We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I had all week!”

The Houseboat Grill
Ranked #5 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal I had all week!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This restaurant is exactly as described! Enjoy your meal on the top deck or inside the boat. It's small, older but very nice and clean. Above all, it was the best meal I had all week -- including any meal I had at the resort! I had chicken and my husband had red snapper. Both were melt in your mouth fantastic!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank F4375QUsusanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    104
    24
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST DESSERT EVER”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The appetizers were terrific. The meal was delicious. The chocolate lava cake = TO DIE FOR! The wait staff was really nice and the view was amazing. Very cool, quaint place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went to the Houseboat Grill on the recommendation of our bed & breakfast owners and it was a lovely evening. We sat on the upper deck with a lovely view of the lagoon. The appetizers and entrees were excellent. The four of us had a different entree and each were well prepared and delicious. Service was good and they were attentive. Overall a nice evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markyounglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It was the perfect setting for a romantic night out. We went there on a recommendation from our wonderful taxi driver, and were not disappointed. Fresh lobster and a beautiful, romantic setting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RBTravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We came here several years ago and I was happy to see that The Houseboat Grill is still here and holding to an excellent standard. The setting is quite lovely and peaceful. The 'ferry' that takes you across (about 10 feet away) is quite adorable. The bartender concocted a lovely tropical drink for us that wasn't too sweet, as we requested. The grilled calamari appetizer is simply perfect. All the fish dishes we tried were excellent. All in all, a delightful experience that adds a lot to your Montego visit.

About the service: the bartender was great. The waitresses are very nice but service is a little slow. Truthfully, I find that service is slow almost everywhere in Jamaica (and I was born in Jamaica).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Houseboat Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Houseboat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing