We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dinner on a family owned boat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Houseboat Grill

The Houseboat Grill
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner on a family owned boat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We enjoyed an amazing dinner on our last night in Montego Bay. A perfect ending to a great vacation. The food, service and ambiance was fantastic. In addition to our great meals, we especially enjoyed the special "Scotch Bonnet Beurre Blanc sauce." Even though the sauce is served only with the Spicy Peel & Eat Pepper Shrimp you can ask for a side order to go with anything you order. Our waiter obviously saw the delight in our faces and when we asked for extra he was even kind enough to offer us a take away portion. Unfortunately since we were leaving the next day we had to turn it down. Looking forward to returning to Montego Bay and The Houseboat Grill in the very near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    104
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner venue in Sunny Montego Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Located in Montego Bay the Houseboat Grill is a dinner experience like no other. Located on board a floating houeboat anchored in the calm waters off Montego Bay, the mabience is unbeatable. The food delicious. The service is great. Will definetly return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas19750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

No matter what you pick from the menu, you're always assured of a great meal. And the ambience is fantastic. You can dine downstairs is the cozy salon, or upstairs in the breezy open air. Always a delight, and a regular haunt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R0aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Houseboat Grill was a fantastic experience. The food and ambiance is an absolute delight! Well worth a visit if you are in Montego Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fancynancy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW - Well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We heard about the Houseboat Grill from my parents who travel to Jamaica often. We decided since it was close to our hotel we would make a reseration and we are so glad we did! It's one of the coolest restaurants we have been too. when you arrive you take a small raft over to the Houseboat where you are greated by the host/hostess. We were seated on the top deck per our request when making the reservation. I highly recommend getting the Garlic Caesar Salad, Chili Garlic Croutons. It was wonderful! They change their menu daily, but we had and amazing dinner that evening. We also had a few glasses of wine and bottled water! Also... most important... they will ask you if you are intersted in the Warm Mini Molten Chocolate Cake
w/ Chantilly Cream.. SAY YES!!! It takes a little while to make which is why they ask you before they server you the meal. I had read reviews about this dessert and it truly was delicious!
For transportation, we asked our total staff for a taxi, we also neg. a price for round tip and didn't pay till we arrived back at the hotel! Becuase our driver was so good, we gave him a nice tip! Make sure you neg. your price before leaving the hotel.

What made our dinner even nicer, was there was a table next to us of an American couple who was having a dinner party and invited all their Jamaican family to join them. These are people they have met at hotels' they stayed out over the years and wanted to treat them to dinner. The Jamicans came dressed up and it was so nice to hear their American host/hostess ask about their families, jobs, etc. as though they have never lost touch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Houseboat Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Rose Hall, Montego Bay
 

Been to The Houseboat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing