We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding - May 2014”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding - May 2014”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had our wedding on May 10th, 2014 and we could not have been happier with the outcome. It was a large group and we booked a few of the villas.. The staff at the villas were absolutely amazing.. At the end of the trip they felt like family and we were all sad to leave. They were extremely proficient in the planning of our special day as well as all the events leading up to it.. Everyone at the resort went above and beyond to ensure our trip was a success. There were also some great restaurants on site that I know some of my guests truly enjoyed.

Room Tip: When traveling with large groups - the villas are definitely the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCP2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients; thank you for choosing Half Moon as the resort of choice for your very special occasion.

Half Moon, A RockResort, is one of the premier wedding destinations in Jamaica; we offer a wide array of extraordinary choices in accommodation, dining and breathtaking venues, which create the perfect backdrop for romance.

Our Romance Specialists are experts in planning and managing beautiful customized weddings and constantly deliver experiences that leave an indelible footprint that will be cherished forever; as was the case of your wedding. We will be happy to share on your compliments with the Romance team.

Again, thank you selecting Half Moon and for sharing your tripadvisor review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your first Anniversary and many more. Congratulations!

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    330
    105
    58
    32
See reviews for
728
594
48
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of the best hotel that I have had a vacation. Everything and every aspect was perfect. I am very big on customer service and this was certainly exhibited.

Room
This was spacious and comfortable with a lovely jacuzzi. I had a room that was in front of the beach and in the afternoons, I would come out on my balcony and relax.

Food
This was excellent and importantly, ypu must try the sugar mill restaurant. The food was excellent and the ambiance was so breathtaking.

Overall. I enjoyed both horse riding and as well cycling which I did for exercise.

Overall, the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta-gaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon for your recent vacation and for sharing your review on tripadvisor; it was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests.

Half Moon offers a diversity of activities, including Golf, Tennis, Equestrian, Dolphin Lagoon, happy you enjoyed the horseback riding –it's oneof the preferred activities among our guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed not only your accommodation but your dining experience at Sugar Mill – another favourite dining option.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your Half Mon experience – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Half Moon property and staff are amazing! Our family had a wonderful week at Half Moon. The rooms are incredibly clean, spacious and attractively decorated. Our Hibscus suite had lobely ocean views and two porches. The beaches and water sports are top notch. We enjoyed our meals at the restaurants on site and off the resort. The cuisine with Jamiaican flair is top notch. I particularly loved the delicious and abundant breakfast buffet with wonderful local fruit. My family had a blast taking advantage of all the outdoor activities from tennis, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming with dolphins, fishing etc. The conceirge arranged for us to have a very fun outing going to Dunn's River Falls--very memorable! I was so impressed with the lovely staff and how welcome they make you feel and how the attend to every detail. Half Moon is a wonderful resort and we look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Hibscus Suites since they are right on the ocean and near the pools/tennis/mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort was wonderful, thank you for sharing your beautiful review on tripadvisor.

Half Moon, A RockResort , the perfect vacation destination for couples and familes, sits on 400 exquisitely manicured acres, offering numerous recreational activities and amenities to include: tennis, water sports Golf, dolphin lagoon – to name a few. Happy you got the opportunity to experience and enjoy some to the activities on property and
the Dunn’s River Falls(off property)…one of the favourite attractions among our visitors.

We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience; the chefs from our six restaurants surely know how to tantalize the taste buds of our many discerning clients.

Thank you for recognizing the team whose goal is always to create and experience of a lifetime for our many valued guests. Again, we sincerely appreciate your review, the Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back home in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our taxi driver told us this was the most expensive hotel on Jamaica.
And it sure was. But I don't know why? I'm sure in it's hey day it was probably magnificent but times have changed and other far better hotels and resorts have opened on Jamiaca.
For a start the resort is too large. And therefore attention to detail has been lost. Which when you are paying top dollar you expect.
Our room was ok, but only ok. It had been recently repainted, but badly, paint was splattered over steps, bathroom fittings, tiles etc, shower heads were loose or hanging off, taps and fittings I felt were cheap, shoddy for a suite at $1000 plus per night.
I went to buy two packets of crisps for my kids, and the very sweet barman warned me it was going to cost $12, I walked away, (clearly I wasn't the first) somewhat in shock, minus the crisps. Later bought some from a shop off site, ten minutes away for $1.00. Sure I expected to pay more from the bar but that kind of thing just leaves me cold and feeling very ripped off.
This resort is fine, swimming pools, beaches etc are all great, it's just too expensive.
And quite honestly why go to Jamaica and stay here, could have been anywhere once you were inside the gates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluebellChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Feedback from our valued customers are always appreciated; we thank you for sharing review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We regret that you did not fully enjoy your experience.

Half Moon set on 400 splendidly kept manicured acres, offering its guests an expanded selection activities, amenities and accommodation. The ‘spread out’ configuration of the property gives our guests the privacy and seclusion they yearn.

Half Moon is celebrating its 60th Anniversary this year, we do our best to create a balance between our guests who love the old world charm and those who like the modern contemporary feel therefore, we offer our clients an old charm mixed with modern style; creating still a luxurious product.

We do apologise for any shortcoming experienced with your accommodation and thank you for your patience while we addressed the concerns.

We are pleased that notwithstanding the areas that did not exceed your expectations, you found the resort , its beach, swimming pools and other facilities ‘great’ . Again, thank you for your feedback, we trust you will give us another opportunity to turn your experience around.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Are you kidding me? How could this hotel be so highly rated? This was the worst all-inclusive resort that I've ever been to. I recently returned from a destination wedding to the resort and was sorely disappointed.
First of all, they charge you $50 per person per room at check in for "incidentals". They then nickel and dime you the entire stay. From a $6.60 delivery charge for room service to $5 for the small bag of cookies in your room, you are charged for everything outside of non-bottled drinks and food in select restaurants. I could not believe that we had to sign a receipt for meals every time that we ate and pay a deposit for rusty old bikes. Every member of my party was charged for something they didn't use at check out. I was told by the manager that they were not an all-inclusive resort, even though we paid the all-inclusive rate. Who does that? It's ridiculous!
Outside of the rooms, there is very little air conditioning throughout the 400 acre campus. I love JAMAICA, but it's much too hot to go without ac. Finally, the food was sub-par. I got sick on a few occasions. I was glad that my brother drove off site for local fare. I would never recommend this hotel!
The two stars are for the smiles and great treatment by the staff. We especially loved Omar. He was always right there to help whenever we needed him, almost as if he read our minds. Otherwise, not deserving of the other high ratings.

Room Tip: We had a fantastic room because my mother needed wheelchair assistance. The handicap able junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing candid feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of our offerings and regret that you departed feeling dissatisfied.

We recognized that your dissatisfaction may have resulted from mis-communication upon check-in and apologise that your briefing may not have been detailed, hence we will endeavor to clarify a few of the pertinent concerns raised in your review.

•Half Moon is not an all-inclusive resort – we offer inclusive packages …tailored to fit the varying desires of our many guests.
•The deposit charged is an international practice – this is held to offset any incidental charges such as telephone, tips etc. that guests may incur – if not utilized a refund is made.
•Half Moon places high emphasis on the health, safety and wellbeing of our guests and as such, our nurse is mandated to record and report any food related illness treated; and we in turn, report same to our Public Health Department. During your stay we have no record of food related illness. Notwithstanding, we trust that you are feeling better and regret any discomfort encountered.

Half Moon, A RockResort is truly a first-class facility, we generally succeed in satisfying or most discerning clients; we regret that you departed feeling disappointed, resulting in your comment that you will not return neither recommend Half Moon; we trust my response will clarify the issues you had during your brief visit as a wedding guest.

Despite the various concerns we are happy you received great treatment from the staff in particular Omar – thank you for the compliments.

Again, we thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

All four of us, two adults and two very active 11 yr old boys, had a wonderful time at Half Moon, on Montego Bay. Our rooms, a suite of two bedrooms and one living room with a pull out couch with two lovely porches overlooking the water, were very, clean, large and comfortable. We ate several meals on the 400 acre facility and all of them were excellent, the highlight being dinner at the Sugar Mill. The Swim Up Bar was a big hit with the boys as well where they were big fans of the virgin Pina Coladas! ( The bartenders there have endless patience.)
Getting around was easy either on rented bikes or staff driven golf carts or shuttle buses.
There was more than enough to do and the boys and their mom were on the go with tennis lessons. tubing, snorkeling, swimming with dolphins or swimming in both Montego Bay or in one of the several pools. Oh yes...The Spa was pretty terrific as well.
The staff was exceptional and really couldn't seem to do enough for us, whether it was making change at the front desk, getting us where we needed to go or anything else we asked. I never heard a negative word the entire time we were there
All in all it was exceptional experience and I'd reccomend The Half Moon to anyone in search relaxation and fun in glorious, elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share review on your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on Trip Advisor.

You have echoed the sentiment of so many of our esteemed guests; Half Moon, set on 400 beautifully manicured acres, offers a myriad of attractions, amenities, dining options and unique accommodations.

We are delighted your family enjoyed their experience especially our Very Important Little Guests; Half Moon is certainly a family resort – there is never a dull moment with our wide range of recreational activities be it Golf, Tennis, Fitness, spa, equestrian, water sports, Dolphin lagoon, or not be left out, our Swim-up bar which is a on course a favourite. Happy you enjoyed your dining experience especially at the Sugar Mill...another favourite among our many discerning clients.

Again, thank you for your lovely review, you are truly a Half Moon Ambassador; we look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my first trip to Jamaica. We stayed here for four nights, which was perfect. We were a group of five people, three adults and one child. We had two separate Junior Suites overlooking the ocean. We were with our grandson who is ten years old. Everything was wonderful. Since it is off season, there were not a lot of people and it seemed like we had the whole resort practically all to ourselves. We had the all inclusive plan which was great and included bikes for the entire stay.

Our suite was very specious with a wonderful view. We were on the second floor.

All of the employees were exceptional, they were extremely accommodating and friendly.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyNiNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisior is much appreciated. We are pleased that you and your family had a wonderful vacation. Staying in one of our very popular accommodation; our Junior Suites nested on our west bay beach giving a panoramic view of the bay.

Thank you for recognizing our exceptional service. We are delighted that you will be back and look forward to welcoming you ‘home’ in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing