We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only way to enjoy Jamaica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The only way to enjoy Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I have been to half Moon Bay with my husband, couples trip, friends trip and large family reunion. 10 minutes from the airport and a world away. You never need to leave the resort. Multiple restaurants, golf, stables, dolphin swim, tennis, incredible spa, many pools, the list goes on. All inclusive plan called the good life package includes a massage for each adult. Do not miss morning yoga or pilates in the outdoor cabana built on stilts over the carribean sea. Book with American express for extras like late check out...My parents honeymooned there 50 years ago...elegant, historic, and unforgettable.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank runawayboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    322
    100
    58
    31
See reviews for
701
577
43
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed in a Hibiscus suite. Room is spacious, biggest bathroom ever and beach 12 steps away from patio. We had one dinner at Sea Grape. Most enjoyed it, but some felt their food was underprepared. Sugar Mill was our favorite thanks to Herbert our waiter and the superb food. The El Giordano Italian restaurant was also excellent. Meal plan is a must!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDFWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed 4 nights food great service exceptional in every area previously stayed at the Ritz next door service has declined there for some reason.We have already booked a return trip in May. Recommend Hiscubus Suite lower level 15 steps on beach

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We are just planning a return trip and realised that we didn't ever leave a review!

The fact we're going back says it all... It is expensive but not much more than other 5 star properties and the difference is special.

You feel like someone special here like as if you're priveliged.
The furniture and style is classic heritage.
The food is good, not too fancy , just exactly right for each meal.
The meal/drink packages make for economical extravagance!

If you can afford to go here,,do it, you'll never regret it.
They still send us a card every year and I have kept my room card from the stay. Silly but it's how they make you feel. Part of the heritage.
We prefer the cottage areas at the back of the beach. There are all room types here. The hibiscus suites are amazing.

Just go....and get an all inclusive plan, includes Mini Bar and Champagne (in the small bottles all day if you like !)

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

The half moon bay resort villas are designed perfectly for a large travel group. The villas are private for couples yet the mansions unite families in a homie setting. Each Villa comes with a private pool, chef, butler, and housekeeper... therefore you are spoiled and enjoying vacation to its max.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AlinaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Great for whole family!!! You can swim with dolphins hang on the beach or go horseback riding!!

Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjorieD-Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

My wife and I went for 4 days to attend a friend's wedding. Many from Boston attended. The guests all shared 3 to 5 bedroom villas which was fun. Each villa had its own kitches, living room, dining room and pool, with outside dining area. Each villa also had its own maid and cook. You could have the cook prepare meals for you at the villa and they would buy the supplies at the local on site grocery store. This was fun, and the meals were excellent, but quite costly for two. If the meals would have bene for many more, it might have been more economical, but it ended up costing signifiantly more then eating out. The resort is huge, and you needed a golf cart to get around. The beach was suprisingly small, and somewhat insufficent for a resort of this magnatude. The food at the restaurants was good, but not great. We had a great time during our stay becuase of the occasion.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarpupBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Destinology and TravelUp so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing