We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Moon Villa #97”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great service by Ferdinand, Pamela and Beverly. We would certainly visit again. We will never forget our special time in Villa #97. Great food, activities, beaches. Clean rooms and great weather. Loved the bikes and golf carts. Keep the doors closed at night or some very large insects will visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for the favourable review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We are delighted you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience; the villas surely offer that “homey” feel.

Happy our dedicated villa team of Ferdinand, Pamela and Beverly created a memorable experience for you and your group.

It was a pleasure hosting you; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was just here in December with my hubby to play golf and I felt like I returned home again.
The hotel does not disappoint.The hotel grounds,the staff,and the food.We keep on missing Pepperpot and next time we hope to be here when they are open.Mona in reservations again did not disappoint, she is my go to for room reservations.
Played tennis this time and the pros are all great.Its a shame more people do not participate in the great tennis courts.
Hope to be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_golferFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back home. We are pleased that again you had an experience of a lifetime and enjoyed our delightful choice of amenities and activities.

So sorry you missed the Pepperpot Restaurant which is opened seasonally (during the high season). We are pleased however, that your food & beverage experience from our five remaining dining options was pleasant. It’s great you relished some tennis games with the Pros, utilizing one or more of our 13 lighted tennis courts. Thank you for recognizing members of the team, we will share your comments with Pros and Mona – Reservations Concierge.

Again, it was good having you back home; your half Moon family looks forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently were fortunate enough to spend a week at Half Moon Bay in Montego Bay. We had no idea what actually awaited us was far more than we could have ever imagined. We stayed in Villa #62 and it was gorgeous! The Villa had 6 very spacious bedrooms - each with a private full bath. There was a sitting area on each of the 3 floors and balconies or porches as well. The private pool and spacious patio, fully furnished with tables & lounge chairs was a beautiful place to enjoy our gourmet homemade breakfasts and to lounge in the afternoon while having a snack & Rum Punch before dinner.
Now, I must talk about what, or rather who, honestly made this stay one of the best ever... When we arrived at our Villa, we were greeted by the staff that would be spending the week making our stay the best it could possible be. Their first words were "Welcome Home". CARMEN THOMPSON was our wonderful Cook whose talents are just indescribable. Each and every morning we dined on a freshly made breakfast feast that was always delicious. Carmen added something special each day for us to enjoy. Breakfast quickly became our favorite meal of the day! And on the days that my husband went golfing, Carmen prepared him his own special breakfast ready for 7AM so he could make his tee time without sacrificing a homemade breakfast - always complete with a fresh pot of coffee ready for him. I must also add that most mornings we had guests for breakfast who were part of our party but were not staying in the Villa with us, and it was never a problem for Carmen and there was always more than enough food! Carmen was also thoughtful and kind enough to have a pot of fresh coffee and a kettle of hot water ready for us each evening in case we wanted to enjoy some coffee or a cup of tea before we went to bed or in case we had guests come back to the Villa with us.
PRINCE HILL was our resourceful Butler for the week. I never had an idea what a Butler did, but let me just say..... Prince did it all!!! And he did it all with a smile, some laughs, and with quality. He was responsible for the delicious fresh fruit platters that awaited us in the fridge each afternoon. We also enjoyed a delicious Rum Punch that never seemed to run out thanks to Prince! He was there for anything and everything we could have possibly needed or wanted and even when we did not know we needed something. Prince would arrange any Shuttle transportation on resort that we needed, or even when we just needed a lift to the pool because the golf carts of the Villa were in use, he always seemed to have one on standby for us to hop in to get us to the pool without any waste of time. Prince always had a ready smile and we spent many enjoyable afternoons chatting with him and learning about his home. Prince made sure to tell us daily that we were on vacation, should have no worries and just leave everything up to him.
JUDITH DUNN was the Housekeeper who helped assure our stay was comfortable. Judith was a whirlwind when she came in.... We had freshly made beds with beautiful surprises left on them daily. She did our laundry daily and we always found our clean clothes folded neatly at the foot of the bed, and she pressed anything we may have needed ready for an evening out. I just need to add what an added bonus to go home from vacation with no dirty laundry to do!!! What a relief!! And Judith even fixed the TV when we were having issues with the channels!!!
I cannot say enough about CARMEN, PRINCE & JUDITH.... The Half Moon is a beautiful Resort and anyone would be lucky to stay there, but the kindness, efficiency and just plain welcoming of our new friends brought this vacation to a higher grade of magnificence that we could only have ever imagined!! We hope to be able to see CARMEN, PRINCE & JUDITH again some day but for anyone who visits Half Moon and stays in a Villa.... you must request the best staff there is!!! And these 3 folks certainly are the best!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn8004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear valued Guests,

We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for sharing feedback on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your Royal Villa accommodation and moreso the staff who created a memorable experience for you. We will surely share your kind compliments with Carmen, Prince and Judith; whose ultimate goal is always to exceed the expectation of our valued guests like yourselves.

We truly appreciate your beautiful review and look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second trip to Half Moon and I was very curious to see if it was a good as the story in my head about it. I am so pleased to say it was as great, if not better, than I remember. The property is gorgeous and spacious. There happened to be a large group there for a couple of days while we there and it was very easy to avoid them since the property is so large. But what really makes Half Moon the special place it is is the caring, professional, and committed staff. It starts at the top and Shernette Crichton sets the bar very high by example. Other examples of outstanding service are Kerisha and Solomon at the Sugar Mill; Trina, Jermaine, Sheldon, Glenkirk, Robert and Jonnoy at the Stables; Everette at Seagrape, Sherine in Housekeeping; Adrian and Carl at the Spa; Desmond, Kevin, Kirk, Avalee, Gayone (sp?) and Charmaine in Room Service/Catering, and Brent in Bar Service. These individuals were absolutely wonderful as well as all the rest of the staff we encountered across the property. We have young children and everyone was SO friendly to them. It is a great place for family time, date nights, and personal time.

Room Tip: There is not a bad location on the property, but they are all quite different. I encourage you to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for again choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your family vacation. You are certainly a true Half Moon Ambassador. It was a pleasure hosting you as our treasured guests.

We are thrilled that again, you enjoyed the resort and its offerings. As you rightly states…Half Moon is gorgeous and spacious – set on 400 splendidly manicured acres, offering its guests an expanded selection activities, amenities and accommodation. Happy our very important little guests had a fabulous time, trust they visited the Anancy Children’s Village.

Thank you for the personal mention and for acknowledging the number of staff members who created another experience of a lifeime for you. I will certainly share your kind comments with everyone.

Again, it was a delight serving you; your Half Moon family looks forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My fiancé and I just returned from a week long stay. It put our minds and hearts at ease. The grounds were meticulous, the food was fabulous, and the staff at just about every turn felt like family by the time we left.

First off the location is great! We had a room on the bottom floor a mere 15 feet from the Caribbean Ocean. Sunsets on the veranda were legendary and the views spectacular. My only sadness was in being a surfer, I would've really enjoyed an opportunity to surf there, but the waves weren't conducive. That's not to say I didn't watch the 2ft right to left breaks roll along languidly wishing to get out there, but you can't control some things.

The staff is truly where Half Moon shines. We met some of the greatest people and already miss them all. Delroy, who we called the coconut man, would swing by on his bicycle an offer us up some fresh coconuts and a straw. He was such a friendly guy and never stopped smiling. Caswell, who secretly guarded the olive recipe that I did so want to steal for my own, spoke of his memories of his travels to Maine and our stomping grounds. Alvin, who was quick with a joke and always on the top of his game. The infectious smile and laugh of Dwayne in the Equestrian Center was a shining light as well as the Patois lessons. Anthony was a wealth on knowledge of Jamaican history and a really great guy, thanks for the tip on Movado, we'll be checking him out. Certainly not to be topped was Stacian, at the Sea Grape Terrace. Every morning with a shy but warm greeting. She was certainly most pleasant, and knew my fiancé wanted an ice tea every morning at breakfast after ordering it the first day. She gave us a big hug when we left to head back to Maine. We won't be able to forget her and the rest of the staff, and hope they remember us fondly as well. We definitely plan on returning at some point in the future.

The food everywhere was amazing, and I can't even begin to mention one dish without getting hungry. Not a bad meal to be had, and more fruit drink and fruit options than I have ever had access to at one place. Top notch.

In leaving Half Moon, I can assure you that we have a lifetime of great memories, and now I have a little extra weight around the middle thanks to all of the delicious foods. Without further ado, it's time to do some sit ups so I can lose some weight and go back and get chubby on great food and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing pleasant memories of your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay.

You have truly captured the whole aura of the resort – set on 400 beautifully manicured acres, the resort offers varied accommodation options, a myriad of recreational activities along with our six specialty restaurants; Half Moon is certainly the ideal option for our valued guests seeking an exciting getaway.

Thank you for highlighting the staff members - they are truly the ones who create experiences of a lifetime for our many discerning clients like yourselves. We will be delighted to share your complements with Delroy, Caswell, Avin, Dwayne, Anthony, Stacian and indeed the entire team. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

An truly lovely spot . Relaxing and beautiful with enough to keep you as busy as you want to be .
It's the first carribean hotel I have been to with an Olympic size swimming pool and a huge gym and separate weight room. The resort was fairly busy with over 70% occupancy but no where felt crowded , quite the opposite in fact with the little bays, beaches and pools . Hiring the bikes to get around looked like fun and if it's too hot to walk the golf buggy service can be availed of . I would love to come back for a family holiday and I would go for a beach view villa . I think everybody would get something our of this resort . The breakfast buffet and the lunch buffet were amazing and worth a visit .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us; thank you for your favourable comments for the resort and the array of amenities we offer. The logistics and sheer size of the property (400 acres) offer everyone their personal space and privacy -happy you enjoyed the experience. You have joined a long list of guests who have enjoyed the lap pool - certainly a favourite of our 54 swimming pools.

Again, thank you for your lovely review; the Half Moon team looks forward to creating an experience of a lifetime for you, when next you visit for a family vacation.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here in april of 2014, and this was a fantastic experience. I was there for a wedding and stayed 7 days and nights. The Villas are beautiful and you can't beat the staff. Extremely friendly and will go above and beyond for your stay. We had rented Villa 93 and the staff made the difference. The head butler Raul was very attentive and was able to provide us with everything we needed. The chef Celena continued to provide meals that would surprise us with how good it tasted. The nights we would have parties at our villa and would all go to bed with very little clean up. By the morning no matter what time we went to bed and no matter what time someone got up in the morning, Sonia our Villa maid had the place was spotless again. Very good trip and highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £220 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing