We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance & Great Food”

The Houseboat Grill
Ranked #5 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambiance & Great Food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Houseboat is a must if you're around Montego Bay. The restaurant is a wooden houseboat that sits anchored in the bay and you even take a little "ferry" out to it. The menu has something for everyone and the drinks are delicious. Low lighting creates a cozy ambiance and the outdoor deck around the boat is great for watching the marine life swim by. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ingrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    104
    24
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Drink the Water!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Visited this restaurant on July 19, 2014. We were a medium size group. Our reservations was at 7pm. We were seated upstairs. So far so good. The waitress asked if we would like tap water or bottle water. The majority of us said bottle water. Moving right along. Some of the guys went to go catch their lobster to eat. Apparently told the lobsters would be $33. No problem. After the lobsters were caught, it suddenly became $33 per pound for lobster. One of the lobsters was 7lbs. Now let's do the math! $231!!!!!!!! Hell no! It wasn't happening finally negotiated and so they settle on 1lb lobsters instead. Almost 9:30 and no meal, but we keep getting water from a canister. Only served water once from a bottle and that was when we first got there. Finally meals were served. One person never got their meal. They were cool because now she was no longer hungry. So one of the waitress comes and she says "Who is going to pay for the 6 bottles of water?" All hell has officially broken loose. Pay for water!!! There was never a price about the bottle water. It was more of an option. You either wanted bottle or tap. Moving on they hand us the receipts and we all had $5.00 water charge. Also the lady who didn't even receive her meal got charged. So the Jamaican manager came and was ready to do battle. We also had our Jamaican driver with us eating dinner. He was agreeing with us and the Manager got mad and start talking in his language and they were about to fight. So we didn't let that happen. So the manager removed the $5.00 from our bills and we left. Come to find out our Driver use to work there along time ago. He said they put regular water in the Evian bottles and serve and charge people. So if you want to go to this restaurant, go for it. But don't get no water.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we had dinner here and it was very good. I had surf and turf and my wife had lobster and it she thought it was wonderful. the service was typical of our experience in Jamaica.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ousooner73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Every time I go to this restaurant I am pleased. The food and service is always great. I recommend to have a meal there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodimgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classy, elegant, fine cuisine”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

You take a ferry (very short ride) to the boat. That set the tone. Once on the boat we were promptly seated. The boat overlooks the sea. It was evening so as we dined we admired the view of the beautifully lit town across the water. Fish swam up and leapt out of the water competing for our attention. The wait staff was attentive but not fawning. I ordered the sea bass and as I recall the meal, my mouth begins to water a little bit. Perfectly seasoned and grilled with accompanying potatoes and veggies. The wine was perfect, recommended by the waiter. Dessert was the ideal ending. Wanted to go back the next night but our plans did not permit. Definitely worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dionnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Houseboat Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Houseboat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing