We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply put”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply put”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

been to Jamacia over ten times... found Half Moon by accident after some trips to runway bay and negril... there is no place better than Hlaf Moon, from rooms, beaches and wonderful staff the resturants are just amazing, seagrape terrace or sugar mill wonderful selection which changes daily

Room Tip: just love the west cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliswell4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Short, sweet and spicy describe your review. Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our unmatched array of accommodations, amenities and attractions including your dining experience at the Seagrape Terrace restaurant which offers sumptuous menu options while enjoying the spectacular ocean view. The Sugar Mill restaurant is undoubtedly the finest in Jamaica and one of the most acclaimed in the Caribbean, offering contemporary Caribbean Cuisine.

We thank you for recognizing the staff – they are truly the ones who create experiences of a lifetime for our many valued guests.

It was an absolutely pleasure hosting you; your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    332
    107
    58
    32
See reviews for
737
596
48
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We started the first part of our trip at Sandals. That was a place without children, gorgeous beach, and a fun pool but the food and drinks were just mediocre. Then we came here- wow! The lobby is grand and so are the grounds. Honestly, try to stay in the middle by the pool bar or be willing to rent a bike or golf cart. The food and drinks are amazing! We ate at three of the restaurants and all of them were delicious (including Sugar Mill, seagrape Terrace, and the one at Oleander). We also did the Jamaican Beach BBQ. It was delicious and the dishes were labeled as well as labeled for gluten free or not. The food here ranged from crab legs, to jerk pork, salads, sweet potato dishes. The room we had (near the pool bar) had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach. We ordered room service several times and they were prompt, the food was warm and the set the table complete with a white table cloth! At night someone would come in and turn down the bed and place chocolates on the bed. The attendants at the beach and the pool were fun and attentive. One of the beach attendants warned me of sea urchins as he saw me in an area that was not the "normal" swimming location on the main beach. We also used the spa. the manicure lasted all of a day. Not worth the 50+ dollars. The massages however were amazing and very thorough!
The only negative we found here was the amount of children. As a couple traveling this was at times annoying but if we had kids with us it would be the perfect spot!
We will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBostonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Half Moon, A RockResort for your recent vacation and for sharing your review on tripadvisor.

Half Moon set on 400 beautifully manicured acres offers something special for everyone. Delighted you found your Food and Beverage experience amazing having dined at three of our six specialty restaurants. The Beach BBQ offering varied delicious options is usually popular among our casual dining choices; so does the meticulous service from our Room Service team.

During major holidays, such as Christmas, President’s Week, Easter, Spring Break we normally host a number of our families with children. So travelling during these perioeds you will encounter our very important little guests.

It was a pleasure serving you; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have been travelling to Jamaica almost annually for the past 6 years, and Half Moon is hands down the perfect in every way. The grounds are spectacular, the rooms are luxurious, and the cuisine is delicious. I must mention as well that the staff are consistently hospitable. My only complaint about this place is that it is very hard to leave!!!

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyamala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was great having you home for your 6th visit, we are pleased that we delivered another perfect vacation for you and your family. Jamaicans are usually friendly people and Half Moon prides itself on delivering a true Jamaican hospitality, which many of our treasured guests have come to enjoy; we are delighted that the hospitality of our staff has been consistent and thank you for recognizing this aspect of your stay.

We look forward to having you home for your 7th visit.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently returned from a week-long stay in the private villas' section of Half Moon Bay. Our private villa was situated on the waterfront just steps from the caribbean sea, and we also had our own private pool on the other side of the house. Our extended family of 12 easily fit in the 6-bedroom villa with plenty of space to enjoy. Before I get into the great amenities of the resort, I mostly would like to extend our high recommendation for our most great staff who ran our villa for us the whole week. Kirk our butler, Susan our cook and Jennifer our housekeeper - we love you all! By the end of the week, we felt as if we had been long-time friends with them. They were all so friendly, nice, kind and warm-hearted, and provided anything and everything you could think of without a blink of an eye. So if you are going to rent a private villa for your upcoming stay at this resort, you would be doing yourself a favor to request these 3 great people : )!!
As for the resort itself, I personally loved the "quaintness" of it all despite the fact that it actually boasts a large area of land throughout at 2-miles from end-to-end. I loved that you never felt as if you were in any type of "crowded" space like you can feel at so many resorts most of the time. There is no need to race out and "save a seat" at a beach or pool ever. And actually, we used the Sunrise beach nearest the villas most of the time, and practically had the entire beach to ourselves the majority of the time! Wonderful activities throughout the property which other reviewers have already mentioned from swimming with the dolphins to horseback riding to golf to bike riding, tennis, spa, fitness center, and even miniature golf. It was truly a week of pure relaxation, enjoyment, happiness, beautiful surroundings and excellent service. We would love to return at some point in the future!

Room Tip: Choose Kirk, Susan and Jennifer for your staff if renting a private villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 690crisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Villas at Half Moon, A RockResort for your family vacation in Jamaica. We are pleased that you had a week of pure relaxation and enjoyment in our villa setting; thank you for recognizing our villa staff Kirk, Susan and Jennifer for providing exceptional service. Our villa staff usually becomes a part of the family.

While the sunset beach is our main swimming area utilized by many of our guests, we find that quite a few of our villa families utilize the sunrise beach as it offers the opportunity to have your own picnic area, play beach volley ball, soccer and other beach sports; happy you enjoyed this area.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and thank you for sharing your eperience on Tripadvisor.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A wonderful trip. Half Moon will not disappoint. Good food, Sugar Mill a must. Golf course is good not overly difficult. Beautiful rooms with exceptional views. Comfortable beds with turn down service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy that your visit with us was wonderful and all you anticipated, thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted you chose the Half Moon family for your stay in Jamaica and look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After our first stay at Half Moon in March 2014 I understand why so many people come back year after year. What sticks out most in my mind other than the beautiful setting is the delightful staff. With their easy smiles, cheerful way, and willingness to help out in any way they made us feel so welcome. The resort is really well set up for an activity-filled vacation, and with kids it's great they make it so easy. We loved the snorkeling, boating, biking, tennis, and swimming with the dolphins. There are also a ton of excursions to choose from, and the kids are still talking about zip lining and our nighttime swim in a bioluminscent lagoon. Lastly and importantly, the rooms are airy, very comfortable, and tastefully decorated. And, there are many delicious dining options -- we still think about the abundant breakfast buffets that always had two people cutting up fresh fruit (each day it seemed there was a fruit I had never tried before). Thank you Half Moon for a fabulous vacation. We can't wait to come back.
Leslie Hammond

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting these kind comments on your recent stay with the Half Moon, A RockResort family. We truly are delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful range of dining options, activities and amenities available however, most importantly, we are happy our dedicated team created an experience of a lifetime for you and your family.

Additionally, we are happy you had a 'taste' of some of the attractions available in our piece of paradise Jamaica. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just had a fantastic week at Half Moon with a group that included two sets of grandparents, two sets of siblings, and six grandchildren, and everyone loved it. The food was excellent--we did the all inclusive meal plan and were really amazed by how high quality the selections were. There were plenty of fun activities and the staff was incredibly attentive. The resort is spread out enough that it did not feel packed with people, and there was always a tennis court or pool chair available. We had a special private dinner planned and it was in a beautiful terrace location, looking out on the ocean. A wonderful trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottages, looking out on the ocean, and it was a great central location but not at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this kind of feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that your Half Moon experience was a wonderful one and our amenities, dining, property and amazing team met your expectations. Half Moon is indeed the ideal location for multi-generational gatherings as our 400 acre estate and offerings cater to varying ages; we have hosted many multigenerational families who keep returning year after year.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,340 reviews
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,735 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing