We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute luxury in a tropical setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“absolute luxury in a tropical setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have been to Jamaica twice now inside of three weeks - this was the second trip. Half Moon resort is simply breathtaking in its sheer size and variety of things to do...
When you enter, it seems small, until you realize you are only at the main building. Property is so large you'll want to borrow bicycles right away, or rent a golf cart. We rented the golf cart. There are two miles of sandy beach to choose from - the easy to swim in "sunset beach" by the main building, most crowded - but not crowded at all - with swimming, watersports (absolutely try the Hobie cats..) to the private beaches along the villas (which we had), to the Sunrise beach in the east - get there by golf cart, park anywhere along there, and viola - instant private beach.

Food is adequate in Seagrapes, spectacular at "Pepper Pot", and even better at Il Guardino - the Italian restaurant - I may have gotten the name wrong. Make sure you choose the all inclusize plan or your bar tab will be more than your airfare. You can also just get your own villa which comes with your own personal chef, and he will cook for you.

Activities are plentiful - we scuba dived (which was honestly less than spectacular - I was not pleased at all to learn we paid for a two tank dive, and only ended up with a one tank dive, which kind of boring.. glass bottom boat - guy was kind of rude, don't waste your money, and Dolphin experience, which was very good. There's also golf, tennis and spa.

Staff was mostly very helpful - onw waitress in the main bar area kept us waiting 45 minutes for our check, which we finally just walked our on her, but the front desk staff, especially Grace-Ann, was fantastic.

A HUGE compliment goes out to one of your beach attendants, Omaro.. he is the kindest, most helpful person I have the pleasure of meeting. Normally you think a beach attendant gets towels for you, but Omaro went over and above to help my wife and I with anything. When I wanted to go hobie cat sailing, he set it up and helped with instruction. He knew I liked paddleboarding so had one down at the beach the next morning for me to try. He's a genuinely friendly helpful person, and if all your staff was like him you would be the envy of all other resorts!!

Pools are very nice, Internet access was spotty - for the room rate paid, high speed, all over coverage internet wifi should be a given.

You won't go wrong here!

Room Tip: unless you are renting a private villa - choose a second floor hibiscus suite in between the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Valued Guests:

It is certainly a pleasure receiving feedback from your recent Half Moon, A RockResort visit; your detail yet specific review is much appreciated – we apologise for the areas which did not meet your expectation. Already we have connected with Watersports Concessionaire who will sure use your comments to effect further coaching for the staff. We have also had dialogue with Food & Beverage personnel regarding the bar check; we truly regret this delay. Thank you for mentioning the ‘spotty’ internet access, our IT Technician is currently investigating this issue with our service providers. We do offer all over coverage internet wifi and regret that you did not fully benefit from this amenity.

We are pleased that although there were areas that did not meet your expectations you did not allow these to negate the wonderful experience you had. Thank you for recognizing members of the team in particular Grace-ann and Omaro for providing outstanding service, we will share your comments with them.

Again, your feedback is truly appreciated as it gives us the opportunity to further refine the service we offer our valued clients. Thank you for choosing Half Moon, we certainly look forward to the privilege of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,476
    322
    100
    58
    31
See reviews for
702
577
43
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went there for an incentive trip and stayed in a villa, with 5 more couples. We had a private pool, a cook, a butler and a cleaning lady. The staff was great, the food they cook for us was really good. We also had lunch and dinner in the different restaurants in the hotel, and was pretty good to be a beach resort. Beach was beautiful. Nice weather. Our room was a lithe old. But they were other villas with better view and better conditions. We walked a lot, distances are not too bad, but people used golf carts to move. Very safe to be there in Jamaica. Safety guardians were everywhere.

Room Tip: Better to book in the main hotel if you go don't' go with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We thank you for sharing review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience.

We are thrilled you had a great time. Our Royal Villas accommodation certainly offers a ‘home away from home’ atmosphere – it is the perfect choice for families, friend or groups –such as your- who seek the ambiance of a private home and an experience which is simply unforgettable.

Your kind compliments for the staff and the resort amenities are appreciated. Happy you mentioned safety which is a top priority for our many valued guests. Again, thank you for your feedback; the team looks forward to welcoming you back on another incentive trip or a personal vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just got back from a corporate incentive trip. My wife and I were in a villa with three other couples. Our villa was a 10 minute golf cart drive from the main lobby. This resort is huge. Our villa had a butler, a maid, and a cook, which takes good care of their guests. We also had a private pool. We ate out every day, and one evening the group ate at the villa. I played golf twice, and my wife and I used the spa. The facilities at the spa are below average, and our massages weren't cheap. If you like a nice beach, do not come here. The staff, at all levels, was very professional and friendly. The blue mountain coffee was great. Our room was clean, but starting to show its age. The bathroom only had one sink, and a window in our shower.....which was very strange.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The property is beautiful. The staff is incredibly nice ( although there is occasionally some of that "island time" issue--ie, ask for a glass of water, and they sometimes forget for 20 min.). Rooms/villas are well kept and very comfortable. Beach is one of the nicest I have seen. Lots of very nice pools. You can get a bike for free and ride around the property (it is over 400 acres) or rent a golf cart.
For a place this expensive, with such a great location and accomodations, the food at the restaurants are mediocre at best, dishes are poorly executed, and not fresh tasting. We ate at The Seagrape, and Il Giardino, their Italian restaurant and the pasta tasted like boxed. My wife got food poisoning from one of the seafood pasta dishes there. We ran into another couple who also got ill that night. We were scheduled to eat at their other restaurant on the golf course our last night there, but our food experience was so poor we cancelled and went "off campus" to Scotchie's down the road and had a great local Jamaican dinner and drinks for the price of 2 drinks at a Half Moon restaurant!! Even more telling... the head chef of Half Moon resort was eating dinner at Scotchies at the table next to us---wearing his chefs' uniform!!
The wine selection was limited and crazy expensive. Plan on paying double for a bottle compared to in the US. A bottle of Red Stripe, the local beer, was $7 at the resort-- at Scotchies it was $2.
If you stay in one of the larger villas, you can have a cook of your own, but since we did not do that I cannot comment on those meals.
The only consistently good food at HM was the breakfast buffet.
If you come here, I would advise eating breakfast at the resort and going elsewhere for dinner. If you are not a big foodie then don't worry, it is a great place.
Considering what a lovely resort this is, it is a shame the food is so mediocre. If the food was better, I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodyrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My family and I have been coming here for years. It is a beautiful place with many wonderful activities and amenities. We have always been treated wonderfully by the staff and so appreciate their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from a week at Half Moon, Jamaica. For starters, the weather in Jamaica is incredible--unfailingly warm and sunny (29-30 C) with a pleasant breeze. Jamaicans themselves are super friendly and interesting. The resort is first class and we had a wonderful time--our best vacation ever. The staff is warm and professional. The resort itself is very impressive--very large with a remarkable range of facilities (pools, including an Olympic size lap pool, tennis, golf, kayiakng, snorkeling, gym, croquet, spa, etc.) The Half Moon provides bicycles for free so that moving around is easy. The grounds are impeccable, very well maintained. And there is lots and lots of privacy. If we wanted to be on a private stretch of beach it was easy to find. My partner was at first a bit wary of the price but within 24 hours was vowing we would return.

We had a standard room--comfortable. Next time we will try to persuade friends to come and will rent a villa. In comparison to all the other places we have traveled in the Caribbean, Half Moon is the best. It is old school--refined, peaceful, beautiful, comfortable, It is not a place for swinging singles looking for lots of action--there are lots of places in the Caribbean for that. It is a place to get away, relax, enjoy the peace, and be treated very, very well.

Room Tip: I don't see how anyone can go wrong with any room unless you are incredibly fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavia_de_Luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Half Moon ,What can I say, it was ,Great, Great, Great, from the time we arrived, to our leaving, nothing was too much for the staff, Food good, room good and weather great.Pool area clean, not many holiday makers about, had a pool to yourselves,.If you have room service, it can be a bit pricey, but it,s worth it when you have arrived there at 8.30 pm and only want to chill out.looking forward to going back later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunloverWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing