We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs work.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shirley Retreat House
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a missions trip. The majority of staff was very nice. My problem was with the housekeeping staff. Definitely needs work with customer service, and ethics. We had a blast though. Wish you all had a pool, or closer to water. Beautiful place though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Shirley Retreat House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

My daughter and I spent 12 days at this island escape. The property has definitely seen better days but it is impeccably kept and it is peopled by personable individuals. It is not very touristy but the property sits in the center of everything worth doing in Kingston. The room we stayed in was cleaned every day but the best part is that the bed linens were changed everyday. There is a neat little bookstore two blocks west of the property on Hope Road that houses all the West Indian literature my heart desired; there is Devon House Ice Cream Parlour located about a mile and a half from the property and then the Bob Marley Museum is a stone's throw away in the opposite direction. For $100 Jamaican or $1 U.S. a taxi (carries more than just one passenger which makes its operation more like a commuter bus) we visited, shopped and dined at the Sovereign plaza which is a place that is similar to a mall but operated on a much smaller scale. One of the island's major business and party hub, New Kingston, is about five minutes away. Half-Way Tree is also five minutes away and here you can find Tastees Patties, banks, plazas, supermarkets etc.

The absolutely best part about all this, however, is that after a harrowing day out battling the heat, Shirley's Retreat lives up to its name with the welcome from the workers and air conditioned rooms. There is a verandah where we have dined many mornings. The kitchen staff serves breakfast but Jamaican breakfast may be ordered from the day before; buttered toast, eggs and coffee/tea is available every morning. This is a perfect place to stay if you have a lot planned to do off property. My daughter and I enjoyed our time there and we plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Location wise, it was a good choice as it was quite close to the US Embassy and especially within walking distance to the Devon House and the Bob Marley Museum. The staff were polite and friendly and the rooms were clean. If you order food well in advance, they would prepare all three meals as per your liking.
However, our experience would have been better if there was a water dispenser at the dinning area or a water heater in the room. Because, every time we needed water, we got to go down and get it from the front desk. So, if you are concerned about such things, this may not be the place for you to stay. However, in my opinion, it was a good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirinT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed 10 days, sheets never changed for that whole period...maids just made the beds everyday...the sheets were very dusty! Room had no iron, had to run up n down to the eating area to get hot water for tea or coffee. No water dispensers, I had drank water form the tap just to take pills by emergency and ended up getting sick the whole 10 days there in Jamaica :( The guy there was really helpful though...Had to ask to turn on the hot water to bathe every morning n evening...When leaving the lady at the desk just stared at me really cold when I requested help to bring my suitcase down the stairs b/c it was too heavy for me to handle! 10 mins later, someone came to help :S Overall...will not reccommend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SajiBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have read all of the reviews and I just cannot relate the high ratings to the place where I stayed this week. Yes, the location is good: it is a very short walk from the Bob Marley museum and Devon House (in the opposite direction). It is along a main bus route and it is a very quiet side street. Our room was a “deluxe” and it was quiet but that was about it. The deluxe room offered to full sized beds rather than two twins and it had a fridge. It was a large room but there was only the beds, one night stand and a dresser so the size made no difference. The bathroom needed work. There was a lot of rust and the shower was just a drip. If you soaped yourself down it was difficult to rinse off. Breakfast was included and ok, but the coffee was instant and the food was ok consisting of an egg and toast. I just think that some people may be very disappointed after reading the reviews unless we got a very marginal room in an otherwise very nice place. Yes, the people that we encountered were friendly, no problem there but it really the place is ok – nothing more. We did feel safe and as I said the location was very good so for a one night stay and able to walk to some of the sights it is fine but it was not great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanadianIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is an awesome guest house!. Clean, safe, comfortable, excellent location, and ideal for lodgings. From the front desk, to housekeeping, to kitchen and security wonderful service. You are greeted daily with genuine smiles and willing attitudes to make your stay memorable. A special thanks to Ms, S. Burke, Ms. D. Blackwood, Mr. W. Robinson, Mr. G. Rowe and Mr. C. Griffiths. You guys and ladies are the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Shirley Retreat House is a pleasant guesthouse. It's warm tangerine color is inviting. It is located in a quiet residential area, but less than a mile walk from Devon House in one direction and the Bob Marley Museum in the other. You can easily walk to those places or walk to Hope Road and take a bus. There is a small parking lot in front. It comes with a complimentary breakfast, which consisted of whole wheat toast, eggs made to order and instant coffee or tea. You can eat in the small, pleasant inside restaurant, or opt for sitting out on the front patio. If you want to have lunch there, you need to tell them ahead of time. There is wi-fi access in the lobby and on the front patio, but not in the restaurant or rooms. Our room was large, clean and had air conditioning. The rooms are on the second floor, and there is no elevator. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, but not knowledgeable of the restaurants within walking distance. They recommended TGI Fridays, which is only 2 blocks away, but we were interested in something more local. Also, there are no brochures of things to do, like most hotels have, so you are on your own to decide what you will do. But who needs brochures or touristy ads, when you have Trip Advisor! The guesthouse desk clerk will call you a taxi and ask the company what the charge will be for you. We were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.9 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prestige
Hotel Prestige
#17 of 25 in Kingston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indies Hotel
Indies Hotel
#14 of 25 in Kingston
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Retreat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Retreat House

Address: 7 Maeven Ave, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirley Retreat House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shirley Retreat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Retreat House Hotel Kingston
Shirley Retreat Hotel
Shirley Retreat House Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing