We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent from the moment we "stepped on the people ferry"”

The Houseboat Grill
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent from the moment we "stepped on the people ferry"”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is the cutest restaurant ever! As you walk up to the restaurant you will notice it is actually a floating houseboat! You must step onto the "people ferry" and a man will pull on a rope that moves you to the "front door" of the restaurant. Great service, excellent food (LOVE the swordfish pate!!!)... so good we went twice!!!! Please beware of using a debit or credit card here or anywhere else in Montego Bay. We did have a unfortunate experience and our credit card was compromised after our second visit to this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thevacagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    104
    24
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the moment you get out your car and start heading to the entrance you know your in for a real treat and believe me it was. The ambiance is set perfectly for any occasion young or old. They have this scotch bonnet burblanc, which for a sauce is just perfect with all there dishes. Overall i was very satisfied with the all the dishes we had (hats off to the chefs) and the service was on point (we need service like this on the rest of the island).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tj2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
679 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Nice place for a relaxing meal”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You take a boat out to the houseboat. Nice soft lighting and ambience. Nice selection of food - seafood for us. It was ok - service was a bit hit and miss. Nice relaxing place. I had caught the sun that day so was drinking bottled water and it didn't taste right. I like to see the bottle seal intact so I know it's genuine. This was not bottled water! This used to happen in Europe with wine years ago it would arrive open. I asked for the next bottle with the seal intact - I got some shady looks after that. If on bottled water I suggest you do the same. Other than that it was ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful night”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice Restaurant on (in) the water. Take a small ferry to the Restaurant. The food was great, the staff very attentive. The best experience of our Jamaica vacation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank happynjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In league with Secrets”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Good Food,2 courses for 2 with beer and wine £70 ish,it can't be romantic with views when its pitch black.Eat at secrets save your money

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pjthomas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Houseboat Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Houseboat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing