We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place!”
Review of Pork Pit

Pork Pit
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stopped by the Pork Pit before getting to our hotel -- a few miles away -- and wished that we had been able to come back every day. The jerk pork was cooked on an open air grill and was some of the best these jerk aficionados had ever had. Service was slow and inefficient, so be prepared for a wait and then love every bite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeTraveler843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    305
    118
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Jamaican food!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great casual restaurant that the locals and tourist enjoy. Great prices and food. Loved the location and it being easily accessible from the main road. Food was delivered quickly and tasted so good!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomayia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality year after year”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I've been a faithful diner at the Pork Pit in Montego Bay, even when it was located across the road from the Decameron hotel, (formerly JackTar). It's newer location (probably about 20 years here) is easily reached, because EVERYONE in Montego Bay can provide directions.
Without being long-winded, or going into great detail about which is the "best" jerk, chicken or pork, or sausages etc, JUST GO, you won't be disappointed. It's a menu is medium priced, comparable to prices in Canada or America. It is mainly a tourist spot, although you will always see local Jamaicans eating there. In addition to the basic jerk pork/chicken dishes, they have a wide variety of side orders, such as bammy, festival, corn on the cob, steamed fish, and on and on. Don't worry about drinks, it is fully licensed. Oh, and you can eat either indoor in a booth or outdoor on a metal picnic table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montegobayphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service not so excellent.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was shown this place by a local, and enjoyed the food, even though the waitress looked at me funny when I pointed to the 'salad' on the menu, as if she had never even heard of such a thing. The service was in general quite rude in Jamaica, and this place was no exception. Though, I went back several times to enjoy a cheap, good feed here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GriseldaBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stopped here last night to grab some take out and were glad we did! We tried the jerk chicken, ribs and shrimp. All of them were delicious! The jerk was spicy but not too hot that you couldn't enjoy all of the flavors. We'll definitely go back on our next trip to Mobay!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjnevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pork Pit also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pork Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing