We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a wonderful time in Jamaica. The resort was beautiful. The villas cook, housekeeper, and butler were great and very accommodating. Ms. Beverly was our cook and the food was delicious. Pamela kept our room and our clothes clean. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Happy you enjoyed your recent Royal Villa stay at Half Moon A RockResort. The villa staff are usually very accommodating as they endeavour to create ‘Royal’ experiences for our many guests. We will share your compliments with Beverly the cook, Pamela the housekeeper and certainly the butler.

We continue to be committed to provide our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry, and thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I left our husbands at home for a 5 day vacation at Half Moon Bay. It was amazing! At 6 months pregnant I felt like every employee was watching out for me and willing to go above and beyond to make me comfortable. The massages as the Fern Spa were some of the best I have ever has. We enjoyed all the different amenities from snorkeling to tennis, miniature golf to massages. The property is beautiful and morning walks were a favorite. Saturday night there were three wedding happening simultaneously at the resort but because of the layout and size they easily spread folks out and we sill felt like we were on our own private vacation. Oh and last but not least, make sure you try the frozen mojitos and de

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A combination of business and pleasure the few days spent at the Half Moon was heavenly! I stayed in a Deluxe room with a fabulous view of the sea. The bedroom was comfortable and the bed heavenly! The unit offered a downstairs living and full kitchen but with the fabulous dining options I honestly did not bother. I also was lucky enough to visit the Villas and they are marvelous offering private pools and personal butler service. The resort felt like a small beachfront village equipped with shops and almost any type of restaurant you can imagine my favorite was Robbie's Kitchen for lunch, food was delicious although service as really slow so be prepared to be patient. We had a memorable evening at Prakash Indian and Thai Restaurant food was delicious we let our wait staff suggest the meals and it was great! A special evening at the Seagrape Terrace rounded out the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second trip to Half Moon, I don't know why we waited 20 years to return, this trip was fantastic! We had a quick four days to spend at the resort, and they were perfect in every way. Summer rates gave us 30% savings on a duplex room with two floors and two bedrooms and bathrooms and a kitchen. My husband and I were traveling with our teenage children, so this was ideal. The resort provided a free shuttle to and from the airport, arrival had us in the VIP lounge for a flawless check in. The resort encompasses 400 acres and 2 miles of beaches, many that are little private inlets. We felt as though we were staying on a private island…no need to leave the resort……way too much to do there!

Golf and tennis facilities are state of the art….tennis is all new. Full work out area and hugh spa with outstanding services. I highly recommend the Cocoon Wrap. Food was a 12 on a scale of 1-10. You could see, feel and taste the effort that went into each menu offering and every plated dish. Buffets differed each day for breakfast and lunch with a bountiful assortment, richly presented and mostly served at stations. Imaginative offerings included mashed potato martini bars, taco stations, smoothies of various types and some of the best fish dishes around. We ate in all the restaurants including Robby's next door and all were very, very good. A special shout out to Giorgio Rusconi and his team for making the food and beverage offering delicious and memorable.

The hotel offers golf carts for rent, and we did get one to get around, also added to the fun. There are bicycles for the taking as well. The beach is lovely, best part were the private little coves that if you are lucky like we were, you will get use of these " mini beaches" for your own private use. Nothing like sun salutations on your own private little strip of sand! Also, since they are private, there were no outside predators trying to sell you jewels or braid your hair. There was a small area on the main beach set up with handmade wares etc, done in a respectable and upscale offering for those who are interested. There are a variety of water sports offered as well with catamarans, kayaks and paddle boats.

The hotel has over 50 pools, many are part of the villas, but all public ones are terrific, there is even a swim up bar pool and an olympic size pool. The spa also has a pool.The resort has it's own Dolphin Cove where you can swim with and train the dolphins, as well as horseback riding on the beach. There is a new, extremely large and lovely children's area with all kinds of outdoor swings and a vast play area.

The hotel has excellent service and offers something for everyone, whether you are traveling with your spouse, friends or your family…there is appeal for all. We cannot wait to return…and this time, it will not take 20 years!!! Great, in every way. Relaxing and elegant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmom526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from another stay at Half Moon! I totally agree with the reviews stating that this property is first class in every area..........location, dining, accommodations and golf are all wonderful! But it is truly the staff that has us return year after year! Thank you, Simone, Sheritta, Winston, Caswell, Wills, Reneaka, Deaneaka, Mario, StaciAnn, Rubina and Mark you truly make Half Moon a magical destination!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

We thank you for sharing review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience.

We are thrilled you had another great time with your Half Moon family; it was truly a pleasure serving you again.

Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our many discerning guests and make each visit special.

The Half Moon family appreciates your patronage, and looks forward to your next visit in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Exceptional, you really do pay for what you get. This is clearly the most exclusive resort in Montego Bay. What a relaxing place with no distractions, noisy children or anything to break the tranquillity.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful resort...fabulous beaches...private, secluded and mostly yours.....hop between the sandy beaches and the pools dotted through out the resort.....rooms are fabulous have your own kitchen-ette to store, prepare and even cook.....Hire a bike, buggy, mini golf, tennis.....all on site.....
Chilled, friendly and safe.....

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,479 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,857 reviews
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £202 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing