We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When I found that I could not be in the Spanish Court for one night I was booked into the Knutsford Court. I looked it up on the internet and was excited at the prospect of the oasis like ambience and the newly redecorated rooms. I was disappointed with the reality when I arrived and made my way to my room past many doors in need of some upgrade or even just refinishing and painting.
The room was spacious and newly painted but the carpet was old and tired and where it was cut at the doors it was unfinished showing the threads as it was cut too short. The television was a very new flat screen but unfortunately was no better than a radio as I was able to get audio only on every channel. The dinning room / bar staff were pleasant and helpful and the food fair although the breakfast did give the feel of high volume activity at a three star hotel.
My morning started off badly as whilst the bathroom tiling and fixtures were fresh and appeared relatively new the upgrade had not extended to hot water and the shower could not even muster lukewarm water.
Wifi is provided and the staff did even provide a second password for an additional device. It was a shame that the signal was poor in the bar and in my room which was at the end of a corridor to the extent that I was unable to make a Skype call and for e-mail had to re-join regularly.
All the above apart the location was good.

Room Tip: There appears to be better wifi connectivity in rooms nearer the stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    189
    108
    45
    23
See reviews for
78
71
63
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Reception desk staff kept myself & my wife waiting over half an hour before booking us in. Keeping in mind only two people were in front of us. A 9 hr flight & 5 hrs on the rd. this was the last thing we needed! They are unprofessional & very very very slow!
Our room was next to air con generator which rumbled loud as hell! Each morning the staff chatted loudly & we had to endure constant ringing of their mobile phones!
The room was average. The pool ok other than them playing loud music most of the time. So we couldn't relax!
Door man & garden staff were lovely. Canteen staff also very nice.
The Reception desk staff suffer from dilutions of power, bless them.
We stayed there last year. This year we are going else where.
Jamaican room standards are low compared with a good tourist/business hotel in the UK. We understand this, but staff at the Knutsford need dropping on their heads. Then & only then they may understand good manners!i

Room Tip: If you suffer from asthma or chest infections, beware! The air con is noisy and dirty. Dose up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were in Jamaica as a large group for at wedding at the same time as carnival and the Knutsford court did their best to accommodate the large group. Are over all stay was great! My only complaint is that the "bar" area could have been larger. Also the pool could have been a little larger as well. And to no fault of the hotel, there isn't a lot to see or do within walking distance. If we are ever in Kingston again, we will defiantly go back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy33Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attended a conference at this facility for two days. The hotel provides excellent conference facilities and good catering services with tasty meals especially the morning breakfast. The hotel staff which included the servers were always pleasant and professional and ensured that you had your fill.

Two issues that were not to my satisfaction was the noisy air condition compressor which was audible the entire night and which did not allow me to have a good night's rest. Next was the unprofessional attitude displayed by the front desk staff (not all). One of our conference colleagues was moved from her room while we were at session and she was not informed. Later when she approached the front desk, she was met with a non-caring attitude especially with the way she was responded to. Overall I believed that the front desk staff were inflexible to the needs of the conference group.

Besides this everything was good. I am not too sure whether I would stay at this facility in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms tend to be cramped and the aisles seem too tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant personnel n friendly. Food tastes good wish. Just had one issue with a girl at front desk. Overall comfortable. They have internet and there are restaurants close by. Mostly fast food restaurants. A famous jerk restaurant just around the corner

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank daniepookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is okay however the bathrooms could be a bit larger. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean both inside and outside. It is a nice hotel to host Weddings and other functions. There is 24 hours security and great parking facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the Knutsford last weekend. We were a bit skeptical because of some of the reviews, but our stay was great. We arrived in Kingston about midnight, but were checked in quickly and the bell hop carried our bags up to the fourth floor (there are no elevators). The room itself was clean and sufficient. Our room overlooked the parking lot, so there was a bit of noise in the morning with cars and other hotel guests but nothing too disruptive. We had also selected the breakfast option, we had hoped for a Jamaican breakfast, but it was a continental spread - delish nontheless. For those interested you can also convert currencies at the front desk- which was very convenient. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Property: The Knutsford Court Hotel
Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing