We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon
Nearby Hotels
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$573
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Greco Resort(Montego Bay)
US$124
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deja Resort(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$666
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Round Hill Hotel & Villas(Hopewell)(Great Value!)
US$543
US$340
Official Website
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$297
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$964
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,231)
Filter reviews
2,231 results
Traveller rating
1,665
351
116
64
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
351
116
64
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millhibiscus suiteseagrape terraceil giardinoall inclusive planfern tree spawest cottagessea grapebedroom villacedar barroyal villasunrise beachpepper pothibiscus poolprivate pooldolphin experiencevilla staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,384 - 1,389 of 2,231 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This spot works for me as you are right on the beach and it is safe, sweet and simple family fun. THe rooms are terribly dated (Royal suite) with battered kitchen and furniture, musty ventilation but entirely redeeming service though typically Jamaican... I believe the prices are high for the condition of the property but the location and the grounds are truly the point of differentiation for us and reason I recommend for families-

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetheluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are valuable to us and are highly appreciated, we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience encountered with your accommodation experience.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor; it was a privilege serving you and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Half Moon was our last stop on our honeymoon tour of Jamaica. The property was beautiful! Nice spacious room, good amenities, picturesque grounds, good service and wonderful cocktails. We were given a beautiful room (beach front) and it was wonderful just waking up in the morning and walking out to the beach.

The only downside to the hotel for us were the prices of the food offered versus its quality. For the over the top prices example $70.00 for a breakfast for 2 persons (which includes 10% government tax and 15% service charge. 25% is automatically included on all bill.) the taste was average at best. It simply wasn’t worth dining on the property. Even with the wide selection of food available at the buffet, we didn’t find anything that was worth going back for a second time. We also had room service twice and both times, it was just okay.

With this review, it is only fair to say that you can’t people everybody all the time and perhaps the next guests will enjoyed the food and rave about it. Unfortunately, for us, it was average and nothing special.

Room Tip: The beachfront room was amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmills126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your special occasion. The lovely feedback is highly appreciated; we are delighted you enjoyed the rosort and its amenities.

We apologise that we did not meet your expectations with your dining experience.

It was a privilege serving you. we thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor; and certainly look forward to the pleasure of serving you on your first Anniversary and many more.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent a week at the Half Moon in May 2013. We had a 6 BR villa for me and wifey, two kids (2.5 yr twins), my mom & dad, her dad and my sister. The stay was for my wife's birthday and we ultimately had a group of about 30 people staying there. The villa staff, Everite, Jennifer and Ferdinand were wonderful. Every request was met with a "Yeah mon" or "No problem". They cooked special meals for our kids and even made a cake(with candles) for my mom's birthday which was a few days after my wife's. The resort was pretty nice as well and very relaxing. Everyone had a good time at the swim up bar. We took the kids to the dolphin cove which was fun but expensive. The weather didn't really cooperate as it was the start of the rainy season and we got some almost everyday. Many of the kids activities were closed because it was slightly off-season. It didn't matter for us because our kids were too young for most things, but was a little surprised given the number of older kids i saw there. Some of our friends had 3 kids and I am pretty sure they were bored even though they rented bikes. I would definitely go back, but maybe during the high season to see everything in full swing.

Room Tip: Rooms are tough and some of the nicer villas have been leased to travel clubs making them unavailable to regular travelers. We stayed in Villas 50 & 51 which are side by side ocean view villas. They were nice and a great idea if you can find enough people to fill 2 6 BR villas as the staffs work together.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you.

We are happy our team created an experience of a lifetime for you; and you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience. We thank you for the complimentary comments towards our dedicated team particularly the villa team of Everite, Jennifer and Ferdinand. Our ultimate goal is always to exceed our valued guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Again thank you for choosing Half Moon, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and family back home in the not too distant future,

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Half Moon bay villas or a week. The service was phenomenal and the views spectacular. The property was very spread out so you had to take a golf cart or ask or a ride from the staff. Sometimes that would be a little inconvenient as you had to plan ahead. Although it was an all inclusive, we still had our card and sign for everything. It would have been better if they allowed you to have a wrist band and not have to worry about the card the entire time. Overall we had a great time, and the staff, food and drinks were great. Nice beaches and pools on the property. My wife said the massage a facial we're one of the best she's ever had at a resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horstracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients; we thank you for taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed the resort and it offerings. Thank you for your comment regarding the arm band, it has been shared with the team. We surely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent one unforgettable night at the Half Moon. From the time we arrived at the Half Moon reception desk at the airport until we checked out the next morning we were blown away by the staff, food, and accomodations. As soon as we arrived on the property, we were greeted with smiles and rum punch. Check in was a pleasant experience and we were shown to our room within minutes of arrival. The front desk staff assisted us getting a dinner reservation arranged for the Seagrape Terrace later in the evening of our arrival. We were both blown away by the spaciousness of our suite and the proximity to the beach. We will be back as soon as our schedules allow us to break away again. It was only by chance that we stayed at Half Moon. I had originally booked the Ritz Carlton next door since we had spent our honeymoon at the Ritz over 10 years ago. We received a phone call from Marriott management informing us the hotel had been bought out and would be closed for renovations during the time of our travel. Marriott arranged with Half Moon to secure a room for us for one night at the same rate we had booked with the Ritz. Next time we are back in Montego Bay and staying at the Half Moon, we will take advantage of the all-inclusive package. Food and drinks are expensive but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

The lovely comments shared on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. We are happy your stay, though brief, was all you anticipated and we created and experience of a lifetime for you.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, we trust you will now make Half Moon your ‘home away from home’. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews