We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soak in the relaxation at this posh quiet resort”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We had the "Good Life" package that included a Superior Room. Our room, 205, was on the second floor of a cottage. You enter the cottage with a key, then traverse a flight of stairs to get to your door. The room had 4 windows, one with a view of the ocean through the palm trees, and a small wrap around balcony with a table and chairs and view of the ocean and grounds. It was modern enough, and quite clean. It had a nice a/c unit that worked perfectly. The room was 18 X18 and included a walk-in closet, large king sized 4 poster bed, two comfy chairs, a desk and chair for work, ports for internet connections, a refrigerator, and small TV. See my posted photos. It was very classy with a touch of modern. The bathroom was adequate, large enough, but not particularly luxurious. All in all, this room was splendid for its purpose. Quiet, relaxing, comforting and very spacious for the two of us.

The room was located in the Oleander section. This is a 5-7 minute walk to the main hotel area where the Seagrape Restaurant, Hotel Lobby, and main swim area is located. This meant we were close enough without being on top of the action. We looked forward to our stroll through the gardens to get to the main area. It was near the Spa and the Fitness Center and a two minute walk to that amazing 50M lap pool.

We went during a time when there were very few guests for whatever reason. It was as if we had the grounds to ourselves. Immediately noticeable was all of the hotel employees constantly cleaning, planting, pruning, etc. The grounds are immaculate, particularly for it's size. the gardens are lovely and there are paths to walk or bike ride at your leisure.

The water is truly turquoise and clear, though fish are hard to find. The main swim area is a delight to be in, and one can practice their open water swimming if they so desire. Pull up a chair in the shade provided by a palm tree or palapa and you can almost spit into the ocean it is so close. There is bar service at the beach so you can sip pina coladas, relax and soak in the view and the sounds of the ocean in perfect relaxation.

Our experience at the spa was equally delightful. We had a couples massage followed by a spell in the steam room where we were handed a glass of refreshment. Now I get a kick out of being served a drink on the beach but being served a drink in the steam room?? Now that is a touch of class.

The restaurants were hit and miss. We only ate at the Seagrape, Sugar Mill and Il Giardino restaurants. Service at the restaurants was OK but that depends on your expectation. If you are expecting world class service as you might at a 5 star restaurant in NYC you will be disappointed. If you accept you are at a resort in Jamaica you will be pleasantly surprised. This means that most of the time they will get your order right, and serve it on time. Occasionally there will be a miscommunication or two, a longer wait than perhaps you expected, or the food just not cooked quite as you were told. It is Jamaica so you do need to roll with the punches so to speak and don't let it get to you. I would recommend going with the "specials" of the day, and avoid the steaks. That said, we enjoyed nearly every meal, but if we had been paying the prices charged, rather than being on the all inclusive meal plan, we would have been a bit upset at the quality of some of the dishes. Of the 3, Seagrapes and Sugar Mill are the standouts, Il Giardino has a way to go.

The same is true of the mixed drinks. We never had a pina colada that tasted the same twice. It seemed that it was be completely different, with different ingredients, depending on who made the drink. On evening the electricity was down and we were told no blender drinks from one of our hostesses. But the other just went to a different bar area that had power and got the drink for us. Another time my wife asked what was in her dish. The waiter said it contained crab meat and my wife returned the dish (the menu had not said it contained crab meat). Later the waiter returned and said, sorry, but that it did not contain crab meat. About two thirds of the time we would be told of the specials without asking. Why they don't advise you every time we could not figure out. So, do ask every time about the specials. If you ask for instance what flavor ice cream they have, and you don't hear the flavor you want, ask if they carry that flavor. You may be surprised at the answer. These experiences kept our expectations of our wait staff low, which meant we ended up being quite happy with the service overall.

The place lacked a nightlife. There was the Calypso Boyz, a mediocre three some playing American covers on acoustic guitar and large thumb piano of some sort every afternoon. It was a nice touch but nothing to stay for. In the evening you had a jazz band playing lounge music by the Seagrape restaurant. Also, at the Sugar Mill, you had a duet with guitar perform nightly except Mondays. They took requests and were OK but again not particularly inspiring.

To keep in touch back home, we spent $14 for an hour on the internet in the business center. They give you a card and you sign in each time. Since all I needed was my gmail to keep in touch, this lasted all 5 days for me. Other's brought their laptops and were using them in the main hotel lobby lounge. We decided to leave ours home.

That aside, this resort met our expectations in the following respects. The grounds were expansive and allowed for lovely walks amid gorgeous gardens and scenery. The bike riding was equally enjoyable. The beach was delightful. Water was great to swim in, you could drink there, relax by the sun or in the shade. They had an amazing 50 m lap pool that allowed us to work off the calories from overeating and drinking. There was a swim up bar that served our favorites. And the place was quiet, and very easy going. It's Jamaica, ja mon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zheeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2009

This was our 3rd visit to Half Moon in the past decade.
We love the place - very sentimental to us as it was the site of our first vacation together and one of our anniversary trips.

We love the place -- but part of that appeal is the quirkiness that blends the best and worst aspects of old world charm, modern luxury and developing world service.

If you did not know, the place was founded by a dozen+ British families and still has a strong influence. from the white Roman columns that adorn the main building to the statues of lions on the lobbies to the photos of royalty visiting through the years.

The setting/location can't be beat -- just minutes from the MBJ airport ( you can see planes take off and approach, but don't hear much of it) you can leave the East Coast in the AM and have your toes in the sand for a late lunch. The newly remodeled airport should have sherpa guides to get you from your gate to the customs area -- easily a 15 minute walk!

The beach is a perfect half moon and just across the road is the golf course at the foothills of the mountains.

Accomodations are also thoroughly old world tropical -- remember the Ethan Allen British Classics plantation line. We have always stayed in the original section of the property - the West Cottages which are two story buildings with 4 - 6 or so units with either a balcony or terrace, 75% of which are steps to the beach. Some of the larger units set to the back or side of the buildings have private plunge pools.

We highly recommend anything oceanfront, the junior suites have a nice sitting area. The sound of the waves and steady breeze being waterfront can't be beat.

We booked on line -- free category upgrade for doing so -- and requested the same unit we had on our last visit. No such luck. Despite being sent to VIP reception, it took 15 minutes to figure out if our room was ready. It was, but not a ground floor ocean front unit as requested. It took another 15 minutes to find out if a GF showing empty was clean (all relevant mgrs were in a meeting -- in 5 minutes someone could walk there and open it and look) and it wasn't. We waited an HOUR for the room to be cleaned, despite assurances it would be ready soon. How it takes an hour to clean a hotel room is beyond me.

But we were not specific enough in our request. Despite our original request for GFOF, when we said we preferred GF to the 2nd floor originally assigned, we did not realize we had to reiterate the OF preference again.

After the hour-long wait we were taken to a GF, but not OF. Back to VIP reception. AFter another wait, we were sent to see another room. What do you know, GFOF and right next door to the unit we had on our last visit. Room assignments by trial and error! A great room, painful process. Best/Worst at its finest.

Many of the units have recently been remodeled. Hard to tell if ours had. Flat panel TV, nice sofa, but lumpy mattress and a bathroom out of a Holiday Inn (double vanity, but a $10.99 Kmart shower head aimed at my adams apple (I am only 5'9") and a cheesy fiberglass drop in tub that was only 3/4 normal length, which created a torrent of stray shower water onto the bathroom floor. No fan, just a screen-less window that opened to the service area behind the building where the staff comes and goes with a clear view into the shower! The beach towels in the closet were fairly plush and absorbant, but the bath linen were thin and bare to begin with and were not new. More B/W

Half Moon has various all-inclusive packages. Not the dreadful buffets you think (though they do have lunch and breakfast buffets which are stocked with tasty items, both with local and more traditional bents). Don't think twice, go on an AI plan. They run about $170 per person per day, but they include the in-room mini-bar, room service orders (coconut pancakes each AM for breakfast on the terrace -- quite perfect) and all you can drink, which was a significant bonanza when trying to block out Obama Derangement Syndrome that had been plaguing us for several months now. Plus, with the ala carte prices, we estimate the meals alone ran close to $200 pp daily. House wine is included, but who wants wine in the land of rum!

They also have variations of the AI plan for golfers or spa goers, but for the life of me, I cannot understand why they cannot figure out someway for one person in the room to be on the spa plan and one to be on the golf plan. All guests in the the same room have to be on the same plan. Fat lot of good that does for a rabid golfer and a spa addict couple! Our #1 complaint -- only because it is a long-lasting one, since our first visit in 2000!

The sugar mill restaurant at the golf course is the best of the bunch. YOu are not limited on how many times you can eat at each venue, so go there half the nights for dinner. Order the King of the WEst INdies surf and turf at least once. Most tender filet and very tasty shrimp. Worth the 10 minute shuttle ride over. The Italian dinner-only in the main building is quite good. The Seagrape Terrace is huge and the main eatery with both indoor and outdoor seating (no one seems capable of generating a weather report at Half Moon - the inhouse TV channel showed PC and 81 day and night for 7 straight days. Several dozen diners went scrambling for cover one evening when a shower lasting most of the meal "miraculously" appeared) and is the only venue serving all 3 meals.

Room service is great option for breakfast, and worth doing at least once to see how the staff manage to balance the entire tray of goodies on their head! Last time we even saw someone riding a bike to our room with the full AM complement perfectly perched on his noggin! The room service menu is limited, but ignore it. They will pretty much bring you anything you want if you have see it on the Seagrape menu during your stay.

We did not bother going to the shopping village -- also a shuttle ride -- and the Asian/Indian restaurant or the British Pub (why anyone flies 1000 + miles to a luxury resort and then feasts on steak and kidney pie is beyond my comprehension) Also, it seemed like many of the storefronts were vacant.

The fitness center is quite good. Plenty of machines, never a wait and each cardio gizmo with its private TV screen with the full complement of DTV channels.

The new Fern Tree spa is out of this world. Huge, well designed and some very skilled massage therapists (we are in the hospitality and spa business, and we give the whole operation a thumbs up). Not to be missed are the ocean massage cabanas. Two cabanas, one at either end of a pier 15 feet out to sea, the two cabanas are spacious enough for a couples massage. All the doors and windows open -- very dramatic, though who the hell is looking at the ocean when they are face down in the head rest or lying on their back! No music, just the sound of the waves breaking the water lapping against the rocks and pylons beneath you. We could not believe the guests were not lined up two deep all day long. In typical Best/Worst fashion, on our 2nd trip to the cabana we had to suggest to the spa folks that it is better to have the therapists meet us at the cabanas ( instead of us going to the spa, changing into robes, walking to the cabanas and back again just to change back). Guess we needed to tell them to bring the receipt with them as well, because they did n't think to send their technicians so equipped, so we still had to go back to the spa. 3rd time was a charm, so we thought. We told them to meet us and bring the receipt, but we were not specific enough and did not tell them to bring a pen as well so that we can sign the receipt, so back to the spa afterward once more. 5 star experience with a touch of Keystone Cops.

In 3 trips to Half Moon, I have yet to golf at the two other courses just down the road. HM has an RTJ which is quite playable -- not water hazards but plenty of sand. The greens are challenging and all break towards the sea. Only $125 including the caddy fee -- one of the best resort golf values on the planet. And the caddies are a must -- ask for Cleveland - his cries of "Good shot, mon!" - keep any hacker motivated. A $20 tip is appropriate -- I think they don't see a dime of the caddie fee. Unfortunately, for my round, Cleveland was there, not engaged but was not assigned to me despite my request. In the spirit of "fairness" (see ODS referenced above) all caddies working each day get their turn to earn money before anyone gets a 2nd bite at the apple. Instead I got Jamaica's version of Fanny Sunnerson, who misread some greens badly and took/made at least a dozen calls on her cell phone.

No real nightlife which is fine. Happy hour Calypso Boys do some entertaining covers and the Sugar Mill has the same duo they have had for over a decade for serenades of your choice. One of the evening bands that plays in the Seagrape gazebo could do without -- the band was ok, but the vocalist would not merit the scorn of Simon Cowell. Stick with the instrumentals, please -- much more relaxing and not a soul ever dances.

The other adorable thing about Half Moon is we always see some characters there. With so many repeat and long term guests (many Euros come for 2 - 3 weeks and the time share units are very popular) there are no shortage of friendly folk to mix and mingle with (or to applaud you on your 5 year annivesary and to share the cake with). Mainly a couples destination - off all age ranges, but trending older. There is a kids club, maybe that is where the tikes were for we saw few of them about.

We truly love Half Moon, for all its quirks. We will be back, again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank CVilleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

The resort was great overall. Not at the elite level of some other places around the world in this price category, but does well enough to make you consider coming back. We travelled with our two young children (3.5 and 1.5) and managed to make it through without a single complaint from them, or even a mention of going back home. That is success for any parent on vacation. Some details on the mostly good, and some of the not as good.

The Room

Upgraded to one of the Royals Suites on the beach, with bedroom and separate sitting area. Room decor nicely done. View gorgeous. After first couple days, ate breakfast on our patio each morning staring out to sea. Only issue for kids, is that at this part of the resort, although the beach is just a few yards from the room, it is a drop down a 4 foot wall of rocks. So put a leash on the toddler.

Only minor complaints here were the lack of flat screen tvs, had to rent dvd player if you wanted one, cd player was the alarm clock in bedroom, and the outlet (hairdryer) didnt work in the bathroom.

The Beach

Best beach for swimming/snorkeling/water sports is the main beach by the lobby and SeaGrape restaurant. Others more rocky/shallow. We had amazing weather for most of the trip, so even young kids like ours enjoyed the water. Crystal clear water as calm as a backyard pool. (last couple days water was rougher, but still fine for anyone over 5 or 6.) Didnt get a chance myself, but the snorkeling looked like it would be great a little further out, maybe 20 yards from shore. Plenty of people took advantage of the canoes, paddle boats, snorkeling equipment, and floating deviced handed out at the beach. (for a tip of course)

Tips

You will hand them out frequently. Seems you cant go 10 feet without someone doing some sort of tip-inducing service for you. But after you get used to it, it is no big deal. Just come prepared with alot of small bills.

Staff

Mostly kind and courteous, with a few exceptions.

Food

Pretty mixed depending on which meal, and where you got it. Overall, the options were limited however.

Breakfast - the buffet at Seagrape was great, with more variety and options than you will probably need. For us, it didnt really work, as our young children really only wanted cheerios. So the better option as mentioned above, was to order room service. One continental breakfast was enough for all 4 of us, and cost only $17 in total versus buffet at $25 per adult. And managing small children much easier at room.

Lunch - Seagrape the main option, but we found that ordering takeout from Oleander (if your room is out that way) was the better option for us. Serve simple, but good sandwiches, and again we could manage our children better at the room/patio overlooking the ocean. BLT and grilled ham and cheese excellent.

Dinner - thought room service food was borderline awful. So out to the restaurants, which were very good. Both the SeaGrape (which finally served some Jerk Chicken as one of the specials) and Il Giordana were very good, and the service excellent. Did not go to the India/Thai place, as we went to that area earlier in the day and it creeped us out. Secluded and mostly empty. As we saw it, there was no reason to ever venture that far from the rest of the resort.

BBQ dinner held near a beach a short cart ride away from main resort area every Monday (?) and Friday. We chose to go Friday, since someone told us there would be a magic show the kids would love. I would say the BBQ was a bit above average, with plenty of food, and a welcome change given the limited options at the resort. (Food also had more of a native Jamaican flair to it than the other options) The magic show, which had sort of a voodoo vibe to it scared the bejesus out of my two young children. So cant tell you how that was, as we had to leave before the nightmares took hold.

Swimming with Dolphins

Had never done this before, and as it was Mom's dream to do this, we did it. (Except her being pregnant meant she couldnt actually do it. Apparently dolphins dig pregnant ladies a little too much) Mixed experience. 3.5 year old too scared of big fish (sorry ,mammal) with big teath to get in the water. The other could have done without it, but a bit braver. We were the only ones there. The guy who actually took us in the water was great, friendly. the guy who escorted us there, was one that kind of rubbed us the wrong way.

Kids Center

Was great. Plenty of activities set up every day. Kiddie pool. Much to keep them busy. Ours were a bit too young to leave alone with the staff, but we still made it part of our daily ritual to get them there to play with some of the other kids or just use the facilities.

Would add more and contact if you want to know more, but this is getting kinda long already. Hope it was helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank DarkandStormys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

nice ressort, nice food,

BUT
services are fake and poor :
despite the fact that we announced our honeymoon trip, only a paper sheet of "congratulation". We mentioned the 2nd day of our trip, that we are surprised, considering such a resort, we were expecting more kindness... Despite this remark, nothing, behind the "smiling appearence". Note that we were not in the need of a cheap champagne... but only the intention... which did not come.
Dissapointing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alevce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

My husband and I were looking for a place that would feel like a different experience, while still offering all the rest and relaxation elements (sun, beach, tennis, snorkeling, great accommodations. ) We (actually I ) did a lot of research, but nothing seemed exciting. Then a friend told us about the great time they had at Half Moon and we booked our trip that day.

We were semi-freaking because it was still hurricane season and the weather forecast was for thundershowers every day. We needn't have worried - the first few days were humid - with brief afternoon showers - but mornings and midday were beautiful.

Coming from Seattle - we booked our lfight via Miami - and it was pretty painless - 6 hrs to Miami plus an hour 30 mins or so from there.. Once in MoBay HM has a small 'storefront' at the MoBay airport where you can connect with a ride to the resort, grab some water, change clothes, if you want.

Our reservation was for a deluxe suite - but we were upgraded to a cottage. We generally stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. While HM isn't the most modern (could use updates with flat screen TV, updated HVAC), There were a couple wierd things - e.g. the robes are hardly worth the effort - but overall we were pleased with the cottage, great view, proximity to nice sandy beach.

IMO the shops were lame - i went prepared to do some fairly serious shopping - but didn't find anything of interest - not even the typical resort ware - so would recommend you bring what you need..

Mealwise, we opted for the modified american meal plan, which includes breakfast (we generally did the buffet - make sure to try the smoked marlin!) and dinner at any of the resorts restaurants. Drinks are extra. My husband does not drink much, so this worked well for us. There is also a platinum plan if you want the all-inclusive. Dinner reservations are required - I set up most of them the day we arrived. Our favorties - in order: Sugar Mill (great setting - try the boston jerk or coconut grouper and the flambe desserts are great!), Seagrape (convenient, greek salad is unbelievable, shrimp stuffed steak is very good), Akhbar (great Indian/Thai ). The italian restaurant was a disappointment - the caprese, the veal marsala and the pumpkin creme brulee were all part of one of the worst meals i've had in a long time. For my husbands birthday, I arranged for a private dinner on the gazebo (they use the Seagrape menu) Laytoya in the concierge's office did a perfect job of arranging the details. One last note - the espresso is beyond amazing!

On fridays there is a beach bbq - kind of like a jamacian luau. it's casual, some great food. The bbq pork is phenomenal, the grilled crab is definitely worth trying, and - of course - the jerk chicken shouldn't be missed.

The bar outside the seagrape is a nice spot for after dinner drinks. my husband smoked some nice cuban cigars from the onsite cigar store and we enjoyed some of the aged appleton rum - especially the 21 year old stuff. it's really fantastic!

Snorkeling off the beach is good in the mornings - try to get out around 8 or 9 - while all is calm. Out by the buoy is active - not as colorful as some places - say hawaii - but still good. Snorkeling equipment is free - along with the floats (try to grab early as they sometimes run out).

for the most part we stayed within the resort - taking the shuttle as needed. one notable exception was the zipline tour (on high recommendation we selected zipline adventures instead of canopy tours). The ride is about an hour or so out of mobay - and it is a real education to see life outside the resort. roads are really rough - and the poverty is eye-opening. it will give you a different perspective of the typical lifestyle of many of the folks who work at the resorts. The zipline tour itself is 5 separate lines and it was a unique experience that we're still talking about!

Overall - HM was everything we were hoping for - and we would go back in a heartbeat! Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank kb_tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

After six nights in Ocho Rios, we booked a brief four nights at the Half Moon in Montego Bay. I wish we could have stayed much longer. Everything was freshly painted. Rooms in our suite were spacious and clean with new furniture. I especially liked the big bathroom with plenty of sheves for storing personal items. Fresh flowers were delivered as we unpacked. "Lovely flowers for a lovely lady," the young man smiled. Swimming on the beach is confined to one area, but there are long stretches for walking and privacy. The food was excellent and so was service. Bartenders were gracious, friendly and efficient. Beer was cold. Pina coladas were delicious. We met the manager Aram Zaronian and he, too, was kind and very gracious to us. We really enjoyed this resort and all its amenities. The new Ferntree spa is just beautiful. A massage was included in our package and it can only be described as blissful. We also received a fresh fruit and cheese platter from Amoy in customer relations. I noticed a lot of families there with small children who are made welcome. Not an exciting nightlife in this slow part of the season, but an overall wonderful experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Tohido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

My family and I have been taking annual vacations to Half Moon for years. Since there are 12 of us traveling together, we always rent a seven-room villa that is right across from the ocean. The villas have somewhat of a victorian decor and heavy mahogany furniture. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom w bidet...Some of the rooms have jacuzzi tubs and separate showers while others just had the standard shower/tub. The rooms do have ac and most have television. There is a 2-story great room that does not have ac, but the doors are most always open, allowing a nice breeze. You also get your own swimming pool with the villa. I think they aret 6-7 feet deep. Two golf carts also come with your villa which make it a lot faster to get to the main hotel/spa/etc. There are also plenty of bicycles available. One fun thing is to go crab hunting in the evening. I have traveled extensively around the world, but I have never seen crabs as big as I have seen at HM. My younger cousins loved chasing them, and the staff shows you how to safely handle them. Expect hermit crabs in the pool and geckos in the great room...All part of the Jamaican experience.

The staff at halfmoon are world class. With the villa, you get a butler, cook and someone to clean. We always request Glenmore and Venita, who have become wonderful friends. The staff bend over backwards to accomodate you, whether you are having a pool party or prefer to have a lobster fest on your private beach. Our villa was always immaculate...a big job with 4 younger children!

Halfmoon also has a nice shopping area within the resort with nice jewelry, t-shirts, Bob Marley stuff and a few others. At the main hotel, there is a decent bar and good restaurant for al fresco dining. The Seagrape Terrace is always a hit and most of the time has musicians.

There truly is something for people of all ages at halfmoon. It makes for a very romantic get away or a fun family vacation. If you prefer to go off the resort, the concierge can arrange everything for you. We have done bamboo rafts down the Martha Brae river, but most of the time, prefer to stay on the property because we have all we need.

The resort hosts big barbecues and other events each night and the staff are excellent about informing you. Scuba diving off of the resort is great for amateurs, but for experienced divers, it is nothing special. We hardly saw any fish on any of our trips. There is a great padi center for those who want to learn or a refresher.

The beach infront of the main hotel is, you guessed it, shaped like a half moon. It never feels too crowded. There is a water trampoline and swimming barriers. We always take our snorkeling equipment, but I am quite sure that they rent it as well. HM also has smaller villas on the half moon beach which I believe are just meant for couples. They look decent, but don't have nearly as much privacy as the larger family villas.

As far as transportation goes, we always arrange through HM to be picked up at the airport and transferred directly to our villa. Check-in has always been seamless.

I highly recommend this resort to families and couples. While some repeat visits to other resorts have been disappointing, Half Moon has been on the ball each time, with even more improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £219 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing