We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just came back from 4 wonderful nights at Half Moon. We stayed in the royal suite and my husband and I wish we could have stayed longer. We definitely plan on going back. The staff was great! The property is very nice and clean. Very close to the airport. Also, please get out the resort and try the local jerk a few minutes away.

Room Tip: The royal suite has a lot of space and steps from the beach. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

It was great having you as our guests and thank you for celebrating your special occasion with our Half Moon family.

We are pleased your stay was all you anticipated and that you will be returning – affording us the opportunity to create another memorable experience. Scotchie’s Jerk Centre is a favourite for guests and locals!

We look forward to welcoming you back and celebrating many more special occasions.


Yours sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We've been at this resort many times had lovely romantic dinners and got hooked on red stripes when we went there the first time we can't put them down we have them in her car him in about even having a rocket The food is very very delightful there a love having steak and eggs for breakfast very nice among the birds and wildlife out on the terrace lovely lovely nice beach lovely Villa Villa just like we had our own little private house

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank nasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

The sharing of your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor is much appreciated. Red Stripe is indeed a very popular drink for many of our guests as well as the favourite beer for Jamaicans.

We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your Half Moon experience and in particular our culinary treats. Your patronage is valued and we look forward to welcoming you back home.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for the second time and wish we had more time. The setting is beautiful, the room, pool, and beach are marvelous. The golf course is pleasant, and not too tough - perfect for a vacation. Our caddy, Cecil, remembered us from last year, and was remarkable.

The staff are all wonderful - especially Carol, the concierge, Richard, waiter at Sea Grape, and our favorite bartenders at the Cedar Bar, Caswell, Ellerton, and Mario.

We were there on the all inclusive golf package, and thought the rates were very reasonable.

We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments about your return visit to Half Moon.

Our dedicated staff is our greatest asset and we are delighted our team members mentioned created an experience of a lifetime for you.

We are also happy our Total Golf Experience package which affords an all-inclusive stay with golf at three of the island’s premier courses provided a great value.

Your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you again and again.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Very beautiful resort complex, if a bit stuffy. Great activities, including snorkeling, tennis, basketball. Recommend using bicycles to get around the complex. Great setting, and good accommodations for family of four. Don't be afraid to get off property and enjoy some of the local restaurants, which will help offset the pricy onsite dining options

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Half Moon takes great pride in being the complete resort and vacation experience. We are delighted you and your family indulged in some of the many activities available.

Jamaica is truly about rich and diverse flavours and we encourage our guest to sample this by visiting nearby restaurants.

Thank you sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I are very happy we chose Half Moon as the place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was the perfect place to relax, unwind, reflect, and celebrate this milestone. We have been to hotels and resorts in many different countries and have to say this is one of the best stays so far. The service is truly beyond compare and the staff does it with a special "charm" that is so unique to Half Moon. That special touch is evident in security at the gate, housekeeping staff, the pool attendants, groundskeepers, and the lady who sells souvenirs under the tree. I cannot remember all the names, but some of the ones I remember are Paula, Jodie, and Donesha in the office and Marvette, and Everette in the Seagrapes restaurant and the hotel manager Shernette Crichton.

On top of their excellent service, the amenities were also great. the resort is close to the airport and the city of Mobay. The concierge are masters at helping you plan shopping or dining excursions and they will book your transportation. Some restaurants offer pick up and drop off services also. The grounds were immaculate and the landscaping can truly be appreciated by those that are environmentally conscious. There are a variety of local fruit trees and the staff is happy to educate you about the variety and pick them for tasting when asked. It is a large property, but there are golf carts to get around. The Friday Night Beach Bar-B-Q was fun and the food was delicious.

We so miss laying in our Hibiscus suite looking out at the crystal blue waters, listening to the gentle crashing of the waves as we drift off to sleep wishing we did not have to leave. The memories created during this stay will be with us for a very long time.

We had a wonderful stay at Half Moon and are already planning our next trip!.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that we created a memorable and the best vacation experience for your milestone anniversary celebration. We truly appreciate you celebrating your special occasion with the Half Moon family and thank you for sharing these lovely comments on tripadvisor.

Beyond the natural beauty of the resort, is the welcoming embrace extended by every level of staff, whose true desire is to learn the idiosyncrasies of our guests and make each visit special. We are pleased that our team members mentioned created fond experiences for you. Thank you for the personal recognition, it was great connecting with you during your stay.

Our Hibiscus suites are very popular with honeymooners and guests celebrating special occasions, this suite offers oversized bathrooms with soaking tubs, expansive balconies perfect for in-room dining and are just steps away from the sea. We are happy you thoroughly enjoyed your Hibiscus suite and your overall experience.

The interactions you described with our staff are testament to our promise of delivering experiences of a lifetime; thank you for recognizing our efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back and celebrating your many special occasions in the years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at Half Moon. 13 of us celebrating my parents 50th anniversary. Stayed in a beautiful 7 bedroom villa with private pool. Perfect for large families or groups of friends. Staff so attentive and friendly making us feel like we were all family and right at home. There is something for everyone. Golf, tennis, spa, relax on the beach or pool, horseback riding, kids club, swim with the dolphins. My only complaint is my trip went too fast! We are all talking about going back again! Half Moon is truly a special place.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14triciamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort and Jamaica for celebrating your parents special milestone. We are pleased that the hospitality extended by our staff made you feel right at home; this is our aim.

As you stated there is something for everyone, at Half Moon the possibilities that await our guests are endless, there are activities specially crafted for the sports enthusiast, the adventurous, our younger guests and for those who want to do nothing but relax.

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience on tripadvisor and look forward to welcoming you back !

Yours sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Half Moon and were so sad to leave! We stayed in a junior suite (room 50) and were blown away by the location and amazing accommodation. We were literally 5 steps from the beautiful beach from our French doors. The room was updated, clean and spacious. The beach was quiet and pristine. They have beach attendants combing the beach and plenty of water activities. The water and sunsets are amazing.
A short 10 minute ride from the airport put us on the beach with cocktail in hand by 2pm!
The resort was very quiet when we were there. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and lack of crowds. We had bikes while there and enjoyed exploring the grounds.
The food was good. Our favorite meal was at Sugar Mill. Outstanding food and service. Sea grape Terrace was nice for lunch and breakfast.
The staff were amazing. Everyone was truly so nice and welcoming and thanking us for coming to their island. Really? No, thank YOU. Thank you for being pleasant, courteous, helpful and amiable at every moment.
We can't wait to go back. This resort offers it all: beautiful accommodations, superb service, wonderful food and steps from the beach. What more could you want??

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lrebillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your beautiful description of our 60 year old resort and the varied experiences we offer valued clients like yourselves. We are very pleased that this was a perfect getaway where you were able to truly relax and rejuvenate.

Most of our beautifully appointed accommodations are literally just steps away from the sea as you have so aptly described. Dining at the Sugar Mill is a very popular experience for many of our guests as this restaurant offers a very romantic setting and recently copped three coveted local awards – Best Place to Dine, Restaurant of the Year and an Icon Award; we are every proud of the Sugar Mill team.

We appreciate the recognition of our staff members who are truly the ones who create the fun and memorable experiences that keep our guests coming back year after year. Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on your vacation experience with the Half Moon family on tripadvisor. We look forward to your return visit.

Yours sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £200 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing