We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have been warned! Don't go to this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Reef
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
NEW YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You have been warned! Don't go to this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

This place is a rundown old beach beach house that's hope to be a motel; If you going to Jamaica, get a Known name resort, like Hilton, Holiday INN and etc with all inclusive this may save you a lifetime regret or even save you life!

This is my first review, I hope it helps

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shotta90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rlb1613
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I would first like to say that the website does not match the hotel in any way at all! They had their cab service pick us up, which ended up costing us about 50, plus tip. We drove through a very poverty stricken area to get to this hotel..there is nothing even remotely warm or cozy about this area of town!

Once getting to the hotel we were greeted and shown to our room. The room smelled, so we opened the windowns to let some air in and went down to the "beach". To get there we passed the restaurants and bars that were not in service, 2 pools that were both only 1/2 full (with excessive debris on the surface of them), and found a rocky area with no sand! At this point we decided to go back to our room to discuss whether we would want to stay there or not. When we got back to our room we walked out to the balcony (which was a community balcony where all rooms were connected) to find quite the surprise in our flower pot. We found a steak knife with a handle wrapped in duck tape stuck in the flowers! This was the final straw. We called the Ritz and had them come pick us up immediatly. Officially the shortest stay I've had in any hotel to date.

I have never felt more scared or uncomfortable about staying anywhere in my life. Spend a little more and get the real experience that Jamaica has to offer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlb1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

My wife and I have visited quite a number of vacation spots all over the world, and are always looking to experience different adventures. On our most recent trip to Jamaica last December, we wanted to do just that. While we certainly have enjoyed staying at some of the larger all inclusive resorts in Jamaica, we wanted to try somewhere that was not only smaller but also quieter. We decided on the 20 room Royal Reef Hotel in Montego Bay based on the recommedation of a friend who had previously stayed there.

We picked up our car from the car rental agency at the airport in Montego Bay and drove a quick 15 minutes to the hotel. The newly constructed highway along the north coast of the island made the ride very easy, and the developments along the way makes you feel that you are never far away from anything. We were greeted very warmly by the hotel's receptionist and were quickly taken to our room on the second floor. We had a large, clean, nicely decorated room with a balcony, and a good view of the lush hillside. The TV was pretty small but that's not a priority for us on vacaton. During the times we choose to have breakfast and dinner at the hotel, the food was great and service was good. The beach area and main swimming pool were both small but really did not bother us at all. The property has one main dining area, 2 bars, one by the beach and one by the main swimming pool .

The Fish Hut restaurant was great for seafood and less than 5 minutes away, and appx. 10 minutes away, there is also Scotchies which served great Jerk Chicken and Jerk Pork. The City of Montego Bay is about 15 -20 minutes from the hotel and affords fine shopping and dining. The newly built Shoppes at Rose Hall are also good for shopping, and the Chukka Adventure ATV tour in the hills of Rose Hall was pretty cool.

So we did'nt have nightly entertainment, a fancy nightclub or multiple restautants to choose from, but staying at the Royal Reef allowed us to get away from the larger all inclusive resorts for a change and experience the other side of Jamaica. Overall, we think the room and food prices were reasonable, the property was clean, and the staff was really great. Royal Reef provided the kind of peacefulness we wanted on this trip and we certainly would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reggaetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

Don't be fooled by the reviews you may read about this hotel. I wouldn't say that the information provided by the hotel is a lie, but it is very much misrepresented. The hotel is in a very depressed area. It will cost you a minimum of $150.00 USD to go anywhere to do anything. There is a/c, but only in your room, and it's not big enough to cool the room since the windows aren't sealed. Outside your room, such as in the eating and gathering areas, they rely on floor fans, that they quickly turn off once you leave the area. The pool was green, and the salt water pool was black. The "beach" area is not much bigger than a standard bathroom. My wife and I were afraid to go across the street to eat at one of the locations that are mentioned in some of the reviews. We were approached by many young men who wanted to either buy or sell drugs. If we make back to Jamaica, we will NOT be coming back to this hotel. You are better off spending a little extra to stay in one of the all inclusive hotels closer to MBI.

  • Liked — Nothing...Really!
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinman63Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

I have been traveling to Jamaica for eleven years and have stayed at many places - without a doubt, this is one of the best. I never stay at all-inclusive facilities but do not mind relaxing at a well managed, clean, comfortable establishment. This is it. The food is great and the staff are wonderful.

It is about 20 kilometers east of Montego Bay. The Fish Hut is a great local restaurant within walking distance, The hotel is directly across the street from Greenwood, which has a great neighborhood bar with a pool table for the adventerous.

My only concern is that everyone will read this and there will not be enough room for the group that I bring with me each year.

  • Liked — Locally owned, well managed facility. Off the beaten path.
  • Disliked — No refrigerators in the room and the price of Red Stripe was a little high.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gildayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Royal Reef, and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was very warm and friendly and made us feel comfortable from the very beginning. The room was lovely with a nice panoramic view of the ocean and the lush mountainous landscape just across the road. The bathroom was huge, and the small balcony was also a treat. It was exhilarating to go onto the balcony and watch the sunrise each morning.
The included continental breakfast was an added bonus, but the other meals were a bit pricey with a very limited menu. We found a restaurant just across the roadway in a small shopping center with great prices, much better than the hotel's and with more menu choices. We learned from an older staff member that there were many restaurants, bars and clubs in the immediate area; no one told us that upon our arrival. There was also an absence of brochures and activity information in the lobby, but reading material in the room was helpful in planning our outings. We learned from others staying at the hotel, those who went scouting around a few blocks, that there was a lot to offer in the immediate area, and we discovered that the locals were very friendly. We only went out in groups, though no individual encountered any problems when going to the nearby stores.
There was no complimentary shuttle service, and the arranged shuttle was pricey, but we were able to bargain with the driver for great group rates for all of our excursions and he was extremely prompt and very protective of us, not letting the locals overwhelm us to buy things. He drove us around and gave us history lessons while on the way to our chosen destinations. He also guided us to the best shops and restaurants with the best prices, and suggested the best meals. He made our trip much more enjoyable and memorable than we ever could. Forming a relationship with our guide (Dwight) is what made our trip so wonderful. Others who stayed at the hotel gave similar stories about their guides.
We didn't swim in the hotel's pools or beach, but one of the people we met there told us that the water in both pools was fantastic (we stayed gone all the time). She also told us that she went out in the beach, guided by a staff member, and the water remained knee-deep for an "astonishing" distance. We did need insect repellent while on the patio at night.
I would recommend staying at the Royal Reef if you want to be away from the larger resorts and want a bit more privacy. It's 19 rooms offer a more quiet atmosphere, and being 15 minutes from Sangsters Airport gave us more interaction with the local culture. Though local bus transportation is available, I would recommend paying the extra money and using a guide for a more enhanced travel experience while you venture out.

  • Liked — Adventure
  • Disliked — Staff knowledge & info
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crystken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

I spent 2 days 2 nights at the Royal Reef during Sumfest, and have to admit that I didn't expect much since it was a small hotel that still had rooms at the almost last minute. But I was delighfully and pleasantly surprised. The nightly rate was a Sumfest rate, but breakfast was included, and the buffet meal was very Jamaican and very good. The staff were all polite and helpful, and I actually felt that they treated us as if we had paid a mint of money at any all-inclusive hotel. You could tell that they felt Royal Reef was just a great place for a guest to be a guest, especially the front house staff.

The room I stayed in was a little small but I saw bigger ones, and the bathrooms were a nice size - not the chucked up worn out looking bathrooms you often find in smaller hotels. The housekeeping staff were quite prompt when handling our requests.

The salt-water pool was an interesting addition, and the steps out to the sea were an unexpected treat - especially since the reef allowed us to walk out a bit into the water. We didn't take any other meals there - prohibitive cost - but the Fish Hut 2 doors down did an excellent job and of course there was Scotchie's Jerk about 10/15 minutes towards Ironshore on the other side.

I would definitely stay there again - but this time during an off-season when MoBay room rates are a bit better.

  • Liked — Staff; the hotel itself was beautiful
  • Disliked — The size of my room and the size of the television
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LisaBusyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
12.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
12.7 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald View Resort
Emerald View Resort
#2 of 36 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fisherman's Inn
Fisherman's Inn
#3 of 5 in Falmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rose Hall Castles Beach Resort
Rose Hall Castles Beach Resort
#49 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.8 mi away
Harbour View Apartments
Harbour View Apartments
#1 of 2 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Reef

Property: Royal Reef
Address: Lot 99 Greenwood | P.O. Box 10, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Reef Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing