We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible new find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayeffe, La
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An incredible new find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have had the opportunity to visit Jamaica on a number of occasions and generally stay at the Royal Plantation in Ocho Rios. We are not generally a fan of all-inclusives, and wanted to try a new property along with our usual stay at The Royal. This review will be limited, since our visit was limited to about four days. The hotel is very attractive. and well maintained. We were picked up at the airport, warmly greeted, and driven to the hotel. We happened to be in an anxious state at the time, since the airlines had lost our luggage. The reception desk at the hotel was extremely accommodating and directed us to the hotel concierge, Latoya, who took over from there. She couldn't have been more helpful. She frequently updated us on the status of our luggage, arranged for purchasing a plan from Digicel for my cell phone, and made dinner and cab reservations for us. We had lunch at the Seagrape Terrace and returned to a very large suite, directly on the beach, with an oversized bathroom and large patio. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There were two televisions in the room, with a mini bar in the sitting area. The decor was West Indies style and very attractive. The lighting in the room was perfect. We had just a few steps to take from the room to the beach which was lovely and not crowded. I visited the pool area also, which was very nice and well maintained. We dined using room service the first night,at Robbies Kitchen for lunch one day, and had dinner at the Sugar Mill the next evening. We also visited a favorite in town called The Houseboat. Food at the Half Moon overall was well prepared, but somewhat limited. I think the buffet is quite extensive, which we did not order, since we usually eat smaller portions. The prices were about what you would expect from a resort of this caliber. The service was throughout the hotel is top-notch. We would definitely return to the Half Moon. I am particularly happy that they offer both the inclusive and standard room pricing options. All in all, a very enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Our room number was suite 801, which we found was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    325
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
711
581
44
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

All in all, we could not be happier with how Half Moon accommodated our wedding group. Their property is second to none and the staff is exceptional. When we did run into small issues, they were resolved timely and efficiently. Shanoya Watson (one of Half Moon's wedding planners) is simply amazing and we cannot say enough good things about her. We hosted a welcome reception on the outside lawn of their Sugar Mill restaurant and had our wedding on sunrise beach with our reception at the royal pavilion. We had a local band called PACE perform at our wedding and they were absolutely ridiculous. Had all 50 of our guests rocking the dance floor for 3 straight hours. They are sooooo good and play all up to date music from every genre. Can't say enough about them. The food across the resort is excellent, too- it is not your standard buffet cheap food.

The only piece of constructive feedback that we would give evolves around Half Moon's pricing model. We knew going into our wedding that there was a price premium to have our wedding at Half Moon- and we are not complaining about that. Their property is worth every penny. However, I think there are significant opportunities of improvement to not only simplify their pricing model but to have it communicated more effectively upfront as well. It can get very confusing as it is very a la carte and varies based on many fluctuating factors. And I am speaking specifically from the perspective of hosting a wedding there don't forget. Happy to provide more details privately to anyone looking to host a wedding here. All in all, not one complaint- they have their act together!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family enjoyed a great return visit to Half Moon. We love all of the amenities at HM, including tennis, spa, Pilates, great work out room, golf, swim with the dolphins and the bikes for cruising. The staff is so friendly, the rooms spacious with great views and the pace is very laid back. Because the property is so large (over 400 acres), you never feel like it is crowded. Also, everyone has a great view, as the rooms are scattered by the beach. Food is tasty but a bit expensive, so you may want to consider the inclusive plan. Just love Half Moon!

Room Tip: If your room is not directly on the beach, you'll get your own private pool (and the beach is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just spent the most memorable 4 days in Villa 94 with what we called the "dream team" staff. Rochester, Paula and Nurshette were the absolute best and made our stay WONDERFUL. Whatever we needed we had and where ever we wanted to go Rochester took us. Very top notch place and staff!! Thank you very much for giving us such a nice team, we were honored to spend time with them.

Room Tip: Any villa with the dream team as your staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your tripadvisor review following your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort.

We are happy your expectations were exceeded. Our many guests continue to enjoy the ambiance of a luxurious private home setting that the Royal Villas offer. The villas are truly a perfect choice for families and friends who seek the privacy, seclusion and comfort of a home away from home experience. We are thrilled you fully enjoyed your villa experience and the hospitality from our top notch staff: Rochester, Paula and Nurshette.

We are pleased you had a wonderful stay; your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back home soon..

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Villas and I would like to thank our staff, Edward Clark, Carmen Lindsey and Carlene Kennedy. They were wonderfully gracious hosts. They accommodated and anticipated everything that we asked for or needed and it was always, "No Problem" This is a beautiful place to stay and I absolutely loved my time there. I highly recommend this resort. It's a beautiful place to relax while having the time of your life!

Thank you all, from Becky and Ray!

Room Tip: As I said, we stayed in the Villas, it's like its own little community.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled you had another experience of a lifetime during you recent stay with us.

Half Moon is certainly a family resort – there is never a dull moment with our wide selection of recreational activities be it Golf, Tennis, Fitness, spa, equestrian, water sports or dolphin lagoon.

I am delighted you enjoyed your beautifully appointed suite accommodation, with its breath-taking beachfront view.

Thank you for again selecting Half Moon, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit in the not-so-distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We would like to extend our thanks, gratitude and appreciation for the team who served us during that week, Cassel, Dawn and Tracey ( I might have misspelt the names).
We enjoyed a high level of service, care and respect. They have been always available for us whenever needed, we truly felt at home.
We highly recommend them to all other guests visiting the resort.

Room Tip: we enjoyed Villa #26 with Kassel as the butler
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is nice hearing that our team created an experience of a lifetime for you during your recent visit with the Half Moon, A RockResort family.

Happy you enjoyed your villa experience – the villa concept certainly provides a ‘home away from home’ atmosphere. We thank you for your beautiful comments for the staff, we will be sure to share them with the team particularly Cassel, Dawn and Tracey.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for sharing your review; We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great service by Ferdinand, Pamela and Beverly. We would certainly visit again. We will never forget our special time in Villa #97. Great food, activities, beaches. Clean rooms and great weather. Loved the bikes and golf carts. Keep the doors closed at night or some very large insects will visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for the favourable review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We are delighted you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience; the villas surely offer that “homey” feel.

Happy our dedicated villa team of Ferdinand, Pamela and Beverly created a memorable experience for you and your group.

It was a pleasure hosting you; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing