We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutel fabulous!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutel fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I took a trip for leisure at the Half Moon. I found a great deal on internet and decided it was the place for me. I was not disappointed. It started with a transfer from the airport to the hotel. I was late for collection as I spent about 20 minutes trying to organise a sim and some credit for my phone. However, my driver was not frustrated and loaded my ample suitcases into the boot. with a smile. The car aircon was on and I was then whisked off to the hotel with soft reggae music playing in the background. The driver also very kindly stopped at a mall on the way to the hotel where I got my sim and credit for my mobile phone. I was all set for a great time.
On arrival, the gentleman on the desk took my details, immediately knew my name and before I knew it was being given a quickie tour of the important parts of the hotel welcome drink in hand. My luggage was on its way to my suite. Wifi was available in the lobby, at the bar and breakfast area. I was also upgraded to the Hibiscus Suite which was elegant and sophisticated.
I can't find enough superlatives to describe the staff (Antony in the Bar, Owen and Everett in the Breakfast room, Cecile/Celine in the Concierge). The accommodation, the quality of the drinks and food were superb. My room was kept pristine, any clothes I left around were neatly folded. Once I had to call the front desk because I didn't know how to operate the radio and someone was over in a flash.
My room overlooked the beach and so after a tough workout, a shower, and a very hearty breakfast, I stepped out onto the beach and spent most of my day there, interspersed with the most amazing spa treatments from the fern tree spa
The holiday was just what the doctor ordered. I would give this hotel 20/10!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnakaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    326
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
717
586
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our flight out of Jamaica was cancelled and the only hotel available to accommodate all 240 of the displaced travelers was Half Moon. We were told it was one of the nicest hotels in Jamaica. Unfortunately, the experience did not live up to anyone’s expectations. The staff had 6 hours to prepare for us to arrive, yet did not rise to the occasion. In fact, they were obviously irritated that they had to deal with us. It took over 2 hours to check in all 240 of us (this was after we all spend about 8 hours in the airport.) We then waited for 30 min for a shuttle to take us to our villa, though the shuttle drivers were all standing around. They only took us after we flashed $20 to one of the drivers.

In addition, we were told we had to make reservations to eat and arrange another shuttle, thus another tip for the driver. We made reservations for 8pm and were not seated until 9pm, though there were plenty of open tables. We then waited for over an hour for someone to take our order and when we complained we were met with rudeness and eventually told they “didn’t want to take our order in case they ran out of food.” Finally, a manager came over and forced a server to take our order, but we still weren’t served until 11pm and we didn’t receive everything we ordered (not because they actually ran out, but because they didn’t want to get more from the fridge…it was pretty shocking). Though the airline was taking care of the tab, we saw the bill. It was over $200 for six people who all had burgers and/or sandwiches. And though the bill included a 15% gratuity, the very rude and vocal staff expected a tip (they did not receive one). Our buffet breakfast with similar poor service was over $250 for six people and our room for one night was over $400. The room had not been utilized in some time, the shower and sink did not work properly and the staff cleared out everything in the fridge…there wasn’t even a bottled water left. Since we were so far from the main hotel, if you wanted water you had to call for the shuttle, tip the driver again and then buy a bottle of water for $4.

I admit it was an unexpected situation, however, we were told on several occasions that the resort has over $700 employees, 5 resturants, 52 swimming pools…etc, and that they regularly accommodate royalty, celebrities…etc. I would have expected them to be able to handle 240 additional guests. The experience was so bad, I would have rather paid for an additional week at the resort we stayed at in Negril then spend another free night in Half Moon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amb4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for 8 days in the Villas while attending my daughter's wedding. The resort is great. Lot's of activities on the resort to keep a family busy. For the most part, the Villas are a great option for an extended family event--a bit dated, but nice, especially the pool. Golf cart is a must! Maybe it;s because we are not used to having servants, but compared to other villas, it seemed our service staff lacked the desire to meet our needs. Didn't know when to tip and when to not tip. The Wedding exprience was exceptional. I would return but most likely would stay in the cottages next to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndamendment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I traveled with our one and two year old to Half Moon. Although we are well traveled, this was our very first time in Jamaica. We were not pleased at all! The service was mediocre and the villas are ancient! The hotel could use a deep cleaning and a makeover! For a five-star resort you don't expect dirty rooms, people who act like they don't care and seaweed covered beaches. The place was so bad that we left early! If you want class, quality and something for your money, stay away! This is most certainly not the place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank justbeingty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend with extended family and friends for a wedding. We stayed in the villas, which come with your own butler, maid and cook. The food was great. The service was perfect and the property and hotel are beautiful. Everything about the place is perfect. Even when drinks are included, they don't cheap out on the alcohol and the buffets offer so many different foods, it's hard to choose. There are tons of activities and lots to see. Overall, a great place to stay. A little on the pricey side, but amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyxobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We had a lovely time and will come back again with our family one day.
We got upgraded as it was our honeymoon, to the rooms opposite spa.
We got the AI package half price as they had an offer on. Food was fabulous! the resort is soooo big which is lovely. we used bicycles to get around which we both thought was fun.
like someone else said, no company could dream about buying land this big in the caribbean today. its a long established resort.
There are many choices of outdoor pools, equestrian center, tennis, kids club, even a medical center and pharmacy.
Golf was alot of fun, sugar mill was lovely restaurant.
We went in presidents week [unbeknown til i got there].
I love negril more than Mo bay and if this resort was in negril and... had some adult only months then it would be perfect.
but like i said i'd return !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed in the villas with friends for a wedding. The service was great, the cook made amazing pan fried chicken. The rooms were a little old, and the shower was tiny (and couldn't use the shower in tub because the holder came unscrewed from the wall). Beach was wonderful, and the spa was great. The facilities for the reception and rehearsal dinner were beautiful. The only complaint I has was about the snorkeling trip. The guides just took us to a spot on the reef and told us to jump in. No instruction, no making sure that the masks fit or advice on where to go. There was also a number of jellyfish in the water, which we weren't warned about. Thankfully they only stung "a little" as the guide put it. Overall, I didn't want to leave when it was time to go home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slizsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing