We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Strip. Not really a strip.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hip Strip

Hip Strip
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Montego Bay Sightseeing and Shopping Tour
Ranked #16 of 72 things to do in Montego Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Strip malls and hotels line this busy street.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Strip. Not really a strip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I enjoyed tha walk early in the morning when there is noone out to bother you. Once I came out after 10am everyone tried to get me in their shop. Just a little annoying but I understand people need to make a living.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmedl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    98
    210
    93
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Kind of seedy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not a great experience. This was a very low end merchant drag, no art galleries or unique shops. Lots of merchants who aggressively solicit you for business.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The HIP strip is no longer so HIP!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

It is a place to go and see but don't expect to much. Everywhere you go you will get asked "do you want any "brownies" or drugs"? The guys are nice but annoying! It is a small area that is quite busy and noisy until about 6PM then the street gets rolled up and there is nobody walking the strip.....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank VegasKid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What is the big deal?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I just didn't think there was much here. I was looking for restaurants and bars and there just weren't very many of either. It seems to be pretty much shut down by eight p.m. You have Margaritaville a a few local bars, but that is about it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank basa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtigonish
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hip Strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We took a cab from Riu to here for $40.00 return. Ask for Adam. Drove by Doctors Cave Beach it looked lovely. We shopped mostly at Smile something where the prices were the best. We were offered free beer, rum or water. Went to Margaritaville and had a beer. We did not realize we would have taken a booze Cruz for the same price. Did not take advantage of the water sports at Margaritaville as we did have our swim suits with us but it looked like great fun. Read the prices before you order. Can be pricey.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Potato35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hip Strip also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Hip Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing