We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - great holiday despite the tropical storm!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - great holiday despite the tropical storm!”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I don't normally write reviews, but having spent hours & hours trying to find a luxury caribbean holiday and being put off so many by trip advisor reviews, I thought I ought to give some feedback.
We have a 4yr old & 8month old, and stayed in cottage two - were very lucky to be allocated our own pool - and had a private gazebo over looking the sea. Everyone from Elizbaeth in reservations through to the bell boys and gardeners went out of their way to be helpful, friendly and ensure we had everything we needed to have a perfect holiday. the website, doesn't do justice to the facilities in the rooms - all have fridges and coffee makers, tvs - and are really big and comfy - especially the beds. It is worth staying in the cottages as they have the access to the best beach.
Kids club was quiet, but lots of fun activities for our four year old - we had to pay extra but this was offset by the fact that she kissed the dolphins, went pony riding, and brought home t-shirts or bags that she had painted everyday.
Beach was great, although because of the tropical storm, it wasnt ideal swimming conditions.
Restuarants were fine, good quality food without being incredible (i'm an event caterer so quite particular), loveley atmosphere & surroundings, friendly service and no long waits. Only complaint would be that the cheapest bottle of wine is $50 (+25% service & tax) - and you can buy it in the on site shop for $12!
We would definitely return. Thanks Half Moon for a lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenandMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    330
    105
    58
    32
See reviews for
728
594
48
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Our stay here turned out way better than expected. Every person we met who worked at Half Moon from the manager, Undia, to the beach attendant Omar, bellman, Kevon, and the spa technician, Melody, went above and beyond to make us feel special. At first, I was comparing it to places like the Four Seasons in Maui or Esperanza in Cabo and it is not as obsessively manicured as those resorts- a few spots needed a paint touch-up- but the courteousness of the staff far made up for it. Not to mention that the price is a lot better and our large room was about 20 steps from the beach. I would highly recommend the yoga in the hut over the ocean and massage there as well. Also we visited the Ritz next door and it did not compare in charm and setting or upkeep.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAW2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Me and the wife went back for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it so much that we decided to come back. This time we had a beach front royal suite in cottage 1. The west side of the beach is the best. Very quiet and relaxing. The Half Moon is becoming my favorite resort. To the point that it is hard to travel somewhere else. The wife and I went to the Cayman Islands in May and found it hard to adjust. A very nice Island but didn't have the seclusion that the Half Moon provides. I can't wait to go back. It gets better everytime I go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nas1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Recently returned from a long weekend . Accommodations awesome, staff superb, friendly service,great spa - overall the resort is just beautiful. We thank you very much for the wonderful time we had. Also recommend a visit to Scotchies for some authentic jerk.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSuitesGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed a west beach cottage which was very nice, right on the beach. Perfect for a swim in the warm see first thing before breakfast. Some villas further along the coast only have rocky outcrops and therefore you would have to walk to one of the beaches for a safe "launch".
We stayed last week October and the hotel was extremely quiet with bars/restaraunts only open certain days. No entertainment programme as such. The place lacked atmosphere because of the low number of guests, one night we were the only ones in the restaraunt! The busiest place was normally the swim up bar during the hot afternoons. We swam with the dolphins which was great as we had an exclusive session. Snorkerling was fun though not the most stunning reef. I had the golfers special spa treament (hot golf balls amongst other things!) all of which was very nice.
We hired bikes and a golf buggy as the estate is massive (2 miles long by 1/2 mile deep) , I would'nt hire the buggy again as the bell boys are always flying around and will take you to were you want to go.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. I expected the holiday to expensive, but was still suprised to see how much we'd manage to rattle up.
I would definately stay at this hotel again but at a different time of year when more was going on.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowthorne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

At first $!500/night seems like an enormous amount to pay for a VILLA, but 7000 square feet and 6 bedrooms was worth it! We were a group of 10 adults (5 couples) and there was enough room in this fab house so that no one got in anyone's way. Private pool, tennis court, golfing and fine dining all a stone's throw away. Oh, did I mention the view? Fabulous! Half Moon area of Montego Bay is very upscale. We all loved it!

Thank you for your hospitality!
The Allens

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingaugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This was a great place in every way. The long beach was crystal clear, clean, I was able to take long walks on the property's lovely private beach. The service was top-notch and the staff was so friendly. There were several restaurants to choose from, each one was great food. We chose to do the all-inclusive plan, and let it be said this was NOT your average all-inclusive (we had lobster!). We were very pleasantly surprised. My husband and I also do not have children, and there were some children at the hotel, the place is spread out and is great either with or without kids it seemed. The place is big, but were are active and enjoyed borrowing bikes and riding around the property. Also, the spa is AMAZING! if you book a treatment, go early and enjoy use of the private pools & waterfall at the spa. Our room was only mere steps from the ocean. The one and only downside of our trip were the extremely ill-mannered couple in the room next to us, who would put out their cigarettes in the pristine sand and leave them there, like it was a giant ashtray. This of course is no fault at all of the hotel's, just an indication that some people should go stay at trashy inns that match their behavior. (Sorry, I still have not let that go!! LOL) Anyway, I can only say great things about Half Moon...we didnt want to leave :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbellafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,651 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing