We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice bitten”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Twice bitten”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Half Moon July 2nd to 7th, 2014. We wanted to get away from the festivities of 4th of July weekend. As avid visitors to Jamaica (at least twice a year), we have stayed at numerous All Inclusive and European plans hotel throughout Jamaica these include Ritz Carlton, Iberostar, Grand Palladium, Jamaica Grand, Holiday Inn Sunspree, and all the Rius. . So far, none has compared to Half Moon. We were elated at the peacefulness of the place, the kindness, friendliness and professionalism of the staff, from front desk, bar, waiters, bell service, housekeepers, the horse stable guys and even the gardeners. We truly felt as if we were home. The easy access to the beach, and the availability of beach chairs at all times and continuous beach attendants services, and the LACK of over crowdedness was superb. Half Moon was truly a place that promotes R and R. To put the icing on the cake, the men provided us with mangos from the premises and coconut water upon request. We were sooooo thrilled with the service received at Half Moon that we decided to revisit on July 13th to the 17th, 2014 to attend our British Cousins wedding. We met and became friends with other returning Half Moon guests who reiterated how excellent Half Moon has been. Keisha, Bernicey, Ellerton, Mr Smart, Ravij, Richard and many others made us feel special. On our 1st visit we stayed in cottage 167, which we loved. On Our second visit we stayed in cottage 49. The rooms, space in both cottages were spacious, the beds were clean, smelled freshly washed. These rooms sizes exceeded all the other hotels I have stayed in Jamaica. There was not a time when our requests were not reached or completed in a timely manner. The evening entertainment was also a lot of fun. Overall Half Moon is the best hotel we have stay in in Jamaica. The patio/verandah/deck, provided excellent lounging experience. Half Moon will always be our home away from home. We loved our stay at Half Moon so much that we planned to return next year for a family reunion.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in had an immediate access to the beach, is quiet and free of clutter. I also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar1193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    332
    107
    58
    32
See reviews for
738
597
48
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When I called Amex to choose between Half Moon and Round Hill, the agent there kept raving about how amazing Half Moon was, and to stay there. Against my better judgment from online reviews and pictures, I decided to give it a try. I had Amex arrange a private driver to pick us up from the airport. Upon arrival, when we go to the Half Moon lounge, no one says anything about our private driver. Instead, they have us wait for 45 minutes and then tell us they can only put us on a shuttle. After much confusion and some attitude (my favorite quote from one of the lounge employees "How do I know you really booked a private driver? Where is your proof?") and more waiting, about 90 minutes later it is in fact confirmed we have a private driver and there he arrives. Ok, strike one. Strike two, we get to the hotel arond 2:55 and they tell us check in is not until 3. Ok, that is in 5 minutes, I say, so our room should be ready? Plus with FHR you get early check in. They tell us that a large family had stayed in our room before (I'm not sure how because they put us in a tiny room, but ok) and housekeeping was having trouble cleaning all of the mess. Um, ew, gross, I don't really want to hear that before I am about to check in. So they ask us to go eat lunch. We wait around till about 430 before we have to chase down an employee, who has to chase down the manager, to finally learn oh yes, your room is ready. Strike two. In terms of the room itself, it was not in any way luxurious. We had been upgraded to a "suite" but I don't know how you can call a 500 sq ft room with the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen a suite. Oh by the way, the bed was soaking wet, the air conditioner didn't work properly, and the internet did not work at all. Later that afternoon we decide to go to the bar on the beach and order some drinks. Apparently, at this resort, nobody really takes their job seriously because at the bar all the bartenders and servers were gathered around a huge TV screen entranced by some soccer game. We wait 15 minutes to get someone's attention, 15 minutes for them to make my husband a drink, then 10 minutes for them to tell me they have no coconut water. I ask them if they could just get some from room service or a different bar on site and they said no. Then another 20 minutes to get a check. Strike three, what is this place? For the prices we are paying this is NOT luxury or service. The entire weekend (and we were only there two nights) was just full of problems like this, from room service taking OVER two hours to make a delivery (!!!) to rude employees, to just a general lack of service. Our flight was canceled Sunday, and we ended up going to Round Hill (please read my review on that, because staying there will change your whole opinion on Jamaica).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank jenesaisquoiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share a review on your visit with us.

We sincerely regret the problematic encounters that you had during your recent visit to Half Moon and please accept our deepest apology for the areas of your stay that did not live up to the true Half Moon standard during this visit.

Thank you again for your feedback. Should you decide to visit us in the future please feel free to contact me at dbarber@halfmoon.com

Yours sincerely,

David Barber
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love Half Moon Resort, especially the villas. It's a good retreat for families as well as honeymooners, and while it is not all inclusive, there are packages available. On property there is the Dolphin experience, beautiful beach, fantastic food. With the villas you get your own golf cart to ride around in. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: In the villas, choose one near the beach. The others you want oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Half Moon, A RockResort team appreciates you sharing review on your recent visit with us.

We are happy you hand a ‘Royal’ experience, as you correctly stated the villas ranging from four, five, six or seven en suite bedrooms, are the preferred choice for groups, families and friends who seek the privacy and ambiance of a home away from home atmosphere. Each villa is staffed with a butler, cook and housekeeper, who are on hand to ensure that you enjoy a relaxed and pampered experience.

We are delight you also enjoyed the Dolphin Lagoon – this is one of the favourites among our many attractions.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort, the team looks forward to creating another experience of a lifetim for you.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my second time to Half Moon Bay resort. My husband and I stayed there 14 years ago. We stayed in a one bedroom villa. This year, the entire family came and we rented a large house (Villa). it was the perfect vacation for all of us! We didn't have to lift a finger. We usually all pitch in to cook, clean, grocery shop and do laundry. The staff was amazing! They did it all! A truly restful vacation on a peaceful and beautiful part of Jamaica. There was something for everyone...biking, golf, scuba, snorkeling, tennis, gym. Worth every penny! Ferdinand, Beverly and Pamella were excellent and highly recommended. The property hasn't changed much over the years, but that's what keeps it true to the "peacefulness" of Half Moon. July was the perfect time to go. The rates were lower and it was not crowded at all. I'm not sure I would even want to go during the peak season. The weather was breezy and warm...perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borrmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A friend of mine planned a guys weekend in June , through a travel agent , and all charges for the villa were to be charged to his credit card. I used my Amex credit card at the commissary ( run by a 3rd party ) to buy some groceries. When I received my Amex bill I had a charge from the resort for $4200 , the same charge that they put on my friends credit card for the weekend stay. So we were double billed but also more concerning was how did the hotel get my Amex credit card as it was not on file ! As of 6 weeks later the Hotel has still not reversed the charge for the double billing despite having all the details as they claim they do not know how the billing got on my credit card ???????

Very frustrating - I would highly recommend not staying at this resort given the lack of management at the resort to resolve a LARGE overbilling. This smells of some local corruption.

Room Tip: Low Rate Rooms back onto busy Highway so ask for beachfront , if you want to risk the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It was certainly a pleasure welcoming you home again. We thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are happy this visit was just as enjoyable as 25 years ago; and you fully enjoyed the resort, amenities, and the warm and friendly hospitality from our devoted team.

Thank you for your patronage, your Half Moon family looks forward to serving you again – we are sure you will not wait another 25 years.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Half Moon 25 years ago for our Honeymoon and our return visit was just as wonderful. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Royal Suite at the West Cottages end of the beach. We had a private patio right outside our front door with the beach just a few steps away. The water was beautiful and the amenities abound. All the staff were friendly, gracious, and always greeted you with a smile. Great for families, or just a getaway for two. We highly recommend this resort to anyone.

A special shout out to Alison Sewell who we worked with in reservations did an excellent job working with us on the right spot on the property for us. She was a pleasure to work with.

Other shout outs include Michael and Wesley at the Seagrape Terrace, Jason at Cedars Bar, and Mark Chin the Seagrape supervisor...just to name a few of the many folks who worked there.

Room Tip: Unless you are renting cottages for 10 - 15 people, we highly recommend the west side of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It was certainly a pleasure welcoming you home again. We thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are happy this visit was just as enjoyable as 25 years ago; and you fully enjoyed the resort, amenities, and the warm and friendly hospitality from our devoted team.

Thank you for your patronage your Half Moon family looks forward to serving you again – we are sure you will not wait another 25 years.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from Jamaica the island is beautiful. Half Moon is the place to be! The staff are warm and friendly. The scenery is breathtaking. The cuisine was appetizing. Great experience..can't wait to visit again

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your recent vacation. We are pleased you relished your experience with us not only the beauty for our 400 acres beautifully manicured property but the cuisine and ofcourse the warmth and friendliness of the staff.

It was our pleasure serving; we do look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,352 reviews
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,744 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing