We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I remember when we used to sit in the government yard in Trenchtown ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trench Town

Trench Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Kingston City Tour
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I remember when we used to sit in the government yard in Trenchtown ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Alongside the Bob Marley museum, this is an important site for those interested in learning about Marley's upbringing and heritage.

Yes, it's not huge and it is in a poor part of town but I found my visit (as part of a Kingston day trip organised by Jamaica Cultural Enterprises) very informative (Sophia was the guide) for getting a broader understanding of Jamaican culture.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ouagadougou
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bob Marley fans take note”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you enjoyed "No Woman No Cry" you must take a trip down to Trench Town. Make sure you go with someone who knows the area. The Trench Town Cultural Centre (Name?) is not expensive and worth a visit even if it isn't exactly where Bob lived in his yearly years.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Boulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just a community”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Trench town is simply just an inner city community in kingston. It is known to be influenced by dons and gangs, as well as the birthplace of Bob Marley. Separate and apart from that its alright

Helpful?
3 Thank chrissyandkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Easiest, most honorable way to get robbed $1000J.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Yeah, I get it.. you visit the National History Landmark called the "Culture Yard"... you see some pictures of Bob and maybe an old vehicle of his...Ahh! I get it! It's the ghetto, stupid!

The architectural diagrams and urban planning schematics are worth a look, but the tour guides are awful and the grand total 15 minute tour is the most expensive, per-minute - tour on the island.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank justonetaste203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the most violent areas in the Western Hemisphere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This part of Kingston is very poor, violent and volatile. If safety is a concern this is a MUST avoid area. I can't imagine the constant stream of beggars and pick pockets one has to endure at the very best. At the worst one could be the victim of an armed robbery or worse. Please check with your travel agency OR better yet PLEASE CHECK WITH THE UBITED STATES EMBASSY IN KINGSTON before embarking on a foolish venture of this sort.

Helpful?
3 Thank Realfutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trench Town also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Trench Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing