We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spactacular”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spactacular”
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We arrived at Half Moon Resort and we were welcomed with open arms. Our experience there was the best I have ever had in any resort I've been too. We had a villa with a butler, chef and maid. The rooms were clean and cool. Our pool was warm and wonderful. I highly recommend you stay. If your in a villa ask for Garfield (Butler), Joyce (Chef), and Marium (Maid). They made a great team and kept us comfortable. Everything you need is on this resort. The food was second to none. I really enjoyed the italian food the best, but it was all fantastic. If you go to this resort you will not be disapointed. It is everything they say it is. You will live like and be treated like a King.

  • Liked — The private pool and breakfast beside the pool every morning
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank turk182000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    326
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
716
586
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

My family booked one of the resort's Villas, which are in a separate section than the hotel rooms and suites. The Villa experience most definitely is different than the hotel/resort stay experience and I would recommend it to any family travelling together or small group of friends.

The villa consisted of five large bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, an exit to a balcony or front porch, our own pool in the back yard, kind and helpful personal staff (a cook, a house cleaner and a butler), two golf carts at our disposal at all times, a dining room, a kitchen and a living room. Although we had our own space, all the amenities of the resort were available to us and we would often drive to the main beach or the spa to enjoy those facilities.

As there was a small child with us, having the pool in the back basically made the vacation. The pool was surrounded with chairs and a table with large umbrella for sun protection and we could lounge out there while the baby napped within earshot of the baby monitor while still completely enjoying the magnificent view and the sunshine.

Every evening we would meet with the cook to plan the next day's meal, which was made and served in our private dining room. Of course there was always the option of going to one of the restaurants at the main resort area or of taking an excursion to Montego Bay, but most of the time we preferred to enjoy the authentic jamaican cuisine the chef would whip up. Breakfast always included freshly dried pineapple and papaya, corn bread muffins, and other tasty treats.

Overall the most relaxing, pampering vacation i've ever been on. The addition of family members I don't normally travel with (sisters and their spouses, parents) did not bring the stress it could have as we all had ample space to escape to. Two different beaches at our disposal, several pools including our private pool, restaurants, bars, golf, horseback riding, water sports... this property pretty much has it all. As well, the land is very carefully maintained and includes a wildlife reserve, a swamp, a dolphin lair - such a beautiful and peaceful place.

  • Liked — the privacy, the beauty, the pampering
  • Disliked — nothing. it is perfection.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Snitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, nc
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We were only going to stay 4 nights but extended our trip another two nights. The hotel is exactly what we wanted and imagined a Carribean hotel would be. Very classy and open air architecture. The service has been great and the people are extremely friendly. Everyone shakes your hand or says hello as you go by. It's contagious. Quick run through of what we have done. Spa is great and really nice. There are a couple pools inside the spa area and we layed out and had lunch there one day and it was really nice. We also swam with the dolphins and it's a one in a lifetime exp. if you've never done it. Very pricey at $250 a person and then they get you on the pictures and video for about $130 total. Try to get someone else to take pics but it's truly a great memory and if you can afford it, do it. My wife took riding lessons and enjoyed it but couldn't hear the guy well so he ended up riding another horse and attaching himself to her horse so she could hear. I took a tennis lesson and the guy wore me out. The weight room is a little dated but plenty of weights and the fitness area is nice with plenty of machines. We also rented bikes and that's the way to go because the property is pretty big. It's 400 acres which is huge and that's one of the great things about this place. As for food we've had good meals everywhere but the best has been at the royal stocks. Byran was our waiter and he suggested this fish dish and it was steamed with lots of veggies. Really, really good and pretty cheap compared to rest of the resort. On Thursday nights they have a band outside and it's great atmosphere and the band was really good. The sugar mill was ok but nothing great. Seagrape is very nice because it's right on the water and the food is very good. The beach bbq is nice with lots of options. One negative is this place is pretty expensive but you can find cheap meals(royal stocks) and cheap drinks(comissary) if you try. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and we will definately come back. The service has been first class.

  • Liked — service and view. right on the beach.
  • Disliked — Pretty expensive.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MOL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We just came backe from a 5day stay at the hotel with a 5 year old.
The property is very nice, but too stretched out. Prepare to do a lot of walking or waiting for golf carts to give you a ride.
The hotel is overpriced. We stayed at the royal suite. It was very "dated". Old 19' TV. I have not seen them in much cheaper resorts. Turn-down service was done 50% of the time. You had to call to get mini-bar stocked.
The beach was so-so. Pools were o'k.
I cannot complain about food. Drinks were all premium liquors. Do not expect any entertainment or activities for kids or adults. The shopping village is a waist of time (most stores were empty or closed).
Overall, not a horrible experience. But, for this kind of money you can do much better in Jamaica.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — old rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ab2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

First off, let me preface this by saying the postives of Jamaica:
1. Beautiful beaches and water
2. VERY friendly people-so much fun!
3. Quick flight from Chicago

Now, we've been to Jamaica 3 times, we enjoy it . . . but i have to say the service (even though they are so friendly and nice), is AWFUL! I don't know if it's the mentality down there-everyone is so laid back, or what, but don't expect anything less than 3 hour meals!

Half Moon is pretty-i recommend the Hibisicus Suites/Rooms-they are brand new and right on the ocean-the villas are much older.
But, whenever we went to breakfast, lunch and dinner-the service was HORRIBLE! Our drinks were never refilled, bread never came and our orders were practically forgotten. And, these were 300-400 dollar meals!
Very disappointed in that aspect.
We've stayed at RoundHill Resort before too (very high end/expensive also) and the service was very poor too! So, like I said, maybe that's just the "Jamaican Way" but boy, we were glad our young kids weren't with us b/c it would have been miserable eating!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Food Service!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bmdwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

This is a resort with a ton of history - and has lots of character. While very expensive and expansive, this is the place to go if you are looking for a different experience than the standard 5 star resort/hotel.

We stayed in a Villa with our own butler/maid/cook right on the beach. While the accomodations were dated and could use some refinishing, they were still very impressive.

Lots of activities and "space" to either mingle or get away from everyone.

The Hibiscus rooms and the Royal Suites would be the best places to stay if you can afford them.

People were extremely friendly ... we'll go back!

  • Liked — History of the Resort and the Uniqueness of the Accomodations
  • Disliked — Some rooms need updating, internet service was spotty if you need access
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mgambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My husband surprised me with our honeymoon...I didn't know where we were going until the day of our wedding. Needless to say...he did a wonderful job picking out the Half Moon! It was a picture perfect resort. We had excellent service all around and enjoyed the fact that this was not a "party" resort...it was a place for us to relax and enjoy the beginning of our life together. I would (and have) recommened Half Moon for a honeymoon destination.

  • Liked — It was a beautiful facility...the beach was right outside our front door and the pool was right outside the backdoor!
  • Disliked — I don't have on complaint!
  • Stayed July 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jnreneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing