotel as a safe and decent place to spend a couple of nights in Kingston en route to somewhere else. It was adequate for this purpose. It was away from traffic noise and crowds, had a secure car park, OK identikit rooms and pleasant landscaped courtyard, but it utterly lacked character or charm. The people at the front desk were disengaged, the food at the restaurant was a mediocre and over-priced attempt at international cuisine, there was noise from the corridor at night, information on attractions, tours, etc. was virtually non-existent, and the swimming pool was very small and overlooked on all sides (on the way to/from bar and restaurant, inter alia - not the place for a middle-aged woman to swim lengths). The establishment's main business seems to be day conferences or visiting groups, and independent travellers do not seem to be valued. I would not choose it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was at the Knutsford in the first week of November for a business trip and the staff really helped make everything come so well without any hitches. Mr. Curry (not sure if it's the right spelling) and team really did a fantastic job with helping so many of us (Canadian school representatives) get setup for our big fair. Then there was the staff at the Melting Pot who went above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable dining experience. This was my second trip to Knutsford and I'd definitely go back just because of how great the staff was to me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeEnkounters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a business associate and we are still talking - but just. Actually, the room was plain but clean. The bed was comfortable. There was no WiFi but an ethernet cable was available and worked well. You will need to buy bottled water from the kiosk beside the front desk. There was a constant mechanical noise from outside the window but it was constant. Noise from the corridor was above average. Water pressure in the shower is low and the temp is warm - but bearable, you just won't get 'hot'. The hotel pool is small but it was open early for lengths. The hotel restaurant serves a limited hot breakfast (included). I had dinner with a colleague. Entrees were tasty, but portions were a bit skimpy and missing a vegetable side. Service was very slow. Walking about is not recommended in this area and there are no nearby shops. All in all, no 'disasters' but you can do better for the money.

Room Tip: Room facing the front of the hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at the Knutsford Court Hotel 2 weeks ago and found it OK. My room was clean and the cable had good choices...and that is about it. The Internet access was hit or miss. The wireless didn't work in my room. I had to go to the lobby to access the wireless. The wireline access was slow and unacceptable for doing any voice communication.

I had the breakfast buffet....pass on it. If you're hungry it won't satisfy and you pay too much for what you get. There are no places within walking distance for eating alternatives.

Outside my window was an obnoxiously loud fan system which prevented me from getting into a REM sleep the whole week..

The price was reasonable, but I would look much harder for an alternative next time I go to Jamaica

Room Tip: ask to not be by the ridiculously loud fan outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurgidCelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Service overall desires improvement. Hotel had pool renovation going on. That's ok, but give us a warning. Dust, constructoin sounds in the morning. Just politeness at front desk doesn't justify $140 per room in such area. No elevators to 2nd floor rooms, and nobody to help you with luggage! Seriously? You park by gate, and nobody greets you there to help with your suitcases, you are expected to lug them to front desk. And again nobody ? They just waive to next building :"there is your room", and they don't ask whether you need help, there are no porters in sight, nobody is concerned whether you have energy after long flight to carry your own suitcases to what equals up 3rd floor stairwell.

Water pressure in a SMALL room is abysmal, luke warm water dribbling out of shower head. Once again, not worth money, I am not staying in Kingston in this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregR11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £102 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IBC Hospitality, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing